No, the Enhanced TnG card doesn’t charge your eWallet or card balance depending on side used

A post has been going around on Facebook claiming that users need to be aware of which side of the new Enhanced Touch ‘n Go card they tap on TnG readers.

According to the post, if you tap the back of the card on the reader, it takes money from the in-card balance, and if you tap the front of the card on the reader, it takes money from your eWallet.

This is simply not true, as the NXP Mifare technology that the TnG card uses does not have the ability to identify the ‘side’ that is being used.

When your card comes into proximity with a TnG card reader, communication is via radio waves, specifically 13.56 MHz. There is nothing built into the system that allows the TnG card reader to identify which side of the card is facing it.

Allowing the TnG system to charge the transaction to your eWallet balance instead of the card’s stored value balance is a system called TnG PayDirect. It is available at some tolls and parking lots, but not all TnG readers support PayDirect.

This might explain why sometimes transactions take from your eWallet balance and sometimes from your card’s balance. In addition, if you are making a PayDirect transaction with insufficient eWallet balance, the fare be deducted from the card’s balance.

Since PayDirect eWallet transactions are ‘online’ in a way, there could be situations where the PayDirect system might be down for a particular reader, which could explain why transactions that should by right reduce the eWallet balance end up taking from the card balance instead. But that’s nothing to do with the side of the card you use.

So yes, you don’t have to be mindful of which side of the Enhanced TnG card you use to tap the TnG reader. Any side will do.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Uncle roger on Jul 28, 2022 at 12:22 am

Gosh…she must be smoking weeds

• Drama queen giler…tap front deduct one acct, tap behind deduct different account. You think tng so free to design this into the card. What a misinformation spreader…some people should just stop using Internet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • ni contoh genuine palatao.

• Ben Yap on Jul 28, 2022 at 9:59 am

aiyo this aunty a lot of drama. it is good to be smart but not good to act smart. if not so smart, just keep quiet is better than creating havoc.

• Samurai on Jul 28, 2022 at 12:10 pm

Tap front tap behind….if gosok, who knows, get 2.6 billion. Seriously, she just made herself look stupid.

• Dont even care if what she is saying is true. Better actually, means i dont have to reload the card everytime. Already used the auto reload function actually. The only problem is the availability of the eTnG card. Its like TnG purposely under supply the card for other A$$holes reselling it at exorbitant price.

• Matchy on Jul 29, 2022 at 9:44 am

The “techie” in you that like spreading fake news!

And I never heard of the “msecure6” password manager (pretty sure not a well known password manager)… I wonder if this post is to promote it.

• FacePalm on Jul 29, 2022 at 9:45 am

How this person came out with this ridiculous conclusion is beyond me. Tak tahu tolong call TnG don’t pandai pandai assume things and talk nonsense in the social media.

• Nabehbubu on Jul 29, 2022 at 10:49 am

Tap middle thickness card. No need pay ..rofl

• Slumber on Jul 29, 2022 at 3:21 pm

What’s the point doing these kind of news coverage? I mean the enhanced TnG card is still always out-of-stock on the App itself and people who has it is selling it at ridiculous inflated price.

• Ahboii on Jul 30, 2022 at 5:05 pm

Maybe she should try her credit or debit card. Might able to steal money eh. Dumbest thing of 2022 front n back tap, msia so canggih meh even HK and Taiwan with their own travel card also not having such imba function eh.. she turned off comment section summore, it’s totally misleading…