The government says that the mechanism for the targeted fuel subsidy that is expected to be introduced next year is close to being finalised. According to deputy finance minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan, the the progress of discussions on the matter has reached 75% and there are just a few issues left to be resolved, The Star reports.
He said that one of the remaining issues is the method of implementation. “The decision (to implement targeted subsidies) has been agreed in principle. However, details about it are yet to be finalised. On whether the method is to use identification cards, special cards, or the car’s engine capacity, it is not yet decided,” he said, referring to the targeted fuel subsidy.
He added that the government was aware of concerns about the parameters for deciding the socio-economic classification. “We are aware there are concerns about the classification, especially among those on the borderline of T20. There are other considerations that we need to deliberate about, such as the number of dependents,” he said.
Last weekend, economy minister Rafizi Ramli said that the government will utilise a new approach to help refine its planned targeted subsidy mechanism, which will begin with diesel and electricity. This will involve collecting household net disposable income metrics to be used as a structuring measure to ensure that targeted subsidies are more accurately distributed.
As to when the completed mechanism and details of it will be revealed, Ahmad hinted that it could be presented during the tabling of Budget 2024.
hopefully implementation based on engine capacity therefore our bmw i5 and i8 could enjoys this subsidies ok
Not necessary have to be engine capacity. Yes do agree that engine capacity should be implemented but there is another way, although engine capacity can be implemented but only can subsidies for B40 like Vios and M40 like Civic but not T20 like C Class.
Method of execution A.Special ID card B.Facial or retina scan.Behind the scene…intense lobbying to get this mega IT project across all petrol stations.LHDN has most of the database .The delay is due to “who do germen award project to”
Hoi Anwar, janji dah pegi mana?
And suddenly all the PH supporters belip in Maslan 3.4
Begin with electricity? Good move, as owners of EV’s shouldn’t be subsidized by the public at all.
Come on lah….
Just remove the subsidy quickly.
I need excuse to raise the prices of all the things I sell.
My new S Class is waiting.
I already prepared come what may.I just drive Myvi more weekdays.Weekends I drive Camry.So no worry.
this statement coming out from Ahmad Mazlan, does not exactly inspire confidence. This guy has always released statements that could be utter fantasy.
Kudos. majoriti bumi together w PH BN gahmen
together gether w PH BN gahmen then state election pangkah PN. Hooray!
Apa susahnya. You got LHDN as your database what. LHDN has median household income, total pax in a family, etc. If no one declare tax, then no subsidy lah. I have no idea why these clowns take too long to execute this.
Definitely the best way to do it, and definitely the most politically unpopular way to do it because of which segments of the population are not registered with LHDN. Pity voter registration is not conditional on meeting tax obligations eh…
Sir,they wayang je.They takut regime toppling by PN who can weaponise the fuel subsidy issue.They r buying time cos state elections soon …so safest next year.After all PETRONAS giving 50B with excessive profits .So why rush,to kacau rakyat?
Those lower income never pay taxes. Not just never declare. They keep on voting for gomen that waste money because they do not feel the pain of paying taxes.
Refer my name
Kasi capati dua!
The most affected will be the M40 income but T20 lifestyle kind of person. So time to cut astro, netflix, spotify, disney +, no more H and T emblem car,live at apartment close to where you work instead of double storey house away from town.
T20 – do whatever lah, no impact to us
M40 – ok need to re-adjust lifestyle
B40 – no impact. we are already living like cockroaches
The price of everything will go up. That’s what PH voters want, hahaha.
Nope. Only for T20 but M40 and B40 mostly 100% impossible will be affected
If based on numbers, PKR should not be appointed as PM.
Without Anwar, PKR is useless
Those “B40” without payslip but earning lots of money and living as T20, driving BMW & Alphard can still enjoy subsidies for all their luxury cars with big engines while those under employment, earning much lesser with payslips will kena tax kaw kaw with subsidies cut.
so those rich flers that run tax enjoy kao kao la?
Actually, why not just remove the subsidy completely, then channel aid directly to B40 via proper financial aid channels?
“..one of the remaining issues is the method of implementation..”
Dude, isn’t that supposed to be THE MAIN ISSUE? habishlah
Myr started to depreciate v baht and philippine peso after both got rid of fuel subsidy for all. Everyone pay market price. No riots. No protest.
But their assembled cars are cheaper than what we pay if you exclude national cars.
The B20 will start selling their subsidised petrol to T20 without having to work. That is how i see things going forward.
Thought the fuel price will go down as promised by the elected kerajaan but by removing the subsidy of fuel to the targetted income group no way it will become cheaper any more.
Ready for the worst of other goods price hike.
As much as it may be needed to help the Gov save money but it will be an unpopular move as it might cause prices of goods & services to go up. I think first and foremost is to figure out how to stop foreigners to pump at subsidized prices and stop any illegal sale of petrol to neighboring countries.
Find other ways to make money lah besides taxing the rakyat and removing subsidies. The sustainable way is to find revenue for the country by other means. Get more investors to come here, create more jobs and people will contribute in the form of existing taxes.