BMW i5 to come in eDrive40 and M60 xDrive variants

BMW has dropped some extra info on the new BMW i5, which is built upon and will be introduced alongside the next generation G60 5 Series. Good timing for it to happen on the same day Daimler drops the full details on the new W214 E-Class Sedan, eh?

The Munich automaker isn’t quite as ready as its Stuttgart peer to release full details on its next generation sedan, but we do now know that there will be at least two powertrain options – the eDrive40 and the M60 xDrive. Perhaps these won’t be the only two options available eventually, as there could be room for an eDrive35 and an eDrive50 in the future, who knows.

No power outputs were revealed for now, but if the motor setups are the same as that found on the BMW iX SUV, we should be looking at 326 PS and 630 Nm for the eDrive40 and 619 PS with 1,100 Nm of torque for the M60.

What BMW did reveal are average energy consumption numbers for the two variants – 19.7-16.0 kWh/100 km for the eDrive40, and a more thirsty 21.2–17.9 kWh/100 km for the M60.

BMW also says that the i5 and the next generation 5 Series will debut a next generation adaptive damper system, one that has not been introduced on any other BMW car yet.

Calling it a 9th generation Vertical Dynamics Management system, it says the new system which will be used on the Adaptive Suspension Professional option now calculates damping forces based on real time physical calculation of data instead of previous systems that relied on mathematical models.

BMW will do a full unveiling of the new G60E BMW i5 (and the G60 BMW 5 Series) on May 24 2023. If you’re interested in getting one, BMW Malaysia is already taking registration of interest.

VIDEO: Testing the new BMW i5 in France

GALLERY: BMW i5 eDrive40

GALLERY: BMW i5 M60 xDrive

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Komen alternatif on Apr 26, 2023 at 10:47 pm

Banyak Makan Wang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • BMW quality and durability is better, so now not like before

• I mean to say to you, now better durability, before now, used to be unreliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Because you can’t afford, I know why you are here for

• Keyboard warrior on Apr 27, 2023 at 9:21 am

Underneath that camo, i am pretty it will not look as ugly as other squint eye BMWs regardless ICE or EV