2022 Kia Carnival CKD – AEB, ADAS and a 12-speaker Bose sound system on the high-spec 7- and 8-seaters

Last week, Kia dealership AZ Master Motor announced via a Facebook post that the locally-assembled version of the Kia Carnival was open for booking, also indicating an estimated price for the CKD version of the MPV, which will be available in seven- and eight-seat forms.

Now, via another Facebook post, the Seri Kembangan outfit has revealed some of the specifications of the variants as well as some of the equipment they will feature. The CKD range will consist of a mid-spec eight-seater, a high-spec eight-seater and a high-spec seven-seater.

Kit-wise, it was previously suggested that the locally-assembled Carnival would get the 12.3-inch digital instrument display that isn’t present on the 11-seater CBU unit, and this is the case, but it will only be found on the high-spec versions. The mid-spec eight-seater continues on with an analogue instrument cluster with a 4.2-inch multi-info LCD display.

The rear lighting elements on the CKD will go the LED route (bulbed on the CBU) across the entire range, and the audio has been bumped up from the six-speaker setup in the CBU to a 12-speaker Bose sound system, again found on all three variants.

Like the CBU, the mid-spec eight-seater features manual headlight leveling, and the seating configuration for both eight-seat variants include multi-function, long sliding adjustable second-row seats, while the third row bench features a 60:40 layout. Upholstery for both variants is in leatherette, like on the CBU model.

The high-spec eight-seater gets additional kit, including a dual powered sunroof, LED interior lighting, heated and ventilated front seats as well as a memory function for the powered driver’s seat. As for the high-spec seven-seater, it gets leather seats, and the variant also features a centre walk-through for its second-row Premium seats.

The most significant addition to the CKD Carnival on both high-spec versions is with ADAS, which was not found on the CBU 11-seater (and now, on the mid-spec eight-seater). The driver assistance suite adds on autonomous emergency braking (FCA) with junction turning detection, smart cruise control (SCC) blind spot collision avoidance assist (BCA), rear cross-traffic collision avoidance assist (RCCA), lane following assist (LFA), lane keeping assist (LKA), driver attention warning (DAW) and high beam assist (HBA).

In terms of powertrain, the CKD Carnival should retain the Smartstream R 2.2 VGT turbodiesel as seen on the CBU version. The oil burner, which puts out 199 hp at 3,800 rpm and 440 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 2,750 rpm, is paired with an eight-speed automatic gearbox, with drive sent to the front wheels.

Pricing for the CKD Carnival has been estimated to be between RM235,000 to RM260,000, which is quite a bit more than the existing imported unit, currently going for RM196,341. The 11-seater configuration allowed it to be classified as a commercial vehicle, affording it lower taxes as a result. The CKD versions do get more in the way of kit, but we’ll have to wait for the official introduction to know the full complement and final pricing.

GALLERY: 2022 Kia Carnival 11-seater CBU in Malaysia

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• May be just Malaysia due to tax issue. But for me, really not justify for that price. I can tolerate slightly smaller but equally comfortable for 7 people, which is Senera, cost mevard rm140k. Still have balance to get another car as spare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
    • Azroyhensem on Jun 24, 2022 at 9:56 pm

Just go for test drive, you will know why the price is such

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Rohana IMDB on Jun 26, 2022 at 9:09 pm

Wahliow…first row…driver with first wife
        second row…second wife
        Third row..third wife
        Wah..,Keluarga Ummph..ada GAYA,MUTU,KEUNGGULAN
        Kipidap…new Kia Regime.
        Complete MPV for family outing

• test drive, do you expect this type of ahmad driver mpv to be good at handling? For rich people, hire a driver while enjoying at the rear, is really enjoying. For rich people, keep as second car is also a good choice. I need a daily car, Serena already consider not convenience for me for its size. Who will be that stuid use it as daily commuting to pay for high fuel and hard to find a big space parking?
        For rich people, everything ok. For most of the people, we do not need it. Even for big family, it will not be fully loaded eveyday. And you will not out every weekend.
        Still the same comment, i you have easy money like our rulers, keep it as toy car ia fun. Keep it as daily use s really stupid.

• Test drive both and you will know the answer

• Sohai on Jun 25, 2022 at 11:31 am

This is aiming for the recon Alphard Vfire market. Serena can’t compete in terms of luxury or power, and is a super old product.
      And Serena is really not that comfortable, the seats are too low, and drives like a boat.

• Naw not taxes but sheer stupidity of Kia Malaysia thinking they can sell upmarket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • tricycle on Jun 24, 2022 at 9:49 pm

This is supernice. Really hope the adaptive cruise control comes with stop and go function for the traffic jam.

• mat kilau on Jun 24, 2022 at 11:21 pm

Senang keje editor paul tan. Patut dptkn info tulen dari dinamikjaya.. bukannye cooy paste sbji dr facebook page dealer kia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Zulro on Jun 25, 2022 at 10:30 am

This car looks waaaay much cooler than the regular boxy AhBeng styled Ahpak and Vefailer. (with the ugly bumpers, chromes and skirtings). Sturdy ride, handling, proprotionate body, powerful engine and comfortable. IMO it is a strong candidate for the car of the year or two, already receiving accolades Globally and in EU, US and Oceania.

Sorry Jap boxy cars, you look very cartoon.
    These days when you go out on the street, every few seconds you will see AhPak and Vefailer, too common and it ain’t luxury at all. Just over rated. Most ppl buy these 2 because of FOMO and/or to feed ego. No offence. I am driving one of these models 2018 made (inherited from someone). I plan to sell it off and get this marvellous GUV. Before anyone comment of resale value, bear in mind it is an old mindset from the 90s, and might as well don’t get any car. Go invest in stocks and properties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • BenLee on Jun 25, 2022 at 7:57 pm

Good job KIA. These are the configurations that many asking for.

• I gonna book 3 biji. Difernet colors

• intermilan on Jun 26, 2022 at 11:48 pm

The high-spec eight-seater is estimated to cost around RM250K. Just RM10k less than high-spec seven-seater with captain seats and full leather as well.

As a high-spec and given the estimated price, the eight-seater should really come with leather seats, not leatherette (fake leather). This info is as per listing published by the Kia dealer.

Both high-spec variants should be with leather seats lah. Consistent.

Rather, they should dropped the double sun roofs.
    It’s just a waste of money. Too costly for nothing much in return. Malaysia so hot and bright already. We need not a sunroof or 2 for that matter.

Or if possible, maybe replace it with other much more interesting options that is possible e.g. 2x multimedia touch screen for 2nd row seats.

• Mr. Sotong on Jun 27, 2022 at 9:22 am

Save the cows!

• KN why oh why I was really thinking of getting the 8 seater but when I heard they gonna give leatherette seats my heart sank.

• SmartConsumer on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:28 am

196k?? dulu kia carnival or naza ria was selling at 90k brand new. I guess the inflation is south korea is very bad. Any ally of the USA are all facing similar issues. Better buy local, chinese or Russian cars. Guarantee cheaper since their economy is not influenced so much by western financial system. In fact many things are cheaper in Russia and China before the Ukraine conflict. In Germany, everyday goods has gone up at least 50% contrary to their reported inflation figure. A block of butter used to cost 1.79 Euros. Now its 4.29 euros in Germany… Stay away from German cars. I bet they will cut cost and use cheap materials to keep the price competitive..

• Truth Seeker on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:30 am

Better wait for proton MPV by Geely. Gonna be cheaper and better

• intermilan on Jun 28, 2022 at 12:49 pm

What Proton MPV?

Jiaji aka Proton V70 have long been scrapped and will be replaced by 7-seater SUV, the upcoming X90. they say it’s a 7-seater but in reality more like 5+2 only.
      So no more Proton MPV, except of course the old faithful Exora which isn’t in the same class (dimension etc.) as the Carnival.

p/s: You know how long people waited for Jiaji-based Proton MPV before been informed ‘informally’ that Proton had decided to scrap the plan (and switch to X90)?

• Loo Han Ching on Jun 29, 2022 at 2:21 pm

Got mani will bai..