Miros and PLUS looking for Malaysian motorcycle riders to test MCAS collision warning system

After constructing a prototype and conducting early phase testing, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety (MIROS) is ready to perform real world testing of its Motorcycle Collision Avoidance System (MCAS). Jointly developed with highway concessionaire PLUS, public are invited to participate in the MCAS test via this form.

In the interests of research, MIROS has determined certain criteria for participation which requires answering a series of questions such as background, riding habits, views on road safety and others. Going by the questionnaire, MIROS is selecting riders who use a motorcycle for transport on highways on a regular basis for commuting and work in and around the Klang Valley, Kedah and Penang.

A MIROS statement in early 2021 detailed the use of MCAS, saying the system is capable of detecting the vehicles in front and warning riders to avoid collisions even at high speed. While collision avoidance technology is not new – combined with adaptive cruise control and distance keeping, coming standard on the Ducati Multistrada V4, BMW R1250 RT and Yamaha Tracer 9 GT+, MIROS says its system is low cost and easily installed on current motorcycle models.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Safety First on Dec 23, 2022 at 10:29 am

So they want live crash test dummies???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Mei Kong on Dec 23, 2022 at 11:15 am

Dont be stu***. These days everything is AI and ML. They probably want to install the device just to collect data

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • jimmy leen on Dec 23, 2022 at 10:36 am

motorcycle lane splitting is illegal yet always done by bikes. so what ever safety system you have is for show only. siap boleh hon kete kalau masuk lane “dia” (owner of “middle of lanes” is purely bike punya ageong lane).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • Lane splitting is illegal in the US in most states and some counties is legal but have laws. So if Malaysia don’t have laws means is not illegal. Just imagine if bikes can’t lane split our roads will be more congested with all the bikes lining up during traffic jam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Raja Kapoor on Dec 23, 2022 at 1:40 pm

You must be living on a tree. Even UK and other European countries allowed lane splitting but with strict regulation – eg maximum speed is 30km/h. In Malaysia, no such regulation is imposted. If you want to change that, become a member of the parliament lah bro. If not interested, go fly kite and stop whinning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Underexposure on Dec 23, 2022 at 2:33 pm

Yea who cares, lane split all you want, see who laugh at the end.

• Ah Chong on Dec 23, 2022 at 3:20 pm

Or realistically, we can just practice safe lane splitting ourselves even without any law enforcing it.

Something like you can only lane split if the car is driving under 40kmh and you can’t exceed +20kmh than the car.

I actually do that myself, that means I get stuck behind cars going 60kmh while pandas blow pass me at 90kmh easily, but I still do it fory own safety.

This also means I only crawl pass stopped cars at 20kmh, very manageable speed in case someone decided to suddenly open his door for no reason.

• Yusuf on Dec 23, 2022 at 6:16 pm

Oi i bet u that kind of human who dont ride bike right? Ur kid also u ban them from riding bike.

• Lane splitting is not legal in Malaysia. At least get the fact right first before airing your opinion

• make sure you pick a sample from the ‘hardcore’ rempit-style riders as well… because they are the ones that need this MCAS the most!

• Another motorcyclist but a careful one on Dec 23, 2022 at 11:41 am

The best MCAS is to grow some common sense into the numb skulls of em mat rempits

• Two wheels on Dec 23, 2022 at 12:05 pm

Have you seen how fast those rempits weave in traffic? Is the MCAS fast enough to keep up with their skil cilok?

• The asphalt is my bed on Dec 23, 2022 at 12:34 pm

We rempits don’t travel forward. We ride sideways. We even ripped out the lane departure warning system from our cars, if we can afford one

• FireAce on Dec 23, 2022 at 1:23 pm

In the end the data collected will show MCAS “Activated” 99% of the time because the way our motorcyclist ride. Also, high failure rate on the “Beeper” due of overuse or it get damaged intentionally because it’s annoying since it will beep from start to end of every journey.

Mr. Anwar, MIROS is the next to be axed. All these years they did nothing useful and now they do stupid things. A “Warning” system is only useful if users heed the warning, else it’s just “wasting money & songlap” exercise.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 23, 2022 at 2:51 pm

LOL

Why don’t miros just work with manufacturers instead.

The way the title is worded makes it seems they are looking for live crash test dummies.

Pointless anyway, miros barking up the wrong tree. Should lobby to make ABS mandatory….will benefit more. It’s not like the majority of bikers can afford bikes with it factory fitted anyway.

Whatever low cost unit you are building still needs at least a modified/used in conjunction with an ABS system. Talak ABS how to install?

• I am sure PDRM would have a long list of Rempits caught. Use them for the testing. If they make it, good. If they perish, also good.

• Mohd Fazil Mohamad Said on Dec 23, 2022 at 3:53 pm

Im using Tracer 9GT

• Re-inventing… Place super huge budget… Siphon it….

• Lee Kok Siong on Dec 23, 2022 at 9:03 pm

For a starter, MIROS should be smart enough not to call it MCAS, after all, 737 Max crashes were caused by a similarly named system!

• the driver on Dec 26, 2022 at 11:26 am

A significant amount of fatal motorcycle accidents comes from being hit in the rear due to errant lorry and car drivers

• athies on Jan 09, 2023 at 11:57 am

What are the terms and conditions and how to applu?

• athies on Jan 09, 2023 at 11:58 am

should’t other vehicles too have it??