Proton has announced it sold 13,268 cars (including exports) in May 2023, which represents a 40.9% increase from the month prior (April 2023). The latest figure is also 35.5% more when compared to the same month last year (May 2022), the carmaker noted in its release.
In terms of year-to-date (YTD) sales, Proton says it has delivered 62,970 units in the first five months of 2023, which is a 38.9% increase from the same period in 2022. Based on the company’s internal data, total industry volume (TIV) is estimated to have grown 32.2% in May at 61,600 units, and it calculates a market share of 21.5% for the month and 20.9% for the year.
May was also the best month for export sales thus far in 2023 with 217 units sold, led by the Proton Saga. The carmaker also started selling the X50 and X70 in Mozambique through a local distributor last month.
Locally, the Saga continues to be the brand’s best-selling model with 5,819 units, which is good enough to take second place in the A-segment sedan market. The YTD sales tally of the Saga is currently at 27,214 units, which is 51% more than the same period last year.
Meanwhile, the X50 stays at the top of the B-segment and overall SUV market with 2,801 units (15,113 units YTD, +31%), and the X70 saw 929 units being delivered (4,871 units YTD). The brand’s new X90 concluded its first sales month (it was launched in early May) with 257 units to take second place in the D-segment SUV market.
As for other models, the Persona notched up 2,290 deliveries (10,326 units YTD, +78%), while the 732 units of the Iriz were handed over to customers (3,190 units YTD, +47%). Last but not least, the Exora remains at the top of the C-segment MPV market with 440 units sold last month, with the YTD total currently at 1,999 units.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
considering it a new model…. X90 sale is very poor
Mostly internal sales for new model
Why 259 units…aiyoh…Mr DRB.. big blockbuster launching…something not ngam…I believe buyers takut fuel guzzler..next year with floated fuel price..tak boleh tahan.U guys notice x70 sales below 1000 units…canabalised by small bradder X 50.This is a massive launch failure.
this happen when they want to save cost, maximise profit by using the same 3cyl 1.5 turbo engine. X70 used to be good demand bcoz of the 1.8 turbo. X90 so big, put a tiny engine? at least 1.8turbo hybrid then only make sense. Somemore they try to sell upmarket, increase price for existing model…if i can afford rm120k & above, i wont even think abt P1. Plz be realisticlah.
P1 shld market something to replace Exora. There r demand for cheap 7 seater currently monopoly by Alza. Even Exora sold more than this X90!! X50 success bcoz many think it is a great buy(price/performance/size/quality), emulate this! or develop hybrid version of persona for the mass. Dont be too greedy.
Considered very good, currently the no. 1 of the D segment SUV sales volume in May does not exceed 500 units.
Erm the first batch was internal sales.
China numba one!
congrats to geely and china top of the sales in malaysia again. proton is the only china car brand i will only buy.
The lower product range of P1 saw a rivival in sales,partly due to P2 e xponential rise in pricing.
Mostly internal sales for new model
numbers alone don’t mean anything…my x70 had steering rack issue and confirmed by SC. file the report for claim. coming to 7 weeks now and still no call from SC or anyone.
call them they say still waiting. but don’t know when. WTF?? this is not a imported sports car from UK or Italy, the mfg plant is in Tg Malim…yet, 7 weeks still not getting the part? i order item from china through lazada, the item get to my door step in 4 days! so the after sales is really sucks!!!
Thats what lots of forum readers r suspecting…Spare parts issue from P1..waiting for buyers to spew steam from their ears.
OMG..if 7 weeks..how can u drive?
The leakage would be messy,u may have difficulty turning your steering.
Thats why lots of people buy on SYIOK sensation.They dont want to hear honest feedback from frustrated X70 buyers.
So…the verdict: Avoid all these syiok suvs to save u trouble,faham? Or u need rocket science?
No Apple CarPlay no Android Auto, No buy.
Bring in FY11
Here is wisdom when mosquito land on you don’t bang wait until it suck then already committed can’t fly then bang. It’s ok lose little blood but get to kill blood suckers. So now it’s time to kill blood sucking car company very ripe in scam.
WORLD CLASS AFTERSALES
Sell to african country la, they don’t mind still need to change timing belt for a over rm100k car.
To date the Persona still the best sub rm60k car to buy in malaysia, hopefully proton will replace the awful punch cvt to aisin 4at like the saga.
Every month sales getting better and broke record every month
With RCEP Free Trade, CHINA can sell CBU cars in malaysia very soon.