Hyundai Ioniq 5 N teaser released – hear the “Virtual Grin Shift (VGS)” and faux engine noise in action

Hyundai has released another teaser for its upcoming Hyundai Ioniq 5 N, which will be its N division’s first electric car. The Ioniq 5 N in these teaser photos don’t show anything we haven’t seen previously when Hyundai released pix of it undergoing winter testing in the snow.

What’s new is in the accompanying teaser video below, where we get to hear the Ioniq 5 N in action. You get to hear how the faux engine sound is like as well as the Virtual Grin Shift (VGS) in action. Previously these features were previewed in another video, but that video featured a different car – the N22e. What do you think of the futuristic engine and shifting sound?

Later in the video, we also get to see a birds eye view of the Ioniq 5 N drifting on the race track, as well as a scene of the brake calipers that have the N logo on them.

Some Australian media that have had the opportunity to test the prototype Ioniq 5 N also report a larger battery size of around 80 kWh, a bit more power than the 585 PS, 740 Nm Kia EV6 GT, electronically variable dampers, e-LSD, variable torque control, and a drift mode.

VIDEO: Hyundai Ioniq 5 N teaser

GALLERY: Hyundai Ioniq 5 N teaser

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yawnz on May 05, 2023 at 5:06 pm

yawwnzzz… we have faux PM with his faux gomen so what is so special about faux shifting & faux noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • newme on May 08, 2023 at 9:46 am

if my laptop and PC keyboards give me faux typewriter sounds, i would throw it out the window.

• SCion on May 08, 2023 at 10:16 am

play organ kah?