2022 Kia EV6 GT-Line AWD in Malaysia – EV with 77.4 kWh battery, 506 km range, 325 PS AWD, fr RM301k

Dinamikjaya Motors, a subsidiary of Bermaz Auto (BAuto) and the official distributor of Kia vehicles in Malaysia, today launched the Kia EV6. The electric vehicle (EV), which first made its global debut last year, is being offered in a sole GT-Line AWD variant that comes fully imported (CBU) from South Korea.

Built on the same Electric-Global Modular Platform (E-GMP) architecture also used by the Hyundai Ioniq 5, the EV6 is actually sized differently than its close cousin, measuring in at 4,695 mm long, 1,890 mm wide, 1,550 mm tall and with a wheelbase of 2,900 mm. As for the Ioniq 5, it is 4,635 mm long, 1,890 mm wide, 1,605 mm tall and its wheelbase spans 3,000 mm.

For our market, the EV6 is specified with the Long Range AWD powertrain. As such, it is equipped with a water-cooled 77.4-kWh lithium-ion battery that provides up to 506 km of range following the WLTP standard. The battery powers a pair of electric motors, with the one at the rear being rated at 224 PS (221 hp or 165 kW) and 350 Nm, while the front unit delivers 101 PS (99 hp or 74 kW) and 255 Nm of torque. Together, the e-motors provide all-wheel drive and a total system output of 325 PS (321 hp or 239 kW) and 605 Nm of torque, which is good for a 0-100 km/h time of 5.2 seconds and a top speed of 183 km/h.

Thanks to the E-GMP platform, the EV6 features a multi-charging system that is compatible with both 400-volt and 800-volt DC fast chargers without the need for any special adapter or additional on-board charger. The maximum DC power input (CCS2 connection) supported is 350 kW, which gets the battery from a 10-80% state of charge (SoC) in just 18 minutes.

As 800-volt DC chargers are uncommon, when the car is plugged into a more mainstream 400-volt charger, the inverter performs a boost conversion of the incoming power to 800 volts before sending it to the battery. With a 50-kW DC input, it’ll take 73 minutes for the battery to go from a 10-80% SoC.

There’s also AC charging support (Type 2 connection) up to 11 kW (operates on 240 volts), and a charger capable of outputting that amount of power will fully charge the battery from 10-100% in seven hours and 20 minutes. Every EV6 will only come with a basic three-pin to Type 2 AC charging cable to plug into a domestic power socket, but you’ll be waiting a long time to juice up the battery this way, 32 hours and 45 minutes to be exact. You’ll need to find your own Type 2 to Type 2 charging cable.

While the rudimentary AC charging cable is included, a wallbox is not. Instead, Dinamikjaya Motors says it will provide customers with a list of wallboxes that are readily available in the market and advise them on which brand and model best suits their needs, limited of course by their type of residence and electrical infrastructure.

For public charging, customers will have access to a DC charger that will be set up at Kia’s new flagship dealership in Glenmarie, albeit pay to use. Additionally, the company will work with existing charging network operators in Malaysia to widen charging accessibility for its EV6 customers.

In terms of equipment, the GT-Line appearance package is identified by body-coloured wheel arch cladding, a more aggressive front apron and gloss black accents. The rear apron is also different from the regular Wind exterior, as the black trim is recessed at the corners for the reflectors, accompanied by dashed pins that integrate the reverse light.

Other items on the kit list include LED projector headlamps, DRLs, taillights and rear fog lamps, while the wheels are 20 inches in size and fitted with 225/45 profile Continental PremiumContact 6 tyres specifically developed for EVs. You also get retractable door handles that are flush with the car’s body when locked, a powered sunroof, a powered tailgate with hands-free operation, front and rear parking sensors, keyless entry and start as well as remote start.

Inside, the EV6 features black suede upholstery with white leatherette accents. Imitation leather is also used for the steering wheel and door panels, which are accompanied by GT-Line interior trim, silver door handles and a metal accelerator pedal. For comfort, there’s a dual-zone climate control system with rear vents, while interior charging of devices is handled by no less than two 12-volt power sockets, four USB-C ports and a Qi wireless charger.

No shortage of tech either, there are a two 12.3-inch displays on the dashboard, with one serving as the digital instrument cluster. Meanwhile, the other is a touchscreen for the infotainment system that supports both Android Auto and Apple CarPlay and is paired with a 14-speaker sound system developed by Meridian.

For party tricks, the EV6 comes with Remote Smart Parking Assist (RSPA) which allows you to remotely move the vehicle forwards or backwards using just the key fob. This should be helpful if you’re trying to park in a very tight spot and worry you won’t be able to open doors to get out.

Additionally, the system is also capable of semi-autonomous parking when an appropriate parking space is detected (perpendicular or parallel). Drivers will be able to choose if they want to be inside the car during the self-park process or outside and using the key fob – both options will still require a physical input (pressing a button) from the vehicle owner as the process is carried out.

The EV6 also includes an integrated charging control unit (ICCU) charging system that enables bi-directional charging, also known as Vehicle-to-Load (V2L) support. This means the EV’s battery can double as a high-capacity external power bank, supplying up to 3.6 kW to power most electronic accessories.

Another fancy bit of kit are the powered front seats that come with a one-touch recline function (Kia calls this Premium Relaxation) on top of functions like lumbar adjustment, ventilation and memory for the driver’s seat. The rear seats are less fancy as they are just 60:40 split-folding and don’t slide like they do in the Ioniq 5. When folded down, the boot space is expanded to 1,300 litres from the default 520 litres when they are up. On that mention, the EV6 comes with a front trunk (frunk) that offers an additional 20 litres of storage space.

Moving on to safety and driver assistance systems, seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver’s knee) are standard along with the usual array of passive systems like ESC, ABS, EBD, brake assist, traction control, hill start assist, brake auto hold (works with the electronic parking brake), front and rear seat belt warning, rear occupant alert, a 360-degree camera and ISOFIX child seat anchors.

As for the active systems, the EV6 comes with High Beam Assist, Blind-Spot Collision-Avoidance Assist, Rear Cross-Traffic Collision-Avoidance Assist, a Blind-Spot View Monitor that also enables Safe Exit Assist, Lane Keeping Assist, Driver Attention Warning and Forward Collision-Avoidance Assist with junction turning monitoring. You’ll get some semi-autonomous driving features too, namely Smart Cruise Control (SCC) with stop & go support as well as Lane Following Assist (LFA).

The EV6 is offered in five colours, namely Moonscape (a kind of matte grey), Snow White Pearl, Aurora Black Pearl, Runway Red and Yacht Blue. A five-year, 150,000-km vehicle warranty comes standard, and the battery is covered for up to seven years or 150,000 km, whichever comes first – the latter is two years more than the global standard warranty for the battery.

Dinamikjaya Motors notes it will expand its EV service network over time, but in the start-up phase, EV6 owners can get their vehicles serviced at the Bermaz EV Centre of Excellence in Glenmarie, while the northern (Penang) and southern (Johor Bahru) regions will each have their own EV service outlet. In other major cities and towns, a dealer network of mobile teams will provide 24 hours roadside assistance to customers.

Finally, let’s talk pricing. The EV6 GT-Line AWD retails for RM300,668 on-the-road without insurance, with current EV incentives and sales tax factored in – V-Zion tinting film is included too. It should be noted that the first batch of cars, which we were previously told totalled just five units, have all been accounted for.

Customer deliveries are expected to take place from the third quarter of this year, assuming there are no production delays at Kia’s AutoLand plant in Hwaseong where the EV6 is produced. Don’t expect the EV6 to be cheaper by becoming a locally-assembled (CKD) model anytime soon, as we’re told there are no such plans for the Inokom plant for now.

There’s no denying the EV6 costs more than the Ioniq 5, which tops out at RM269,888 for the highest Max variant (including the optional RM10,000 extended warranty and service package). Then again, the Kia EV does come with some features the Ioniq 5 Max doesn’t, including the fancy remote parking system, more speakers (Meridian 14-speaker system vs Bose 8-speaker), a sunroof (though it does lose out on the Hyundai’s solar roof).

The Ioniq 5 Max’s AWD powertrain also has marginally less power by comparison at 305 PS (302 hp or 225 kW) and 605 Nm, while also being equipped with a smaller battery (72.6 kWh) battery that delivers comparably less range (430 km).

So, what are your thoughts on the Kia EV6? Do the specifications and available equipment justify its asking price, or are there other options that you’re interested in? Let us know in the comments below.

GALLERY: Kia EV6 GT-Line official photos

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• dellen on Jun 24, 2022 at 8:15 pm

at this point, i5 or ev6, it doesnt matter really, see which one got stock first

• Korean Fan on Jun 24, 2022 at 11:22 pm

superb korea car.. this greatest neighbor of cina,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • History Bender on Jun 25, 2022 at 11:19 am

South Korea is far from neighbour of CHina, u forgot they have nation in between them?

• SmartConsumer on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:16 am

r u bodo?? go look at the map. Its just right there next to china. You can even swim over if you want to

• Avenger on Jun 28, 2022 at 9:16 am

Pinoy is also 1 sea away from Sabah but you wouldn’t want to swim there do you? Don’t be stupid.

• anonymous on Jun 24, 2022 at 8:43 pm

it’s insane to me that pricing of kias in malaysia have reached mercedes, bmw, volvo territory. what’s even more insane is that people still buy these cars. i get that it’s an EV but come on, these prices are getting out of hand. and so long as malaysians keep buying these cars, car manufacturers here are going to take advantage of us and keep pricing their cars higher and higher for each iteration/new launch. and before anyone says “but it’s still cheaper after converting xxxx and xxxx currencies,” ask yourself, do you also convert salaries? yes or no? the salaries of malaysians to the price of literally anything in malaysia simply does not make sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 22
    • Raja Kamarul on Jun 25, 2022 at 9:31 am

Note that the Germans and Swedes you mention here are built in Malaysia, mostly. This KEV6 is made in Korea.

On your point on price, note that in the UK, the top spec EV6 is £60k. But more importantly, why can’t a Kia be RM300k? Saying that is like joining the bandwagon of people saying that PROTON cars must be cheap for the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
      • Typical Malaysian on Jun 25, 2022 at 2:07 pm

Back in 2000, Proton Waja used to beat the equivalent Kia Spectra to a pulp.. but typical local pipu attitude Makan tido, makan tido. Now proton is lagging, and lost even to the mediocre Vietnam cars. P1 memalukan Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
        • Make Malaysia Great Again on Jun 26, 2022 at 12:22 pm

Stupid comparison. Since 2000s how much money did KIA plow into their R&D and product development and design vs Malaysian cheapskate attitude towards Proton. Whenever they want to invest more money for development, cheapskate Malaysians complain about wasting taxpayer money lah, as if their taxpayer money is so goddamn big compared to how much Koreans paid in taxes. Pirahlah! It is not Proton that malukan Malaysia but cheapskate taxpayers that memalukan Malaysia. We need to spend money to make money and Make Malaysia Great Again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • policeman on Jun 27, 2022 at 12:20 pm

Koreans are definitely smarter clan of pipu compared to our own much less brainy, teh tarik 7x sehari local self proclaimed earth beings here.

• Optimus on Jun 27, 2022 at 6:28 pm

If your not earth beings then what are you, aliens?

• History Bender on Jun 25, 2022 at 11:20 am

Which is why Kia are rarer than Lambos here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • hahaz on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:42 am

Kia certainly outsells lambo today. go see the carnival. overwhelming response.

• you set target super low, of course sold out and cheated overwhelming response. Compares the actual sales globally, see whether Karnival sold better or alphad, velfire.

• why the double standards? if Kia can make cars better than the german makers, why should they priced their car cheaper? more importantly, if people are buying, what’s wrong with selling it?

On a side note, if you have driven the hyundai ioniq, you will know its far superior to many of latest german cars and a huge bargain for its price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • look at Kia stinger. Even europe car reviewers said that it is equally good with 5 series n E class but whst happened to Stinger? Stop production! While E clss n 5 series still selling like hot cake! Brand is very important. That’s the reason businesses keep building their brand name. Yo said this because you do not have that much of money, when you have, there must be many other factors come in and you will not buy this car at the end, unless you are so rich to buy a few luxury cars at the same toy. Like Sultan Johor can just buy it as toy and throw a side if don’t like it after that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • SmartConsumer on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:20 am

Nothing wrong with asking same price as german company. The issue is at the current economy, this price range will flop. Everyone will be waiting for the affordable EV from China. BYD has just entered Australia and its selling like hot cakes. sold out for 2022. Coming to south east asia soon

• clever anonymous on Jun 25, 2022 at 1:37 pm

your logic is just based on brands 100%. so any kia model should be priced rm200k even if it’s just tin kosong & very tiny A segment car? Well, car buyers nowadays are not stupid like you. by your logic, I’m sure if you’re given choice to buy either bmw kereta sorong or kia ev6 (both priced @rm300k), you will go for that kereta sorong right? coz it’s the brand that matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • mouth said useless. So many civic die hard fans said that tyre R so good but at the end, can u see on the road? The die hard fans will definitely buy B when they have rm300k budget. You can said so loud because you have no money to buy. Otherwise, you think those business owners are all dumb to spend so much money for branding? No point to argue, salea figures tell you everything. But later, Kia will tell you all sold out. Easy, just bring in 5 units, definitely can be sold out.
        For rm301k, no much different for me to get 530e. You dare to say 530e is tin kosong? ha!
        I never said this is not a good car. Many people buy Myvi. It does not mean it is a good car but it prices at the right place to get sales. Doing business, sales is the most important, not earning name with supoorters lije you, just praise but never buy.

• So, just stick to praising.

Also, the 530e feels kosong. lol.

• pity of you, can not even afford a car that considered tin kosong for you. What car can you buy? Or what you yiu want to buy and not tin kosong for you? Must be a car that much better!

• Kariayam on Jun 25, 2022 at 2:36 pm

I would much rather buy a 300k full spec kia/hyundai than a Milo tin kosong base model 2/3 series with no basic features like adaptive cruise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • SmartConsumer on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:23 am

You are kind of right. With the crazy high manufacturing cost in Europe especially Germany now, their cars will be made with really low quality to keep their selling price competitive. Only stupid consumers will buy german cars in this era where western economy is collapsing. Going east is the safest bet.

• AL,Victorian on Jun 26, 2022 at 9:00 pm

People are buying KIAs here,mainly due to the regime change to Mazda bosses.
      I was amazed at one of the service centres that was packed,even older Nazaria and Citras were there.
      The public perceived the after sales support has greatly improved,thats why inspite of insane pricing,Kimchi hardcore fans are willing to buy.
      Give them sometime,KIA will overtake HYundai Sime Darby very soon.

• AppleTree on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:10 am

Yang tak dikenali,

Korean cars had moved up a ladder to be closer to premium but not luxury. Specs to specs, value to value comparisons, these Koreans are giving a much more specs and value compare to the Germans.

So it is either you buy a car because of the badge (the badge gives value to the owner) or because the technology and values that the car brings to the owner.

Let those who knows how to appreciate brands go for German’s made and those who knows about technical specs go for the Koreans. As long as the buyers are happy, all is good.

• zeer. on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:41 am

Whats even even more insane is ppl talking about it like you have. the EV duties and roadtax are exempt bro. Blame the system n policies. not the suppliers.

• cerealoatmeals on Oct 01, 2022 at 12:38 pm

haha.. 1st of all, did you try out the KEV6? did you even touch and feel it? did you drive it on urself? did you know the spec (800v fast charge, Tesla not even have these fastcharge)? literally you are just blindly follow these ur so called lux brand laa..

• cerealoatmeals on Oct 01, 2022 at 1:03 pm

just admit u are just cheapskate laa..
      1. if you don’t see the value of this car why you bother their selling price??
      2. if you love their car, and wanted to buy it but why you complaint??
      3. the only reason i see why u come and bark here is because you want to buy it buy you cant afford the price ( pitty you )

i see the love and hate relationship here

• Ramesh on Jun 24, 2022 at 9:02 pm

Beautiful 255/45R20
    RM5000++ each set of rubbers

At this heavy weight, no compromised of good rubbers.
    dont use a sandal grade, use proper sport shoes grade.

• Regardless of the car, no one should use compromised rubbers. Especially during raining season. it’s a danger to other road users.

• Rm301k? Foresee same ending with Kia Stinger. Who dare to say Stinger not a good car? But it has wrong identity with Kia on its body!

• it outperforms the Stinger in everyway. this is a bargain compared to Stinger.

• Boleh- keh ? on Jun 25, 2022 at 6:50 am

This thing cost more than the new C200, what potential buyers are they targeting? interesting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Ruslan Bahari on Jun 25, 2022 at 9:32 am

Not you for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • ya ke? on Jun 25, 2022 at 12:53 pm

its 2022 already, bmw and merc lose their magics

• is the c200 more comfortable, more refined, quieter, faster, more spacious, more features and more reliable? If no then what does this tell you about the C200 pricing.

• malaysian on Aug 14, 2022 at 10:31 pm

really ? c200?
      just an entry level merc , especially for property agent , insurance agent etc

• this dimanikjaya is really making bold and daring moves by bringing in the Kias with price range higher than toyota and VW.
    we call this plain stupid.

• Bieight8 on Jun 25, 2022 at 10:07 am

For 300k better buy BMW 330i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • No..for 300k..better buy 6 myvi

No..for 300k..better buy 2 civic

No……..

• Benz vs. Kia: Budak Std 1 pun tahu mana lebih bagus on Jun 25, 2022 at 11:04 am

https://paultan.org/2022/06/24/2022-mercedes-benz-eqa250-amg-line-in-malaysia-gallery/

Only some1 who does not know how to count will buy this “inferior” KIA. It makes no sense when Benz EQA is selling below RM 280K. Both also CBU Cars. And shipping a car all the way from Germany is much higher than “nearby” Korea.

In Malaysia its still brand perception that counts. Even though KIA has longer driving range, it wont be any advantage at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • db10s on Jun 25, 2022 at 2:31 pm

The KIA isn’t really inferior. It has 2 electric motors compared to the Merc single motor. More importantly it has better charging capabilities making it slightly more future proof.

IMO the merc is overpriced as it’s a single motor EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • OP Chong on Jun 25, 2022 at 8:15 pm

The EQA you are waxing lyrical about, doesn’t even come with a 360° camera. At that price.

• Benz low class vs Kia high class std 1 pun tahu duit patut beli yang mana on Aug 14, 2022 at 10:35 pm

benz eqa = beli sayur car
      0-100km 8.9sec , top speed 160km/h
      come on , ask me to buy one car that i feel talak muka when my car no power + top speed 160km

• WooGoo on Jun 25, 2022 at 2:03 pm

It would be good that Paultan in future tells us about the actual roadtax of EVs after the no road tax period. Road taxes for powerful EVs are extremely expensive!!

• Yea, thanks to the system. Fix the system, and you fix the problem naturally.

• Syima on Jun 26, 2022 at 1:03 am

Tergelak sy

• tak payah isi minyak forever at least. tapi berapa kerajaan rasuah ni hentam kat ev charging plak. nanti letrek tariff going up still kena hentam.

• Casual reader on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:03 am

Build ur own solar / wind turbine farm and harvest renewable power forever then u no need worry about kena hentam

• -There’s also AC charging support (Type 2 connection) up to 11 kW (operates on 240 volts)-

Pretty sure the 11kW is based on 16A, 400-415V 3 phase

The maximum single phase = 7.6 kW (~230-240V & 32A)

• Thomas on Jun 27, 2022 at 4:15 pm

Volvo Xc 40 Recharge pure electric is MYR278k
    Has dual motors that sprints the car to 100km/h in 4.9 secs

Though range is about 100km shorter
    It is slightly cheaper and accelerates faster than this EV6

so why buy this and not wait for XC 40 to restock ,or maybe the Volvo C 40 will be coming soon ?

The BMW i4 edrive 40 is about 70 to 80K more expensive but at least it’s range is about 80km more

There have been many complaints on the net about EV6
    Most of them will probably be benign to us in South East Asia because most of those complaints were about heating pumps
    but
    it does affects the confidence on buying the car , does it not ?

If you buy this car because it has won many car awards , then good luck .

• BMW iX3 only rm319k, much better thsn this awful looking car. Many people does not know car, just because it has be choose for the reward, then you support it. I supoort peugeot and this brand also win many award, will these supporters support Peugeot too?

Second, they keep dreaming that Kia under Bermaz will be improved a lot with after sales service. Just too naive. The people working in workshop still same group of typical Malaysia culture. Furthermore, the car itself, mean Kia, also come with problems.

• DB10s on Jun 30, 2022 at 9:39 am

I’d wait for the C40 tbh. These ICE cars converted to EVs don’t have the best handling from what I’ve seen. Judging from the owner reviews, the XC40 recharge and IX3 suspension isn’t the greatest due to the added weight.

Would prefer a ground up EV if i’d ever get one.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 27, 2022 at 9:23 pm

nice but 300k is a lot of money

• Lawrence on Aug 09, 2022 at 2:12 am

Nice car~ Looking forward to it. The review from the west and Europe high praise this car too. But as usual. typical Malaysian cannot see kimchi car more than Rm200k
    They will say buy BM or Mercz but they spec and feat they get it’s like base model with nothing. Just the brand to hook some chick into their car~

• Lopez on Sep 08, 2023 at 6:28 pm

but still expensive for battery are known for dying after few years ownership like mobile phone,petrol engine just do repair,people have no idea about huge money loss