JPJ Penang goes after big bikes in special operation

After going after the small displacement motorcycles, JPJ Penang is now focusing its attention on recalcitrant big bikers. In an operation conducted at the Penang bridge toll plaza and in Georgetown dubbed “High Powered Motorcycle Special Operation”, JPJ Penang performed licence checks and motorcycle inspections to identify miscreants.

During the day-long operation, JPJ found offences relating to not having a ‘B’ licence, ‘fancy’ number plates, exhaust modifications and not having wing mirrors. The operation is intended to reduce the accident rate amongst big bikers as well as educating them on being disciplined road users, practising courtesy while riding and following road rules and regulations.

Riders and pillions were also reminded to adhere to Covid-19 standard operating procedures during group rides. Group rides involving ‘convoys’ are reminded to not cause inconvenience to other road users.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Bob the builder on Dec 06, 2021 at 1:53 pm

Ya Saman those wearing Marshall jacket too while you’re at it.

• alldisc on Dec 06, 2021 at 2:21 pm

To be effective this must continue consistently. Like 20 times a year at random dates. Not taking a chance.

• Bieight8 on Dec 06, 2021 at 9:48 pm

Should just ban motorcycles and make them ride electric scooter…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • U think all people in malaysia are rich like haaa….
      The electric scooter just can ride only at the playground and small road in the house area….in malaysia all religions and all people not have much mobey like u that can spend money to buy a car…electric scooter cant use like motorcyle….stop being selfish and stupid… I bet more people will not agree what u ask for stpd!!!!!!all race in malaysia that not rich like u need use a motorcyle…i hope can see u face to face sir

• Very one sided mind u have there congrats

• Yap Kim Kooi on Dec 07, 2021 at 12:53 am

I am a cyclist and a Big Biker. I notice that during weekends there are lot of motor racing training, big and mortified motorbikes, along Hulu Langat Batu 18 to Genting Peres. There are always accidents along the route and cyclists are very frightened when motorcycles speeding fast taking corners passes them. Let’s hope the authorities do something about it. They are causing loud noises to the environment/animals and Orang Asli settlement.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 07, 2021 at 9:32 pm

rempit kaya ini