Nissan Leaf global prices compared – RM589k in Singapore, RM100k in Spain; Malaysia 11th at RM181k

Car pricing is a very sensitive topic here in Malaysia, especially compared to other markets. We love to say that our country has the “most expensive cars in the world,” but is that actually true – especially when it comes to electric vehicles? Luckily for us, a British car insurance comparison site Compare The Market has compiled a Global EV Index for prices, using a Nissan Leaf as a marker.

The index compares prices in 53 different markets in Asia, Oceania, Europe and North and South America – and it’s no surprise to find that our neighbour down south in Singapore tops the list. The island nation has the highest price in the world for Nissan’s electric runabout at S$190,800 (a whopping RM588,600), due to the excise duty and the notoriously expensive certificate of entitlement (COE).

Our other neighbour, Thailand is not too far off in third, although its 1,990,000 baht purchase price (RM249,000) is less than half that of Singapore’s. Other Southeast Asian countries in the top ten are Philippines in fourth (with a price of 2,798,000 pesos, or RM236,100) and Indonesia in seventh (with a price of 679 million rupiah, or RM199,400).

At the other end of the spectrum is Spain, where the Leaf can be purchased for a paltry sum of €21,000 (RM99,800). This includes all available promotions and the government’s electric vehicle rebate of up to €7,000 (RM33,300) – which, among others, requires a car older than seven years to be traded in for scrap. This incentive is valid until 2023.

Where does Malaysia stand? We manage to just escape the top ten, sitting in 11th with a price of RM181,263 for our Leaf. This includes the government’s ongoing sales and service tax (SST) rebate, but it’s still quite a bit higher than the global average of £29,296 (RM163,000).

There are two main factors for our relatively high price. The first is that the Leaf is currently still being slapped with import and excise duties, charged at a rate of 30% and 10% respectively. The government has proposed an elimination of all taxes on electric vehicles until the end of 2023, which has already seen the Hyundai Kona Electric receive a comparably low starting price of RM149,888.

Our Leaf is also reasonably well-equipped. Nissan’s home market of Japan is the fifth cheapest country on the list with a price of 3,326,400 yen (RM123,300), but that’s for the base model with steel wheels, fabric seats and no head unit to speak of. Our car comes with 17-inch alloys (the largest available globally), leather seats and a five-inch infotainment touchscreen; the premium two-tone paint scheme is also a no-cost option.

Moving to the next variant up in Japan raises the price to 3,825,000 yen (RM141,800), which would drop it to 21st on the list (the 33rd most expensive country, if you prefer). Last but certainly not least, every Leaf sold in Malaysia comes with a free 6.6 kW wallbox charger, which is not offered in other countries – you’d have to buy one yourself at a considerable cost.

Over to you now – what do you think of this list, and do you still feel Malaysia has the “most expensive cars in the world?” Sound off in the comments after the jump.

GALLERY: 2019 Nissan Leaf in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 21, 2021 at 1:35 pm

Since shameful demise of pariah Carlos ghosn. This Nissan is really best car in Malaysia at rm162k only. Better buy fast.. Selling for dem pensip RM589k in Singapore. Buy Nissan car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Carolyn Khaw on Dec 21, 2021 at 1:45 pm

Irrelevant. Please compare salaries vs car purchase price instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 17
    • DayDreamer on Dec 21, 2021 at 2:22 pm

stop dreaming… salaries in Singapore not everyone getting paid SGD5k a month… even if yes, car park cost more than here and everywhere also ERP… factor in that cost too and stop blaming car price expensive here… some countries are way poorer than bolehland but their car price not cheap either… face the reality dude

• Ghani on Dec 22, 2021 at 1:08 pm

Mesia minimum wage is 1,200 while in Sinkie is 950. Go figure why minimum wage earners there still make the daily trip back to Johor, with such paltry salary no way can live there with just 950. Mesia still terbaek

• Do you think people in Mexico earn a lot more than us. Come on be realistic, our cars are not expensive at all. It’s the currency that has little to no value.

• What are u guys on? on Dec 21, 2021 at 2:33 pm

Why convert to RM?? To justify crazy markups??

• indeed. our purchasing power is , dreadful

• Absolutely.

Average salary in SG is SGD56K per annum (Source: https://stats.mom.gov.sg/Pages/Income-Summary-Table.aspx). At SGD190,800, the Leaf works out to be approximately 3.4 times the average annual salary in Singapore.

Average salary in MY is RM36K per annum (Source: https://www.dosm.gov.my/v1/index.php?r=column/cthemeByCat&cat=157&bul_id=VDRDc0pGZHpieEUwMDNFWHVHSnpkdz09&menu_id=Tm8zcnRjdVRNWWlpWjRlbmtlaDk1UT09). At RM181K, the Leaf works to be 5 times the average annual salary in Malaysia.

• Fundraising on Dec 21, 2021 at 3:35 pm

Your salary?

• Bla blaz on Dec 21, 2021 at 4:11 pm

If leaf was offered as ICE, the price range given the segment wd be arn rm130k ish. Being electric we hv to pay 50k premium. Emmm …

• Mike Tee on Dec 21, 2021 at 7:05 pm

70% of the countries with higher price in this chart has lower per capita GDP than Malaysia. Cars are getting cheaper in Malaysia, we just don’t like to admit it.

• Dong Gor on Dec 21, 2021 at 2:08 pm

Just comparing the price like this is meaningless. We need to also consider the income level aka the affordability. Mean earnings of Malaysia is around 1.5k usd. So the cost to earning ratio is 30x. Now u will agree that it’s overpriced if u compared it to richer countries. Without the tax on it, its still expensive but will be more affordable. Ringgit is depreciating, income is low, and yet government squeezing money for purchase. Just very bad equation for us here no matter how u look at it

• bieight8 on Dec 21, 2021 at 2:24 pm

Can do a list about gtr price?

• klguy on Dec 21, 2021 at 2:27 pm

Nonsense la this comparison. I dare you to make similar comparison for a fresh grad in these countries….

• 190k in sg.. monthly income maybe 2500sgd

181k in my.. monthly income maybe rm2000

Don’t convert lah, compare to income

• Malacca Kid on Dec 21, 2021 at 3:07 pm

Comparing it with the GDP per capita?

• Driver on Dec 21, 2021 at 3:26 pm

Is it flood proof

• Sick & Tired on Dec 21, 2021 at 3:57 pm

Why bother. Even if what is shown is the truth, critics will still blame the Gomen & currency & whatnot for them not owning a fire breathing Mustang at kancil prices.

• @SnakeBabu on Dec 21, 2021 at 4:08 pm

With lousy ass public transport here, you should be selling it cheaper OR improve public transportation & you can sell your cars at a miliion a piece like our neighbor.Lot of factors plays role here, especially related to gomen policies.

• Bla blaz on Dec 21, 2021 at 4:12 pm

If leaf was offered as ICE, the price range given the segment wd be arn rm130k ish. Being electric we hv to pay 50k premium. Emmm …

• Msia has one of the most unfair tax structures (import and excise duties) in the world which protects the national car brands. I believe that if the Govt imposes a fair and standardized rate, our non-national car brands will be much cheaper.

• https://paultan.org/2021/12/21/luxury-sales-tax-in-indonesia-to-be-fully-eliminated-on-vehicles-with-at-least-80-local-content-report/

Oh yeah, and Indonesia doesn’t? But their B40s have no national car option to rely for affordable transportation compared to Malaysia. So how is our system unfair?

• Please don’t do this sort of comparison, it’s meaningless and do not bring value to paultan.

• Rennie Abdul Ghani on Dec 21, 2021 at 8:13 pm

Why Tan Chong still bloody maintain the price at 181K? So they are pirates or what?

• jongos on Dec 21, 2021 at 8:58 pm

We are not paid salary in EUR. So, yes. Cars are expensive.

• your friend on Dec 22, 2021 at 10:23 am

murah ke mahal tergantung pada gaji seseorang… ukur baju di badan sendiri

• Panjang on Dec 22, 2021 at 2:35 pm

Only billionaire can afford the car in Indonesia.