UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has announced that the Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid is now open for booking in Malaysia, with the new variant carrying an estimated price tag of RM137,000 on-the-road without insurance and inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.
We don’t have official specifications just yet, but the price list shows an engine capacity that pretty much points towards a 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre Atkinson-cycle four-cylinder petrol engine. The mill makes 98 PS and 142 Nm and is joined by an electric motor (72 PS and 163 Nm) for a total system output of 122 PS.
Drive is sent to the front wheels via an e-CVT, while the electric motor draws power from a 6.5-Ah nickel-metal hydride battery. The battery comes with an eight-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and is positioned under the rear seats to preserve the 440 litres of boot space that is identical to the non-hybrid variants.
The parallel hybrid powertrain comes with three drive modes for drivers to choose from, including Eco for maximum fuel efficiency, Sport for a more responsive acceleration, and EV for pure electric drive.
As for equipment, UMWT has confirmed that the Corolla Cross Hybrid will get a seven-inch multi-info display in the instrument cluster, which is larger than the 4.2-inch unit fitted to the existing 1.8G and 1.8V variants.
Other standard features shown for now include the Vehicle Telematics System (VTS), a 3D panoramic view monitor (PVM), a blind spot monitor with rear cross traffic alert and the Toyota Safety Sense suite – these are also found on the 1.8V.
On that mention, there are two optional accessories that will be made available to customers, including a rear digital video recorder (dashcam) for RM350 – part of the Tech-Up package – to complement the standard front unit. Meanwhile, the Ease-Up package costs RM520 and adds a Qi wireless charger in the storage cubby ahead of the centre console.
The list goes on, as the warranty on the hybrid battery can be extended for another two years for an additional RM2,950. Lastly, there are the Toyota Service Savers maintenance packages: RM2,190 for three years, 60,000 km, or RM3,410 for five years, 100,000 km.
Based on the “Corolla Cross CKD Intro” wording at the very bottom of the price list, it’s pretty much confirmed that the new hybrid variant will be locally assembled, so it benefits from full sales tax exemption. This isn’t much of a surprise, as UMWT has explicitly stated in the past it will start local production of hybrid vehicles in Malaysia, and we’ve long known that the Corolla Cross Hybrid would be the first of a few.
The non-hybrid variants, which arrived fully imported (CBU) from Thailand initially, also appear to be CKD offerings now, as they have estimated prices that are lower than the official prices provided when they were launched earlier in March – the 1.8V got a price revision later in June.
This switch to CKD also comes with a revised colour palette, as the non-hybrid and hybrid variants share four hues – Silver Metallic, Red Mica Metallic, Nebula Blue Metallic and Platinum White Pearl (RM800 option) – although the Corolla Cross Hybrid gets a fifth colour called Celestite Grey Metallic. The previous Metalstream Metallic and Graphite Metallic are no more.
So, with these preliminary details, what are your thoughts on the Corolla Cross Hybrid? A good buy or are the non-hybrid (and soon-to-be cheaper) variants more enticing instead? Share your thoughts in the comments below.
Looking good.
True that bruh. Good looking and high RV too, buy new car rm137k. After 5yr still RM129K…
Talk shit.. lol
After 5 years. Balance 4 years loan.
Trade in value still can get cash back for next car down-payment.
Interesting. One of full spec in Cross lineup
Next up: Camry and Corolla with hybrid
Toyota Prius SUV.
Using the same TNGA-C, even more fuel saving + SUV, yet cheaper than Prius.
Too bad it doesnt get stop n go adaptive cruise control unlike corolla sedan.
Correct. ACC with stop go is excellent. Should have given like corolla sedan.
But without it, the ACC 30km/h onwards also very convenient for balik kampung.
Linear pedaling in the traffic jam while sitting abit taller in suv, seeing more of the surrounding. It’s being less fatigue than getting jam from any Sedan. You also can go closer follow Malaysian traffic jam driving culture- which Tesla ACC also cannot achieve.
Taiwan and Thailand no,1 selling SUV finally now sell @ Malaysia – Hybrid.
With the ACC, AEB, 360cam, it’s eqv to Thailand Premium Spec
Which selling RM149k/1199k THB.
Better looking Prius Cross SUV.
With wltp 23-26km/L, 36L fuel tank – WLTP rated 820-930km Mileage Range.
No need always refuel. Save the time for more comfort.
If u do alot of city driving, no harm going hybrid, saves alot in the long run
If ur d balik kampung type on weekends, den go for non hybrid
Exactly,
Otherwise, this Prius SUV is easily 2x more fuel saving then any Honda Mazda and other SUV.
Why if long journey you recommend to not go with hybrid?
Cause hybrid cars still uses petrol, so if battery is zero…the car still can drive with no issue for long journey like normal car
Please explain why hybrid vehicle is not economical for frequent long distance driving, because I was planning to get a hybrid car to travel JB-KL weekly.
Better Deal
If the government is serious about the environment and green technology, then they should provide tax discount for such hybrid vehicles, that works encourage people to buy them.
https://paultan.org/2021/10/29/budget-2022-sst-exemption-extended-again-to-june-30-2022-100-on-new-ckd-cars-50-for-cbu/
Dah bagi dah
This is for sst not tax exemption for hybrid or ev
You mean this?
https://paultan.org/2021/10/29/budget-2022-evs-in-malaysia-to-be-completely-tax-free-soon/
why the price for hybrid car is not lower than the non-hybrid? there are incentives given for hybrid car but price is not lower. help me to understand this.
HPM, Higher Profit Margin
City hybrid, top up rm20k. HPM.
The Real HPM – the price of the 1.8V petrol variant CKD price remains the same with CBU. Okay, to be exact, CKD is RM 266 lower. Absolutely ridiculous!
The cost of hybrid is higher than non-hybrid. Is there any incentives for hybrid?
Still using old technology for battery….
This hybrid battery technology is not outdated. Yet, this is still more advanced and good fuel efficient with producing less carbon emission
Seems CKD version has enhancement like auto rain sensor, dual air-conditioning.
Seems CKD comes with enhancement like auto rain sensor + dual air-conditioning
Went to the showroom to book this car (non hybrid version) but I changed my mind after viewing the car. The driving experience is okay but i cant live with the interior. lol
This car looks promising.. but the interior is too dull and not thought carefully.. Especially the at area under the centre console.. is too damn plain with the empty button and the wireless charger did not integrate properly, they just put a brick on top of the existing storage space. What a joke. I know toyota
is very reliable and will last very long.. but at least give us something decent. Maybe UMW remove all the good things inside the the corolla cross for malaysian market.. even the instrument cluster looks from ancient age.. Proton one looks much better
Step inside the Mazda CX-30 it is a totally different level of cabin refinement and fit & finish. everything is well thought. maybe I’ll wait for the new HR-V
Toyota is now at totally different level. If you look at Corolla Cross interior, it looks good with some premium touching dashboard and doesn’t look dull anymore, at least better compare to the past years. Features, safety spec and other spec are all there. By the way, heard that Corolla Cross will be using Digital Meter Cluster. Anyway, even Corolla Cross normal variants uses Digital Cluster and analog meter combination, it also doesn’t look bad and not really outdated, like some other latest cars are still using that too.
Duuudeee.. I specifically mentioned I went to the showroom and see the Corolla Cross interior.. It looks cheap and very plasticky. no wayy it looks premium bro.. And there are many empty useless button underneath the infotainment system that make the interior looks like an afterthought. Worst part is the car still using foot brake.. like wtf..
To be honest I loveeee Toyota’s technology. Reliable, cheap to maintain but please upgrade the interior. Dont be so cheap. We sit inside cars all the time of course we want something good to look, touch and feel while driving.
Seriously you have not seen Mazda’s interior.. wayyy better. New Honda HR-V also looks good on the inside. Toyota better step up their game fast.
Thanks for sharing. Saves me the time to bring wifey over to view the car. I am quite set with the HRV but considering how good the Toyota Hybrid system is, I was willing to consider.
Also agree that Mazda interior is among the best of the Japanese cars now. Their target is to chase after Lexus. However, I don’t like the rather cramp feeling behind the wheel of the CX-5. It’s such a large car but it felt small inside. I expect an SUV to be more spacious.
Toyota will always spend money where it matters. If you want premium interior, Harrier is the closest. Otherwise, it’s Lexus.
*Ahh… so many Toyota fans here, ready to dislike anybody who say even a single bad thing about their favourate brand! Sorry to disappoint. My money, my choice. I am not a brand lover, I am a CAR lover and there is NO SINGLE PERFECT CAR out there. That’s why I have owned many makes throughout my life. Ford, Mazda, Toyota, Honda, Mitsubishi, VW and I’m adding an AMG soon. You guys need to find more productive things to do in your life, mate.
still using footbrake?
Heard electronic parking brake will be using for Hybrid
Hi, will you go for 1.8V or Hybrid? why?