Proton X50 – total bookings top the 100,000-unit mark

The best-selling SUV for 2021 has now reached a new milestone, with Proton announcing that its X50 has achieved more than 100,000 bookings since its debut in October 2020.

Despite production being interrupted due to prolonged lockdowns last year, demand for the SUV remained strong. In 2021, the automaker delivered 28,774 units of the X50, making it the company’s second best-selling model after the Saga.

After surpassing the 4,000-unit mark in November, sales of the X50 for the year peaked in December, with a record 4,310 units sold. It and the X70 made up nearly 40% of the brand’s total sales last year.

Following a dip in January, where only 2,601 units of the SUV were delivered due to disruptions to production brought about by the flash floods that happened in December, sales are on the up again. Deliveries totaled 3,002 units in February, continuing to put the X50 at the top of its segment.

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• LoLiPoP on Mar 03, 2022 at 2:43 pm

Good.
    100K X50 owners will crybaby for spare parts soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Tomorrow news, for sure:
    “Perodua records 200,0s0 bookings for Ativa.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Axepro on Mar 03, 2022 at 7:15 pm

Lol ativa and X50 different segment lah the price also huge gap between them

• PlainBS on Mar 04, 2022 at 2:16 am

LOL if it did we would heard it already but Ativa sales is disappointing when it is priced lower.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Mar 03, 2022 at 4:00 pm

Tahniah! Making Proton Great Again!

• crap car on Mar 03, 2022 at 10:19 pm

crap brand…bad after sales. stupid to buy cars from this brand. better to stick with perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • benard on Mar 03, 2022 at 4:21 pm

That number would not be possible if that car has a Geely badge on its grille.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • the sales is not possible if with Proton own design and technology.

• My Mum had to wait for a year for her X50 standard.

• Aikky on Mar 03, 2022 at 9:42 pm

I hope they cud solve my X50 issues n ensure the quality .

• Dr Ali on Mar 04, 2022 at 1:24 pm

I love my X50 Flagship, a real value for money and a joy to drive

• Jimmy on Mar 04, 2022 at 3:51 pm

My x70 awd is excellent

• Jimmy on Mar 04, 2022 at 3:52 pm

My x70 awd is excellent…china technology is good n low price

• My X50Fs is excellent. Driving experience is good. Very comfortable to stay in the car cabin.much better compare to my previous Japanese car start with H