2022 Toyota Camry facelift teased for Malaysia ahead of February 17 launch – new Dynamic Force engine?

Having been launched in Thailand back in November, the facelifted Toyota Camry is finally making its way to the Malaysian market, with distributor UMW Toyota Motor teasing a February 17 launch date. The refresh will arrive more than three years after the eighth-generation XV70 made its debut in late 2018.

Barely visible in the sole image provided is the revised front fascia, sporting a more clearly defined centre air intake (the wide lower grille graphic is still visible) flanked by contrasting C-shaped frames. The nip and tuck should also add a new wheel design and a smoked finish for the taillights.

Inside, the changes are expected to be even more extensive, with the addition of a freestanding infotainment touchscreen that measures up to nine inches across (up from the eight-inch display currently offered). The updated Toyota Safety Sense 2.5+ suite of driver assists, which now includes nighttime pedestrian and daytime cyclist detection and an improved adaptive cruise control, should also be on the cards.

Interestingly, the company mentioned that “new power” will “surge within”, hinting of a new powertrain underneath. The Camry was previously saddled with an outdated 2AR-FE 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder engine and six-speed automatic transmission from the seventh-gen model, instead of the newer Dynamic Force mill available in other markets.

At the time, it was speculated that the decision to go with the older engine was due to supply restraints for the more advanced unit, which have apparently eased. The Dynamic Force mill has since turned up in Malaysia under the bonnet of the RAV4, as well as the related Lexus ES 250.

If that’s the case, the Camry is set to receive quite a bump in power. Equipped with D-4S direct injection and a 13:1 compression ratio and achieving a claimed thermal efficiency of 40%, the A25A-FKS delivers an extra 25 PS and 15 Nm of torque, producing 209 PS at 6,600 rpm and 250 Nm at 5,000 rpm. It will almost certainly be mated to an eight-speed Direct Shift automatic.

GALLERY: 2022 Toyota Camry 2.5 Premium facelift in Thailand

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bob Mal on Feb 11, 2022 at 3:15 pm

What a shame, we are already being priced though our nose for the car and yet we receive subpar items/tech. And those company registration are to be blamed for buying old Toyota Tech as quoted:

At the time, it was speculated that the decision to go with the older engine was due to supply restraints for the more advanced unit, which have apparently eased.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
    • calcutta on Feb 13, 2022 at 9:32 pm

the price you paid are mostly for car tax,car dealer merely slot in whatever parts fit the price they wish to sell the car at, you want better then pay more

• Looking forward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • sohai on Feb 11, 2022 at 3:28 pm

200k and no turbo? Thanks, but no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • If you want turbo, then buy your performance but turbo is not cheap once you service. And RM200k is because of changing to new engine and other items for this facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Supasave on Feb 12, 2022 at 12:57 pm

You’re right. Ordinary engine is more reliable than turbo

• Super Duper on Feb 14, 2022 at 12:04 pm

Replying to the comments above.
          Servicing a turbo charged car doesn’t cost much. It’s the same cost as a NA car. Not sure where these ideas come from.
          I never had a turbo break down in my car, it’s 7 years old and still good. The stories you hear about unreliability comes from the fact that turbo cars can be very easily modded through an ECU software upgrade. By doing so the boost also increases and may affect the life span of the turbo. If you keep your car stock, it’s reliable as ever. The stories you hear are usually from people who do a Stage 1 or 2 upgrade.

• Turbo can be problem because of turbo lag. Even stock civic turbo owners also complains on the part for oil dilution

• People buy Luxury sedan car like this is not for racing or what so ever, turbo or no, people still buy it.

Your name really reflects your personality

• Roger on Feb 11, 2022 at 3:32 pm

Interesting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • tricycle on Feb 11, 2022 at 4:22 pm

Finally no CVT.

• Goodbye to dual vvti 2.5 engine

• Dong Gor on Feb 11, 2022 at 5:30 pm

Camry and accord were in the list as a family far before this generation was launched. but at 200k price tag for a supposedly affordable family car just felt not right…at least not until for another gen or two until we forget the 150k range tag in the memory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
  • Accord Is Here on Feb 11, 2022 at 6:35 pm

Finally…. This is the car I’m awaiting for

• UMW also will take the chance to increase the price.

• New facelift now come with
    – 2.5L Dynamic Force Engine
    – 8 Speed Automatic
    – More powerful than Dual VVT-i

• Finally now with full technology

• Malta on Feb 11, 2022 at 11:33 pm

Time to take this

• tiger on Feb 11, 2022 at 11:55 pm

Reminds of Baby Merz/Beemer

• Alvin on Feb 12, 2022 at 10:39 am

it’s a different beast now.

TNGA , Direct Shift AT, Dynamic Force,
    4 independent suspension with Rear Double Wishbone.

Sweet Spot acceleration:
    1. 1800 to 2600 rpm for 85% of Torque City Acceleration, but quiet.
    2. 3800rpm – 5600+rpm for Max Torque Track Aggressive drive Acceleration, racing noise.

• fabulous on Feb 12, 2022 at 11:20 am

Looks awesome

• Pcaml on Feb 12, 2022 at 3:25 pm

Beautiful big whale car

• Pyramides on Feb 13, 2022 at 11:03 am

This car is getting more advanced. Good to hear old engine had phased out

• CBU or CKD, at current price tag, it is hardly sold!
    Japanese cars that were cheap and reliable……….

• Atz1999 on Feb 17, 2022 at 12:12 am

Where is turbo engine or electric …nobody want to buy outdated 2.5liter vvti engine