2023 Honda CR-V spied in Malaysia – C-segment SUV to arrive with VTEC Turbo, hybrid engines?

A blur image of a camouflaged SUV emerges, though this one is just about clear enough to show that it is the 2023 Honda CR-V that has been sighted around Putrajaya in Malaysia. In addition to this sighting, the latest CR-V was also sighted by paultan.org reader jack0 near the Sungai Besi toll plaza this morning, shown in its side profile in the second image below.

Unveiled in July 2022, the sixth-generation CR-V was revealed ahead of its United States market debut as a 2023 model, with a choice of 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo and 2.0 litre hybrid powertrains offered. The petrol-powered 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo mill outputs 193 PS at 6,000 rpm and 243 Nm of torque from 1,700 rpm to 5,000 rpm, sending drive to a continuously variable transmission.

Meanwhile, the 2.0L Atkinson-cycle hybrid four-cylinder with e-CVT is akin to that of the Civic e:HEV and is mated to two electric motors, yielding a total system output of 207 PS and 315 Nm of torque. Its predecessor, the fifth-generation model saw its Malaysian debut in July 2017, followed by its mid-lifecycle facelift arrival in the country in November 2020.

The latest, sixth-generation CR-V is a larger vehicle that the one it succeeds. Measuring 4,694 mm long, 1,864 mm wide and 1,681 mm tall with a wheelbase of 2,700 mm, the new model is 69 mm longer, 10 mm wider and 40 mm longer of wheelbase compared to the fifth-gen CR-V, albeit with the new model 8 mm lower than its predecessor.

2023 Honda CR-V, sixth generation; click to enlarge

Rear seat legroom benefits, with an additional 15 mm, and both turbo and hybrid variants get more cargo room. In front, the sixth-gen CR-V dashboard largely emulates that of the Civic, albeit with a larger centre console that allows the gear lever to be placed side-by-side with the drive mode selector, hill descent control button and electronic parking brake switch.

Available safety kit on the US-market sixth-gen CR-V includes now-standard Blind spot information (BSI), while the existing Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low-Speed Follow and Lane Keeping Assist (LKAS) get more natural responses, says Honda. Additional functions include Traffic Jam Assist, Low-Speed Braking Control and Traffic Sign Recognition.

At present, the fifth-generation CR-V is on sale in Malaysia starting from RM146,900 for the base 2.0L 2WD variant, and the four-variant range is topped by the 1.5L TC-P 4WD at RM171,400, according to the Honda Malaysia website; all prices are on-the-road excluding insurance.

GALLERY: 2023 Honda CR-V, sixth-generation

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• lithium on Feb 27, 2023 at 6:55 pm

ahem – what’s there to hide? its already on sale in other countries. at most – maybe a diff wheel design…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 27, 2023 at 8:03 pm

What VTEC Turbo?
      There is no VTEC inside TURBO
      VTEC is VTEC; TURBO is TURBO
      Direct Injection is Direct Injection..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
      • God please help this guy on Feb 28, 2023 at 8:08 am

Lol…driving a Civic Turbo and don’t know what is Vtec Turbo….dude dont make yourself a clown please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • Dah Menang Semua on Feb 28, 2023 at 4:33 pm

Actually he was right. So-called Vtec turbo is pure Honda’s marketing gimmick. There is no Vtec lift-mechanism per say

• Variable valve timing controls the valves, which are within the engine block directly above the pistons.

Turbo sits outside the engine along the exhaust outlet path.

Direct injection is just the fuel delivery system into the combustion chamber.

Perhaps you should go watch some YouTube to get a better understanding before you run your mouth and prove that you’re just a dweeb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Mr Fakta on Feb 27, 2023 at 9:19 pm

Just a way to let Malaysian feel important, Honda know Malaysian like to syok sendiri

• Honda Malaysia always likes to play these stupid games. Whenever their cars are launched, they have these stupid “secret” preview events that you have to be invited to or sign up for a waiting list for. Then when you’re inside, they don’t let you take pictures or open the bonnet (lolwut??), and cannot test drive. Must wait until the first CKD units roll off the production line only they let you do all of the above.

C’mon, just preface by saying these are preproduction units, what’s so hard about it?

• Henry on Feb 28, 2023 at 12:49 pm

Yalah. It’s been selling in Thailand for so many months. LOL.

• mamba on Feb 27, 2023 at 7:07 pm

If priced below 175k for hybrid, will consider

• I think a more realistic hope is for it to be below 200k for the top spec, considering how the Civic e:HEV is around 165k.

• Another copy design from Honda. Instead of BMW or Audi, this time its Volvo being the victim. Glad that rice elements remains such as those hideous holes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • normal_user on Feb 27, 2023 at 7:54 pm

Sure there will be some who stick Volvo logo or letters at the rear. Looks real.

• McQueen on Feb 27, 2023 at 8:12 pm

Please consider bringing in a 5+2 seater option

• Amelia on Feb 27, 2023 at 8:52 pm

Rm130k you can get more comfy and feel luxury Mazda CX-5 with real 6speed gearbox not the lousy CVT dummy gearbox that made for cheap car version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • GenY AEB on Feb 28, 2023 at 7:16 am

Overpriced already, cx-5 2.0L no ACC
      Very boring for daily highway drive.

• Sohail on Feb 28, 2023 at 11:36 am

CX-5 at Japan is cheaper than Mazda2 @ Malaysia
        starts from 2766500 JPY /RM91k at current rate.

• Nothing special on Feb 27, 2023 at 9:22 pm

Uncomfortable seats, low quality lousy cabin, hard plastics everywhere, farkin loud lazy cvt gearbox, cakap 193ps but feel like 100ps no power at all, paint job like sub rm100k car but H brand fanatics will still buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Hmmmm on Feb 28, 2023 at 7:09 am

Uhhh…ouch…that hurts but at the same time, the truth. Especially the ‘low quality cabin’ and ‘paint job’ part.
      A Perodua badge wont be out of place on any Honda right now. Thats how Honda is or how Perodua had become today.

• likely to hit >200k for top spec

• Bangkok on Feb 28, 2023 at 8:36 am

In few day’s time see u at Bangkok motor show there u touch and see for yourself good or bad

• Aeroheads on Feb 28, 2023 at 8:42 am

If you have to have a hard time to claim your warranty, then go for HONDA. I already gave up on HONDA. Every time you feedback any issue with your car or SUV, the freaking salesman or service guy will say is normal lah… and if is not normal, there will be a memo from top management lah… this kind of ATTITUDE, just piss me off.

• Ben Yap on Feb 28, 2023 at 11:48 am

I never had that experience with Honda. they repaired my car until I’m satisfied and they replaced it with brand new parts. so experience has been good. in fact i owned the Civic FC turbo for 6 years and i don’t have any major issues. the only time i went back was the rattling sound from the door panel and it has been fixed with just a single visit. there is no sound thereafter.

• Talk about airhead on Feb 28, 2023 at 2:23 pm

I know many Honda owners. Some have some issues but nothing that cannot be fixed, just like any other cars.

Maybe your problem is in the mirror… that’s why they say cannot fix.

• Aeroheads on Feb 28, 2023 at 8:43 am

If you want to have a hard time to claim your warranty, then go for HONDA. I already gave up on HONDA. Every time you feedback any issue with your car or SUV, the freaking salesman or service guy will say is normal lah… and if is not normal, there will be a memo from top management lah… this kind of ATTITUDE, just piss me off.

• Ben Yap on Feb 28, 2023 at 8:56 am

the 2.0 hybrid will cost more than RM200k in malaysia.

• Bangkok on Feb 28, 2023 at 10:39 am

Anything that’s complicated to solve will be avoided if they can this is human nature not only this brand unless the technician is your good friend then you can expect some effort in it just ask yourself in your own career

• creeper on Feb 28, 2023 at 11:56 am

Why CRV 2023 first in line 2023 for HM? should it be 2023 Honda BR-V? Or has it shown somewhere else someone spotted camouflage BR-V?

• msia driver on Feb 28, 2023 at 12:33 pm

2.0 hybrid for sure over rm200k++
    1.5T will be around rm180k++

u see the current d segment lineup price u know

• Um... on Mar 04, 2023 at 9:18 am

So…when can i buy? Mar.? April?

• Definitely not Ah Beng on Mar 07, 2023 at 3:19 am

Let’s face it. None of you keyboard warriors here know anything about cars. You think you know cars by just reading spec sheets and reviews from the internet, and maybe some casual banter from the next ahbeng guy in your circle.

• …and let’s face it, the production cost has gone up considerably plus unfavorable currency exchange, the time cheap car long gone in Malaysia

• Arumugam Chelliah on Apr 29, 2023 at 10:25 pm

Interested in buying ctc latest