2023 Perodua Axia Style – better looks with SUV cues?

This week has most certainly been all about the 2023 Perodua Axia, and one of the most controversial aspects of the second-generation model is its appearance. I can honestly say that it looks much better in real life, in the flesh than it does in photos but even then, it’s not a car that will be universally liked.

The flat front end, small and boring wheels across the range, understyled rear end make it perhaps Perodua’s most love-it-or-hate-it design yet. Theophilus Chin’s latest renders, however, might suggest that there’s an easy fix for that.

Missing in the latest range is an SUV-inspired Axia Style variant, which was available in the previous 2019 update for the first-gen Axia. These new renders show that a little bit of SUV-ness would go a long way in making the new compact hatchback look a lot more attractive, at least in my opinion.

It doesn’t take much. A set of bash plates front and rear, plastic body cladding all around, bigger and chunkier wheels, roof rails and a two-tone paintjob does the trick. The changes have a significant effect on the overall appearance of the Axia – the front immediately looks more menacing, while the rear even looks fairly fashionable now.

Perhaps Perodua is saving the Style for an upcoming mid-life update, or maybe not at all if it has deemed the outgoing Axia Style a sales failure. Whatever the case, what do you think of this theoretical (see what I did there?) 2023 Perodua Axia Style, folks? Leave your comments below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• newme on Feb 16, 2023 at 9:19 am

This one looks horrible.

• newyou on Feb 16, 2023 at 11:50 am

same like your face?

• newme on Feb 16, 2023 at 5:58 pm

Why so upset? Did you designed it? If you did, you must have a real bad sense of style. Probably not attractive too.

• the sharper eye on Feb 16, 2023 at 10:45 am

this looked better than the P2 actual car.
    I dont like the roof railings tho, almost 90% of people dont use it here.

But i like the 2 tones, especially how it wraps the rear windscreen.

Also pay attention to how Theophilus has cleverly made the entire car more rounded and cute.

• Kajeng on Feb 16, 2023 at 11:06 am

Nice, it’s like Kenari made to Kembara.

But this is more fun now.

• Raja Celup on Feb 16, 2023 at 11:19 am

Iriz rear black panel simply the ugliest and laziest design in automotive history.

Geely should sack the chief designer!

• the iriz was introduce before geely takeover lah stupid.

• Sigh... on Feb 20, 2023 at 11:25 pm

Raja Celup ni isap ape lah ni, bak sikit weh, smpi iriz pnya cerita bwk ke geely.

• newday on Feb 16, 2023 at 11:36 am

it really looks ugly

• Bhaskaran on Feb 16, 2023 at 1:23 pm

Produa new axia car price very expressive model very nice

• Old gen Style variant looks nicer. This looks like a Frankenstein.

• Buruk giler

• Does it matter? on Feb 16, 2023 at 2:53 pm

If they release the Perodua axia Style i hope it used the 1.2 WA-VE engine that produce 88HP with 140NM it would cost like RM51K

• lua sen on Feb 16, 2023 at 4:00 pm

copy n tampal…langsung x kreatif…
    patut la smpi skrg bikin lakaran ss kat sini je…
    lpas ni, tentu die potong rear yaris activ n stick on axia —> bezza 2.0