2023 Mercedes-Benz GLC300 Malaysian review – much improved, but from RM430k, is too expensive now?

Launched in Malaysia in April this year, the second-generation Mercedes-Benz GLC is offered in a sole fully-imported (CBU) variant called the GLC300 4Matic AMG Line that retails for RM429,888 on-the-road without insurance.

At that price, the latest GLC is more expensive when compared to rivals like the BMW X3 and Volvo XC60, both of which do not cross the RM400,000 mark even in their highest trim levels. Is it still worth it, then? That’s what Hafriz Shah attempts to answer in his video review, so tune in to find out what it’s like to drive and live with the GLC.

The new GLC is larger than its predecessor, measuring 4,716 mm long (+60 mm), 1,890 mm wide (unchanged), 1,640 mm tall (-4 mm) and with a wheelbase that now spans 2,888 mm (+15 mm). These revisions result in a slight change to the interior space, but boot space has been increased by 70 litres to 620 litres.

Power comes from an M254 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 258 PS (255 hp or 190 kW) at 5,800 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 3,200 rpm. The mill is paired with a 9G-Tronic nine-speed automatic transmission and a 4Matic all-wheel drive system that enables a 0-100 km/h time of 6.2 seconds and a top speed of 240 km/h.

A new addition for the GLC is a 48-volt mild hybrid system that features an integrated starter-generator (ISG) which can provide a boost of 23 PS (23 hp or 17 kW) and 200 Nm, while providing functions such as coasting and more refined engine start-stop. The SUV also gets Agility Control suspension with selective damping and Dynamic Select drive modes as standard.

The AMG Line package is also part of the kit list, along with 20-inch AMG multi-spoke light-alloy wheels, a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster, an 11.9-inch central touchscreen, the Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) infotainment system, Thermatic dual-zone climate control, Nappa leather upholstery and autonomous emergency braking.

After watching the video, looking at the gallery photos below and going through our comprehensive launch story, would you pick the GLC over its rivals? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sohai on Jun 06, 2023 at 11:38 am

Is it worth it?
    Can you get hold of one if you want it?

• Good spec for RM200k+ High Plus 2.5/2.5T/2.2D

1. 7 airbags.
      2. AEB
      3. BSM
      4. 360 Camera

the flaw is that it’s a GLC 300 AMG but looks low spec,
      missing complete L2 Autonomous tech – adaptive cruise control?

• anonymous on Jun 06, 2023 at 12:00 pm

perhaps to those in the upper echelons of the tax bracket may not seem like it’s too expensive but i really wished that at this price point, they really loaded this car up to the brim. because this is just going to be the precedent now for their competitors to price themselves at these ridiculous prices while simultaneously offering it with sub-par specs. and malaysia being malaysia, you can’t even option in add ons so it’s take it or leave it if you really really want a glc. while this might not matter to most who just want this for the three pointed star, some of us in malaysia actually are more informed now about cars and this glc at this price point with it’s given features isn’t good value at all. i hope the ckd version adds way more to the spec list but looking at what they did with the c class, am not expecting too much tbh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Merz just wants to try the price, who knows some moron are still buying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Rakyat on Jun 07, 2023 at 9:39 am

Only a stupid fool will pay extra to support the Europe’s inflation. Europe is toast for being hostile to Russia. 80% of the world supports the Russian effort for a free multipolar world. NATO and US product can get lost. We don’t want it

• seancorr on Jun 06, 2023 at 12:32 pm

Even with CKD and maybe an additional spec top up I doubt this will dip below 400k. I think Mercedes is saying you are privileged to own one if you pay up to get it since they saying they going more atas. But then again not too long ago the top spec Camry is around 170k….look at its price now *rolls eyes*

• mercftw on Jun 09, 2023 at 1:13 am

400k for glc, love how it tries to crush itself.
      are they trying to help BMW clearing some ex-stock CKD X5?

• mancoi on Jun 06, 2023 at 12:46 pm

Better buy Volvo XC90 T8 about the same price with bigger size, extra seats, more powerful engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Katheryne Wong on Jun 06, 2023 at 1:32 pm

The new Audi Q8 EV is better, cheaper & larger. It also has air suspension, more comfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • sonyman on Jun 06, 2023 at 1:37 pm

i probably will top up for the RX350.

Less headache, better emotional control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • hazri on Jun 06, 2023 at 2:10 pm

when i see the current glc long time ago, i dont think its beautiful. but when i see this new facelift, i think the current glc is beautiful than this. this new one looks so chinese car. but in term of technology, of course this one better.

• hazri on Jun 06, 2023 at 2:12 pm

for that price, i will buy porsche macan or 2nd cayenne. why i should spend 400k to buy a car looks like a chinese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • BetterAccountant on Jun 08, 2023 at 1:45 pm

I doubt the European cars today looks better than Chinese cars. You clearly have not seen the cars in China. What you are seeing are their low spec budget cars here because we are considered poor country today. They know its a waste of time trying to sell their higher end cars here because not many people with money here

• Farhan lee on Jun 06, 2023 at 3:57 pm

What about the sudden braking when we are reversing and an object is about 10 yards away

• Hi Gerard, if u afford to pay rm430k, will u take this GLC? Or what’s your alternative?

• Our depreciating currency to blame. I cannot see how any gomen can stop this. The country cannot collect enough tax to cover even the operating expenditure.

• Paulaner on Jun 07, 2023 at 12:28 pm

BMW X5 has a 3.0 and MUCH bigger at the same price +- Must be insane to buy GLC at this price

• PaulChangeLane on Jun 07, 2023 at 2:49 pm

Must be insane toi buy either one. All Europeans products are suffering super inflation..Why do we need to support their stupidity?? They want to challenge Russia then we just stop buying their products.

• Sorrytosay on Sep 20, 2023 at 2:51 pm

Glc & c class must be under 400k to compete x3 and 3series then this price goes for gle & e class to compete x5 & 5series,local assembly amg line sticker just gross.