Peugeot 208 Sedan: would it be a good Vios/City rival?

Anyone here with fond memories of the Peugeot 207 Sedan? If that’s you, then this one might tickle your fancy. Say hello to Theophilus Chin’s latest creation, the Peugeot 208 Sedan.

Needless to say, this car – finished in the 208‘s new Elixir Red pearlescent paint – doesn’t officially exist. But if it did, the B-segment sedan would rival the likes of the Toyota Vios, Honda City, Mazda 2 Sedan and the Proton Persona.

To start off, Theo used the rear half of the Fiat Cronos, tweaked the window line and door shutlines, and made sure to retain the hatch’s original sculpted rear fenders. He also adjusted the rear windscreen rake and shoulder lines, whilst keeping the full-width gloss black panel on the tailgate.

The LED combination taillights have a nice sharper profile here compared to the curvy ones on the hatch, and the rear bumper is based largely on the Cronos. It sits on the same dual-tone 17-inch alloy wheels, complete with screw-in aero shrouds.

To quickly recap, the 208 is powered by a 1.2 litre PureTech three-cylinder mill that makes between 75 PS to 130 PS, depending on the variant. A five- or six-speed manual is available, though range-topping models get an eight-speed auto as an option. A six-speed auto can also be specified in other markets.

Fancy the full electric e-208 instead? That model is powered by a single electric motor making 136 PS and 260 Nm of torque, good enough for a century dash time of 8.1 seconds. A 50 kWh battery sits under the floor (no compromises to cabin and boot space), providing a healthy range of up to 340 km. It can take a maximum of 11 kW AC charging, or 100 kW DC fast charging.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Truckers on Apr 18, 2022 at 12:36 pm

If it weren’t so squat, ugly, or unreliable and difficult to find spareparts. Maybe it might be good. Right now it is tow truck best fren.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Jason Chin Sown on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:12 pm

Don’t buy European junk!. It is a Cold country car and It is not meant for hot climate like Malaysia. It would breakdown due to hear and the parts get deterioration faster. Stick with locally made Cars or else it is a money pit. Unless you be the mechanic for life for that car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • SemuaTahu on Apr 20, 2022 at 2:55 pm

European cars memang tak boleh pakai. Gaya ada tapi pokai lepas pakai. Kereta asia paling sesuai untuk kita

• Kelvin on Oct 15, 2022 at 4:01 pm

For cold country cars, so far im owed 3 cars, peugeot, citroen n fiat, i study without lazy about d car, n follow as it is.. Already 15 years, still in running conditions, d maintenance still consider similar to japanese cars maintenance. Do study, understand the car itself, follow all the maintenance requirements and its won’t be expensive. Thank you

• RyanT on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:15 pm

My friend told me that all Peugeot cars fuel supply will be cut off instantly even during driving if the battery is dead…can Peugeot owners clarify it?

• i don’t think so. Unless the alternator also spoilt. PSA car has it own behavior. Most of the malaysian get used to japanese car. So, they feel abnormal on certain peugeot car designs. But there are the reason behind for all the design. Need to understand and get use to it.

• RyanT on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:41 pm

No offend, I just don’t understand why French design this way…can u imaging the fuel supply is cut off on highway? My friend car was towed 4 times because of the dead battery, btw this is wrong logic in designing car systems

• Kapchai on Apr 19, 2022 at 11:30 am

Maybe Not wrong logic.
          They just didn’t develop it further for resilience.

Maybe it is half baked. Got show but no substance.

• Salakau on Apr 18, 2022 at 2:41 pm

One of the most unreliable brands on the planet “rivaling” two of the most venerated cars on the planet?
    Are you kidding?

• Dymund on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:28 pm

Nice rendition though. Looks very balanced and beautiful. Reliability, durability and after sales though is something Bermas and Peugeot Malaysia have to really amp up to convince the potential buyers, unlike Naza who has brought it down the drain. But I see Peugeot have better prospects here now

• Actually is the mechanics and technicians problem by their expertise and mindset. I owned a 5 years and I had gone thru every this and that by these people. They are almost similar. Simply they are not familiar or come across with these problems. They totally unknown to problem and about to be a problem. I did highlighted to them, they can’t find out the problem rsther than they have their excuse to convince the problem. After 2 months, my highlighted problem come into picture. I even let my car stayed in the workshop for fews days as they require some time to verify. Well, I can say is about the same lah.. Probably we don’t understand France language. Some guys here were right, more pakai more pokai. If you have the patience then you will be fine.

• Dong Gor on Apr 18, 2022 at 3:54 pm

This is fugly.. Anytime take a city or vios which is better looking and reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • City not reliable. Still poor quality and usual common problems like steering rack

• Truth on Apr 18, 2022 at 8:16 pm

will be same fate as VW polo sedan/vento

• Real News on Apr 19, 2022 at 10:26 pm

VW Polo/Vento was selling really well before VW pulled the plug when Porsche took over dealership of VWs in Malaysia. The reason is they wanted to push the marque upmarket. Thats why all the cheap models from India and elsewhere were dropped. At one time the Vento was selling so well, they did not even have stock in VW Malaysia.

• Magarita Chi on Oct 19, 2022 at 9:55 am

Actually is the mechanics and technicians problem by their expertise and mindset. I owned a 5 years and I had gone thru every this and that by these people. They are almost similar. Simply they are not familiar or come across with these problems. They totally unknown to problem and about to be a problem. I did highlighted to them, they can’t find out the problem rsther than they have their excuse to convince the problem. After 2 months, my highlighted problem come into picture. I even let my car stayed in the workshop for fews days as they require some time to verify. Well, I can say is about the same lah.. Probably we don’t understand France language. Some guys here were right, more pakai more pokai. If you have the patience then you will be fine.