PM10 Anwar Ibrahim’s official car is a stretched Proton Perdana when submitting his list of cabinet members

Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said last week that he cancelled an order for a “Mercedes S600” made by the previous administration and would use any vehicle available, including a Toyota Camry with the registration plate WRN 222.

However, while on his way to the National Palace to submit the list of new cabinet members to the Agong on Friday, PM10 rode in a stretched Proton Perdana bearing VED 4008, which is another official vehicle available to him.

This isn’t the first time a Malaysian prime minister has used an elongated Perdana as their official car. Former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak was also seen using the same Perdana limousine, which is based on the facelifted version of the D-segment sedan (itself based on the eighth-generation Honda Accord) released in 2016 that was heavily remodelled.

Previous Proton Perdana Limousine

Before that, PM6 had the pre-facelift Perdana limousine – commonly known as the “Accordana Limo” – that was presented to him in December 2013. That earlier model with the plate number W11N retains the same front and rear ends of the Accord, with only the logo swapped out for Proton’s tiger.

Another version of the “Accordana Limo” was also made for PM4 and PM7 Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, although his was in a different specification that had more luxurious interior. If you’re curious, we previously prepared a post covering the evolution of the Perdana, including the government cars.

All long wheelbase models from Proton like the Limousine, Executive and Chancellor are produced by Automotive Conversion Engineering (ACE), a subsidiary of Edaran Otomobil Nasional (EON) now under Proton Edar.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Roti john on Dec 05, 2022 at 4:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 164
    • Angry Voters on Dec 05, 2022 at 6:00 pm

If oredy got car why need to spend RM 200k to buy need ride? Stop wasting taxpayers monies! We didn’t vote you to eat our hardearned income tax!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
      • BN Cybertroopers Sdn Bhd on Dec 06, 2022 at 8:26 am

Diam lah bodoh! Kite dah bersatu kan dgn PH…. go bash PN instead or you’re fired!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • PapaG on Dec 06, 2022 at 8:44 am

His choice. Bigger car. But wise choice to choose toyota, not spending RM700k to buy mercedes that offered from muhyiddin

• Gomen Jimat Duit on Dec 07, 2022 at 12:30 pm

Kalau tak faham English, blh guna Google translator. Kan dah kata cancel order Mercedes, guna keta yg ada? Use avaliable car = spend RM200k ke? Mmg bod…

• Cleverness on Dec 09, 2022 at 9:14 pm

..(please keep your bodohness elsewhere…)

• Idris Adam on Dec 05, 2022 at 9:11 pm

PM Anwar supports local. All the previous PMs, they always say they support local and are proud of PRoton but they drive Porsche etc.

Syukur we got a humble and hardworking PM. Malaysia will berjaya and become first world with Anwar.

If PN win pilihanraya……they will use expensip Mercedes S600

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
      • Roti john on Dec 06, 2022 at 7:48 am

Not only that, PN will also waste more money to buy Rolls Royce Phantom for john and Rakyat Malaysia, hahaha! Lucky PN kalah teruk, now we have a clean and Game-Changing government caring for the rakyat. Moreover, Rakyat Malaysia hasn’t fulfill his promise yet. Lari bogel mana?

• PN Kalah teruk??? on Dec 07, 2022 at 8:50 am

PN Kalah teruk????check your facts bro…or you mispelled BN???

• The only kalah teruk is PN. Not BN, PH, GPS and others. And you also check on what he said

• Aura89 on Dec 06, 2022 at 7:56 am

Do you hear this sound, PH troller dear? Yeah: it’s the smallest violin in the world singing. For you. Please enjoy :-D

• Idris Adam on Dec 06, 2022 at 10:11 am

Wow, our resident cybertrooper troll got so frustarstd, he went and dislike this comment 127 times repeatedly ha ha ha

my message to this troll, pls stop clogging up thr website. takes a long time to load an article when you repeatedly dislike a comment.

Your masters already kalah teruk and have to cling to others for help after telling them to balik tongsan etc, still no shame

• Truly a people’s Prime Minister to reject the Merc and using local car. Kudos DSAI!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • James Foo on Dec 06, 2022 at 7:39 am

When you have no better ideas….
      Honestly if a car is an economic concern for the country you better resign from your post

• All those 2013 to 2016 Proton Perdanas for sale on the classifieds… you have to question… why aren’t they still being used today.

• tatu880 on Dec 07, 2022 at 9:51 am

Government vehicles are only leased for 3-5 years on average. After that, they are usually sold off by Spanco to the public when new cars are acquired. Thus the public can buy them at cheap prices. Now the top management govt officers are provided with X70 and Camry.

• Probably safer to travel in an AV spec Perodua than a chop and stretched car. Perhaps paultan can highlight some of the safety concerns when stretching a car.

• YB Albert on Dec 05, 2022 at 10:00 pm

May I throw a question to our dear forum readers.
    Would u mind if the PM gets the Merc S600 if he can save Billions of RM through a transparent system of governance?
    Now ,less than a week he already gets preliminary “feedback”there are serious question marks on RM600 Billion spent during MooMOO’S WATCH,5G awards to the Swedish Telco giant etc.
    If he can plug all the billions of Rm in leakages,our new PM deserves a top specs Rolls Royce.
    But meanwhile PM Anwar is willing to be prudent to avoid wastages.An “uncle uncle” Camry is also no problem to him.
    The moral of the story is, “Give credit when it is due”, for good governance and due diligence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Dec 06, 2022 at 5:42 am

As above or is it janji dicapati?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Roti john Reborn on Dec 06, 2022 at 7:51 am

How about you fulfill your promise first, Rakyat Malaysia? Also, RM 1.50/L was never on PH manifesto, enough of your Game Over lies.

• Logical Deduction on Dec 07, 2022 at 9:41 am

Logically deducted:
        If PH mentris are Rakyat Malaysia, then PH mentris must fulfill their promises to give RM 1.50 petrol.
        Otherwise if PH mentris are not Rakyat Malaysia, they should not represent Malaysians and go move back to their countries of origin.

• BN Cybertroopers Sdn Bhd on Dec 06, 2022 at 8:28 am

Stop bashing PH lah, we’re on the same side with them now!! Jgn jadi bodoh brader….