Audi Malaysia recalls 2,767 cars, Takata airbag issue

It has been a while since we heard ‘Takata’ but there are still cars running around with potentially dangerous airbag inflators made by the Japanese company.

Now, new Audi distributor PHS Automotive Malaysia (PHSAM) has announced a voluntary recall for 2,767 cars, urging owners of affected cars to bring their rides to an Audi Centre for complimentary inspection and replacement of parts, if necessary. This should be done as soon as possible.

The recall covers the Audi A4 Sedan, A5 Sportback, A6 Sedan, Q5 and TT Coupe models manufactured between 2008 to 2017. These models were fitted with Takata airbags or the gas generator for the airbag unit on the driver’s side, passenger side and the curtain.

PHSAM says that based on the manufacturer’s latest update, it is possible that the gas generator housing may be damaged if the airbag is deployed. This could cause small metal parts to become dislodged from the housing, and this poses a serious safety risk.

“At Audi, safety is paramount, and this will continue to be one of the distinguishing factors in our on-going efforts to improve aftersales service. We recognise that the top reasons customers choose Audi are for its performance and safety features – and it is a high standard we will continue to uphold responsibly,” said Erik Winter, MD of PHSAM.

“Although we have determined the number of vehicles for this recall, it’s possible that not all of them will need replacement parts. We want to encourage customers to get their vehicles inspected at our service centres for better peace of mind,” he added.

Meanwhile, owners of Audi vehicles that are five years and older are eligible for the recently launched Audi Plus programme, which offers 10% off maintenance service at any Audi Centre. Customers will also receive three service discount vouchers, applicable within a period of three years after the fifth year of service along with complimentary nationwide roadside assistance for up to 12 months from the date of voucher redemption.

To check if your car is involved, or for more info on the Takata recall and Audi Plus, visit the Audi Malaysia website, contact customer service at 1800-22-2834 or email PHSAM at [email protected].

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• George Rhiee on Apr 04, 2023 at 2:17 pm

Basically every brand new Audi sold over the last 7 years is a death trap. Well done VW.

• Now only you’re recalling ah……

• FrankC on Apr 04, 2023 at 3:54 pm

Takata or new brand unable to manufacture enough replacement part to cater for worldwide and across brand. Hence they make replacement by stages base on the fact that it only become a significant hazard after certain number of years exposed to humidity. So its time for audi turn to start replacement

• FrankC on Apr 04, 2023 at 3:51 pm

They should make clear that this recall cover all listed audi including those outside warranty. Becoz it is design defect that is under category of highly hazardous. So that will encourage even those with parallel import audi to come forward.

• Tak Kata Apa on Apr 04, 2023 at 4:27 pm

For critical safety reason, just bring in your Audi to the service centre a.s.a.p. lah. They checked my out-of-warranty 2016 Didi and replaced for free.

• With such sensationalised recall issue, I am surprised Takata can still supply airbags up to yr 2017!

• FrankC on Apr 04, 2023 at 8:59 pm

It is not easy to change over to new supplier in an instant. automotive industry hv very thorough design verification and validation. That’s y some model remain with old bags. They owe all owners the responsibility to replace irrespective of warranty status. Just bring your Audi to check it out ya..share with your friends who drive Audi

• Ben Yap on Apr 04, 2023 at 4:24 pm

just use other manufacturers instead of takata. there are other options like autoliv and daicel.