2022 BMW 530e and 530i prices up to RM322k and RM372k; few units lose 360 cams due to chip shortage

Earlier this week, a netizen found a new unit of the facelifted G30 BMW 530i in Malaysia without a 360-degree camera setup – a feature that is supposedly standard on both the 530i and the 530e plug-in hybrid as part of the Parking Assistant Plus system.

We’ve reached out to a BMW Group Malaysia spokesperson, who told us there has indeed been a change in the specification of the local 5 Series that affected a small number of vehicles. The removal of Parking Assistant Plus – a system that also provides a remote three-dimensional view of the car’s surroundings using the MyBMW smartphone app – is said to have been caused by the global semiconductor shortage.

On these units, the lower-spec Parking Assistant has instead been specified with a single reverse camera. The spokesperson added that there is no reduction in pricing as this is a temporary issue, although buyers will be notified beforehand.

The rest of the kit list remains unchanged and includes the full M Sport exterior and interior package, 19-inch alloy wheels, adaptive LED headlights, keyless entry, push-button start, power-adjustable front seats with driver’s side memory, Dakota leather upholstery, BMW Live Cockpit Professional infotainment with twin 12.3-inch displays, rear sunshades, adaptive dampers, 12 speakers and a hands-free powered boot lid.

Stepping up to the 530i nets you Laserlight headlamps, lowered M suspension, a sunroof, a head-up display and a 16-speaker Harman Kardon sound system. Under the bonnet sits a B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, pushing out 252 PS and 350 Nm of torque in the 530i and 184 PS and 300 Nm in the 530e.

Making up for the latter’s shortfall is a 68 PS electric motor that helps deliver a total system output of 252 PS and 420 Nm; an XtraBoost function adds another 41 PS under acceleration to boost the overall figure to 292 PS. A 12 kWh battery provides a pure electric range of 67 km. Both models get an eight-speed automatic gearbox, with drive sent to the rear wheels.

As mentioned, there’s no cost reduction for these two models, and in fact the prices were increased at the start of the year. The 530e is now RM4,435 more expensive at RM321,969, while the 530i is RM3,704 dearer at RM371,826. Both figures are on-the-road without insurance inclusive of the sales and service tax (SST) exemption and the standard two-year, unlimited-mileage warranty; with the five-year warranty and service package, the prices jump to RM341,999 and RM391,856 respectively.

GALLERY: 2021 BMW 530e and 530i M Sport in Malaysia

GALLERY: 2021 BMW 530e M Sport in Malaysia

GALLERY: 2021 BMW 530i M Sport in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• FreakingAnnoyed on Apr 22, 2022 at 5:33 pm

Typical BMW Malaysia style. Just charge customer whatever they like. Next thing you know the car doesn’t even comes with tyres….. and still selling at the same price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr on Apr 22, 2022 at 6:10 pm

Lmao and you expect the customer to go ‘oh okay’? That’s daylight robbery for the rest of the world but no, here in Bolehland it’s perfectly acceptable.

• bieight8 on Apr 22, 2022 at 6:34 pm

Daylight robbery…

• Disgusting practice by BMW Malaysia. I’m not surprised, by the way they priced the i4.

“The spokesperson added that there is no reduction in pricing as this is a temporary issue.”

How about you stop selling the car temporarily as it’s a temporary issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Because of chip shortage

• Who cares? I’m sick of your “matter of fact” comments Captain Obvious. They’re short-changing customers plain and simple. You are not getting what you paid for. Chip shortage? Sure, drop the price.

• anonymous on Apr 22, 2022 at 6:38 pm

What a scam. Reduction in features without a reduction in price?

• Can’t blame BMW Malaysia because of chip shortage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • chytro on Apr 22, 2022 at 6:54 pm

hehe. got chip shortage, but no cytro shortage.

• anonymous on Apr 22, 2022 at 7:48 pm

Ok sure you say there’s a chip shortage hence the removal of specs, but they should then deduct the value all the specs they omitted to be fair to customers. This is daylight robbery.

• But don’t understand why BMW Malaysia need to remove 360 camera? Safety is most priority.

• What a sad move

• Boikot on Apr 22, 2022 at 6:56 pm

Been driving My beemer For 7 years now and Thinking To change. This such rip off only made potential Customers To boycott your products. Keep it up!

• Darren on Apr 22, 2022 at 7:13 pm

Not enough outrage here. Where are all the bashers? Still sleeping kah? If it were Proton doing this you will find them camping at that tered for days. Come on! Get your lazy arses off and spill your bile here!

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 22, 2022 at 7:34 pm

boikot! say taknak to bmw

• What have we done to get all these treatment on Apr 22, 2022 at 11:38 pm

Remove turning indicators, LEDs and wiring too to boost up your profile tiny wee bit as they hardly bother with it anyway.

• e tak main on Apr 23, 2022 at 1:58 am

Phew lucky i bought my 530i end last year.

• JohnnyBeGood on Apr 23, 2022 at 8:56 am

BMW surely going to pay the price for ripping of Malaysians…

• Also no wireless charging for 2022 models due to chip shortage

• Contender on Apr 23, 2022 at 10:46 am

Well understand chip shortages hence temporary downgrade some specs but price increase also ? This is not right la …… ok some people will say RM4-5k extra only those buying RM300k+ car no issue for some increase. But if you remove specs should lower price if not no at least maintain price …. instead double whammy! Lower spec and up price

• Raged on Apr 25, 2022 at 7:26 pm

360-camera cost Rm10k to install from 3rd party source. Thus it is reasonable for BMW to bring the price down or at least to compensate the buyers in other forms. Should not take advantage of your loyal customers as many are lifetime beemer fans.

• SemuaTahu on Apr 26, 2022 at 1:24 pm

With the crumbling economy in Germany due to their hatred towards Russia and sanction coupled with crumbling ringgit due to bad policy, European cars will be more and more expensive. Best is to support local for now.

• Ben Yap on Apr 26, 2022 at 2:10 pm

chip shortage is temporary issue, so temporary reduce the price la. BMW cannot provide what they are supposed to provide but still have the cheek to demand more money. Just don’t buy the cars with price increase. when want to sell later, buyers will compare the price of those without 360 camera with those that has been fitted with it.

• Andre X on Apr 27, 2022 at 1:23 pm

i just collect my 530i LCI on 23 April 2022. they dont inform you “beforehand”. when i collect the car, i asked the sales rep and they say 530i never comes with 360 camera?! i survey and checked again from their website and datasheet, it is still stating there “Parking Assistance Plus” as standard feature!

am furious and angry, this is not only daily robbery, but it is cheating your customers… am okay if you tell me no wireless charging, but what you removing 360 surround camera is a safety feature, the car is big and long, how are you going to park when in narrow/tight situation?

what will happen to my 2nd hand car value? if i am buying a 2nd hand car, i will look for same model car that has 360 surround camera but i wont bother about whether i have wireless charger or not…

am filing a complain and considering to take legal actions as NOBODY inform me “beforehand”! if they inform me “beforehand” i will turn my head and buy Mercedes!