Proton S50 seen again – new Proton sedan soon?

It appears that development work for an upcoming Proton sedan model is ongoing, as suggested by a camouflaged unit undergoing road tests in these images provided by paultan.org reader Muhammad Bin Md. Yazed.

Widely tipped to be called the Proton S50, the ‘B 4155 A’ trade plate attached to this particular test car has been spotted on past test cars by the national carmaker on models such as the Ertiga and X70, and the sedan itself has been seen with this trade plate back in July.

Given its Geely Emgrand underpinnings, the forthcoming Proton S50 will be positioned above the B-segment Persona, and thus likely to be the oft-reported successor to the discontinued Preve.

The Proton S50 was previously sighted road-testing last month (right) – click to enlarge

Compared to the Preve, the Geely Emgrand is a larger car, the latter measuring 4,638 mm long, 1,820 mm wide and 1,460 mm tall, or 95 mm longer and 34 mm wider than the Preve. Wheelbase however is identical between the two, at 2,650 mm.

In terms of engines, the Emgrand that forms the basis of the future S50 is on sale in China with a 1.5 litre naturally aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that makes 114 PS and 147 Nm of torque, paired to either a five-speed manual or a CVT driving the front wheels. The Emgrand for the Philippines gets a slightly detuned unit, making 102 PS and 142 Nm.

Being built on the same B-segment Modular Architecture (BMA) platform as the Proton X50 means that this sedan could similarly use the 1.5 litre three-cylinder turbocharged engine in the SUV, which outputs up to 177 PS and 255 Nm in top Flagship guise.

How close to market readiness is this Proton S50? We will have to wait to hear from the national carmaker for a more definitive picture of the upcoming sedan.

GALLERY: 2022 Geely Emgrand (Philippines market)

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 22, 2022 at 3:34 pm

Will there be enough spare parts at the service centers to ensure that this car can be on the road ASAP in the event of a major service? Or will it be “conti standard” where cars stuck in the service center for a month or more is the norm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • newme on Aug 22, 2022 at 5:35 pm

They bite off more that they can chew. With so many models and variants, it’s not a surprise an incompetent company like Proton is having so much problem with parts. I have been saying this every time they launch new variant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Dah Menang Semua on Aug 22, 2022 at 10:14 pm

Good luck to be another >80km/h
        terrible wind-turbulence at A-pillar
        Give U turbo also useless
        Better louder speakers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 23, 2022 at 4:04 pm

Nothing is secret nowadays. You can already watch test-drive reviews of the Geely Emgrand from China, Philippines.

The turbulence was all due to bad structural design. X50 and Emgrand got large-flat windscreen and sharp A-pillars and blocked by the large wing-mirrors. So can expect pockets of tiny “tornado” spinning out the canals and whispering around the front doors’ window which also another flat-vertical design…

• Benda boleh jual mahal, buat apa jual murah.

#since1985
            #scamselagiboleh

• Pay What U Get Loh on Aug 25, 2022 at 7:24 am

Buyers only care about LOOK COOL. No one would know the problems until WHITE RATS started to share. This typically engineering cost cutting taken out of what-you-cannot-see to fuel marketing boast on BMA, TURBO, QUAD EXHAUST, SUNROOF etc.

• oldyou on Aug 23, 2022 at 8:17 am

Well, good for you but it’s a waste since nobody cares what you said. Find a bigger platform or be a significant person to make them hear you, like owning 80-90% share of Proton. Go on then.

• If all auto parts are 100% locally produced then there will be no parts supply problem.

• Norlia on Aug 23, 2022 at 1:25 am

Habeslah Alza!

• Sick & Tired on Aug 22, 2022 at 3:46 pm

The 2021 Geely Emgrand is priced from CNY 69,900 (~RM 45k) for the base five-speed manual variant, topping out at CNY 88,900 (~RM 58k) for the range-topping variant

Good Persona Replacement car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Bob Mal on Aug 22, 2022 at 4:47 pm

The x50 is also priced at RM50k in China pricing so maybe add additional RM35k onwards when it reaches Malaysia and even with the addition, it is still lower than their Japanese counterparts so it is jobs done just like all their China rebadge cars sold here.

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 22, 2022 at 10:17 pm

Proton ain’t going to sell it cheap
        X50 jacked 10K closing to HRV
        The hike much more than X70
        Proton used SST for mark-up

• Why should they sell cheap, this is business after all.
          If Proton can sell 100k cars at RM 80k each why would they want to sell 100k cars at RM 50k?

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 24, 2022 at 9:27 am

75K = 1.5NA Premium in Philippines
            85K = 1.5t Emgrand Flagship here
            Under-cut the market of Vios /City

• Lets See on Aug 23, 2022 at 11:24 am

Like any business who wants to remain profitable, they’ll produce a product that sells…

• We need better products on Aug 22, 2022 at 4:58 pm

I agree with this being a successor to Persona.
      Let the current 20 year-old Saga platform retire for good and may the future Saga be utilising the Iriz/Persona platform.

• James on Aug 22, 2022 at 5:45 pm

Nope, as seen from x50 and x70 they are basically binyue and boyue same number different currency. Go check if don’t believe. No way they can sell this for less than 70-90k. It will be same as Honda City/Toyota Vios, more expensive than even Preve and Suprima S.

Geely don’t have anything for Proton Saga and Persona replacement, which is sad because the whole point of national car was to have something in the 40-60k range, cheap family car.

• What you expect? Later they said, x suka boleh keluar Malaysia. Hahahaha… Kena scam.

#since1985

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 23, 2022 at 12:48 pm

Trims kaseh utk keta mampu milik #since1985
        Tengkiu #BetterNation

• Sigh... on Aug 26, 2022 at 10:33 pm

Acik mu. Handicap match dude. Pay hefty price for mere spec car. Are you insane? Don’t you know the actual price on mainland?

Instead you ultras jilat them like no tomorrow?

Seriously you are just like Lebai Malang, bersorak kosong and jaguh kampung.

Still gonna say for our children’s children?

• Hong Yee Hong on Aug 22, 2022 at 4:50 pm

The Gen-2 beside it looks wider. Just wanna say what I notice. Nothing much.

• Norlia on Aug 23, 2022 at 1:29 am

Just a trick of your eye. S50 is 1,820 mm wide while Gen2 is 1,725mm or nearly 100mm narrower than this new car.

• Mesti mahal

• Norlia on Aug 23, 2022 at 1:30 am

Depends on your budget. Kalau xmampu, semua pun akan nampak mahal.

• Alasan? on Aug 26, 2022 at 10:38 pm

Masalahnya di negara asal murah. Then dtg M’sia jd mhl? Alasan sana market besar la, saingan byk etc.

Dah tahu, knp ditubuhkan? Better tutup kedai. X guna jika berlawan secara HANDICAP, lepas tu acah2 hebat sekadar jaguh kampung (sbb no choice) utk scam rakyat.

Tgk balik brp harga kereta sblm P1 & P2 wujud syg oiii.

P/s : Jgn jd penjilat tegar.

• brochure on Aug 22, 2022 at 5:47 pm

1.5 NA Standard – ESC, 6 airbags RM 64,800
    1.5T PFI Executive – 360 camera RM69,800
    1.5T PFI Premium – blind spot monitor RM 74,800
    1.5T GDi Flagship – sunroof, ADAS RM 79,800

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • I have hope proton can do some bumper change at least. Perodua even have different face alza compared to its siblings but Proton takes rebadge too literally. I don’t mind rebadge but excite me with something fresh.

• “… Proton takes rebadge too literally ..” ?? What??? You mean if you put X70 or X50 side by side with their siblings, you’ll see the exact same design? Are you sure?

• Lets See on Aug 23, 2022 at 11:11 am

Too literally? Do you need spectacles or contacts? Lets play a game of spot the literal here:
      https://paultan.org/image/2018/11/Binyue-Interior-01-850×566.jpg
      https://paultan.org/image/2020/10/Proton_X50_Flagship_Malaysia_Int-2-850×567.jpg

• Paddle shifter invisible for M’sia spec. Just like our tunnel and LCS, nice.

• Lets See on Aug 23, 2022 at 11:22 am

Since you are so certain there is difference with Alza, as an added bonus lets play spot the difference:
      https://paultan.org/image/2021/11/2022-Toyota-Avanza-Indonesia-launch-11.jpg

https://paultan.org/image/2022/07/2022_Perodua_Alza_AV__GearUp_Preview_Malaysia-21-850×567.jpg

• Proton Pump Inhibitor on Aug 22, 2022 at 8:45 pm

I will wait for this car for sure

• SmartConsumer on Aug 23, 2022 at 8:27 am

Ini cantik. If priced well, sure sell like hot cakes

• Expect the price from 79k to 105k territory. Just look on X50 price for your reference.

Proton tagline :

Benda boleh jual mahal, buat apa jual murah.

• Jason Ho Yea on Aug 23, 2022 at 11:03 am

Looking Forward to this Car! At least we have another contender to City and Vios. Terbaik Geely/Proton!.

• Kakakaupunyalaki on Sep 14, 2022 at 6:39 pm

Just use the 1.4 turbo with 131hp/215nm

• Barry on Sep 22, 2022 at 12:50 pm

Give us the 3-pot tgdi or even the mpi, the 7-speed wet dct, and proton ride and handling! I will plonk in 75k any day for it.