Earlier today, Proton officially introduced the facelifted 2022 Iriz range, and sitting at the top of the line-up is the new crossover-inspired 1.6 Active CVT. At RM54,000, it is the only variant to get the black plastic cladding, silver skid plates, silver grille surround, and of course the chunky fender extensions with fake rivets.
Netizens were quick to point out that the fender extensions look unusually disproportionate, effectively making the 16-inch wheels look smaller. Now, what if they were given a body-coloured finish instead? Lucky for us, we don’t have to rely on our imaginations, thanks to this set of renderings by Theophilus Chin.
Besides the body-coloured fender extensions and side skirts, other alterations include lowering the suspension, enlarging the same 16-inch dual-tone wheels, and widening the tracks. The side mirror housings are finished in gloss black, and the silver surrounds on the lower intake are painted black as well.
At the back, Theo used the bumper from the Iriz Executive instead, retaining all of its factory look, including the red pinstripe along the bottom. The gloss black roof remains, but the rails have been removed.
So, what do you think? Does this make the Iriz Active look better, or are you happy with the original look? Let us know in the comments, below. You may click here to read our full report on the 2022 Iriz range, or browse CarBase.my to see the full specifications.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
It looks fine as aftermarket mod,
But doesn’t looks fine from any manufacturer.
Otherwise, this design language is so Protom Satria gti/neo since 1998.
Very old school with huge side plastic.
Modern widebody is integrated in design. Even the SUV has built in wide Arch. hehehe
Maybe an official Proton R3 version of the new Iriz along these lines, plus a manual gearbox?
I don’t get this. The SUV bits are to mark this variant out to be a more SUV-ess version of the regular car, so why on earth would you want to tone down the SUV bits with body colour, removing the roof rails and make it more car-like? Just get the regular Iriz then!
But the exec range has less features. What about having two top of the line range, one without the suv aspects but still have all the same features.
Why you ask?
– the SUV bits isn’t quite SUV at all, except for the roof rails. By the way is the roof rails functional so that could install roof boxes, or it is just decorative? If it is not functional, not so SUV in my opinion. The Iriz active does not even have higher ground clearance for SUV likeness, unlike the Axia Style.
– By just removing the roof rails, and swapping the rear bumper to a normal bumper, the Iriz instantly looks like a follow up to the Satria Neo R3. Which is a good model to add to the lineup, as right now, for the first time in many years, Proton does not have a hot hatch in its range.
For the R3 version of the Iriz, i would do
– A small add on front lip to the front bumper
– Remove the rear plastic bit with the big “proton” wordings (which looks very ugly to me). replace with new proton logo same as the front grille, placed on a new plinth to cover the old proton logo indentation in the steel panel.
– 17″ Proton R3 alloy wheels
– new absorber and spring setup for lower ride height and firmer handling
– bucket seat setup in the interior like the original Satria GTi
– red seatbelts like the original Satria GTi R3
– if possible, some power tweaks for the engine.
– manual gearbox with low(ish) final drive gearing for faster acceleration.
Dude, this is not about R3 version, you wanna refer this version
https://paultan.org/2021/02/18/2021-proton-iriz-r3-limited-edition-launched-500-units-only-special-r3-decals-16-wheels-rm52900/
Back to this Iriz, there is some attempts here, thou most are for show but most SUVs today are just tarmac runners anyway. How functional these SUVs for real SUV work are themselves questionable. At the least they did attempt to give it a 10mm higher ground clearance.
You commend Axia Style but what Perodua did is just the same, add bigger tyres & roof rails so I can’t see the reason for your bias when you commend Perodua for it but chastise Proton when doing the same exact thing.
Axia Style actually has higher ride height then thr normal Axias due to its thicker tyre sidewall.
The Iriz Active does not. It has the exact same ride height as normal Iriz, but 10mm taller overall due to the roof rails.
Well that is the R3 version of the old iriz. Whats wrong with having a R3 version of the new Iriz then? Proton need to have a real deal R3 edition for the new Iriz, preferably with a manual close ratio gearbox, as a replacement for the satria neo R3.
Can benchmark to the Vios GR-S. 17 inch wheels with the same 205/45-17 Toyo Proxes TR1 tyres maybe?
Something not more than RM60K would sell like hot goreng pisang!
looks better than the active. Should launch this instead. Iriz Gti maybe? 1.5 turbo with manual?And sell below 70k.. ..sigh just dream..
Yes this one looks better, simple solution just spray the bare plastic claddings (around Rm300 paint job?)
Funny how amateur designer did better job than Proton’s own chief designer
Another masterpiece frm our design maestro. Gudjob Theo!
Definitely the rim have been put extra size + no clearance here thus explain why the render looks better, not apple to apple.. i just think rhey need to put 17inch rims n bigger wheel to make it looks better
Iriz wheelhouse can’t fit 17 inch tyres unless you want it to touch fender. 16 inch 55 or 60 should be the max comfortable size to fit in for daily use.
No. It does not looks better.
Looks fast. Can it be fast, in reality?
Enjin please up power la. Up skit-skit pun takpe.
Theophilus Chin looking to earn pocket money?
yesterday i get upset bcs i think i’m the only one thinking about this, great work Theophilus Chin ! i love this