2023 sixth-gen Honda CR-V spied in Malaysia again

The sixth-generation Honda CR-V made its global debut almost exactly one year ago, and was launched for the Thailand market in March this year at the 2023 Bangkok International Motor Show. Now, it appears that the SUV is likely launching in Malaysia soon, as a camouflaged example has been sighted once again, this time in Gemencheh, Negeri Sembilan.

Honda Malaysia announced in March that it will be launching four new models this year in the country, and the all-new CR-V will be among them. The new model measures 4,694 mm long and 1,865 mm wide, which makes it 71 mm longer and 10 mm wider than the current, fifth-generation model that it will replace.

The larger dimensions make for a more spacious cabin, and rear legroom benefits with an additional 15 mm. The dashboard architecture of the sixth-generation CR-V takes after the Civic’s, though with a centre console that accommodates the gear lever and drive mode selector being located side-by-side.

Previous sighting of sixth-generation Honda CR-V in Putrajaya

Safety kit on the US-market sixth-generation CR-V includes Blind spot information (BSI), while the existing Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low-Speed Follow and Lane Keeping Assist (LKAS) get more natural responses, says Honda. Additional functions include Traffic Jam Assist, Low-Speed Braking Control and Traffic Sign Recognition.

In Thailand, the sixth-generation CR-V is sold with a choice of two powertrain options. One is the 1.5L turbo petrol unit produces 190 hp at 6,000 rpm and 242 of torque from 1,700 rpm to 5,000 rpm, mated to a continuously variable transmission, and the other is the 2.0 litre Atkinson-cycle four-cylinder engine with e-CVT combined with two electric motors to produce 207 PS and 371 Nm from 0 – 2,000 rpm.

The fifth-generation CR-V was launched in Malaysia in July 2017, and the facelift arrived in November 2020. This current model is on sale in Malaysia from RM146,900 for the base 2.0L 2WD variant, and the four-variant range is topped by the 1.5L TC-P 4WD at RM171,400.

GALLERY: 2023 Honda CR-V, sixth-generation

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Wow…these Japs brands are still treating Malaysians second class. No wonder the Chinese brands are gaining foothold here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • EV enthusiasts on Jul 08, 2023 at 3:57 pm

To be fair they treat Chinese in China as second class as well lmao.

• Sad that the Thailand spec came with LaneWatch when the US market ones came with a proper blind spot monitoring system. This means that ASEAN is getting shafted AGAIN even though this is a completely new model from the ground up and not a facelift.

• anonymous on Jul 08, 2023 at 12:03 pm

itulah ASEAN will forever be ‘developing nation’ despite how far we’ve all come lol. not to mention malaysia literally has the tallest twin towers in the world AND the second tallest building in the world but yet we’re STILL lower tier to white people countries. membazir je taxpayer money only to still be considered developing nation lol.

i mean just look at the offering here for all car brands. we still miss out on a lot of the niceties offered elsewhere (upgraded sound system, option for a sunroof, for some brands advanced safety systems, etc). i get not everyone wants all these things, but for those that do we just have to settle if we die die want that car. i really wished car companies here gave us the option to add at least. i mean we’re still paying so like bukannya mintak free (although for the prices we pay features like these should be standard heh).

• I fully agree with your statements. For example, lots of people (myself included) would love to spec the ACC and 360 degree camera onto the latest G20 LCI BMW 3-series, but alas there’s no such option.

It’s very unfortunate that our volume is vastly lower than US, EU, China, etc., and that’s really why we don’t get options to check boxes when placing a booking for car purchases. It’s dramatically cheaper for the CKD manufacturers to stamp out vehicles using the cookie mould of fixed specs than letting us customize our hearts out.

• Bob Mal on Jul 08, 2023 at 3:44 pm

Agreed especially here in ASEAN we are still bullied by Toyota giving us old archaic engine when the Dynamic Force Engine for 1.5L have been released since 2017 but here we are only getting a meagre 3 models out of the entire Toyota lineup which has the newer engine.

• Peppa on Jul 08, 2023 at 11:56 pm

How is the Petronas Twin Towers and Merdeka 118 related to tax payers money? Are you dumb?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Mr Fakta on Jul 07, 2023 at 6:34 pm

Well, after Tiggo launched. Honda nervous already, must faster launch, if not potential customer all bought already then not much sales, even worst if they priced the lowest spec at RM180K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • We get our cars late because it needed to be locally assembled to escape high tariffs and AP requirement. Otherwise end up like Ford everest. Sold cheaply in neighbouring countries but overpriced locally.

• Expect delays on the launching as RM in precarious state

• Guess Honda can’t get any good design nowadays . I like the old design better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • ERIKO on Jul 08, 2023 at 9:08 am

How many years/KM warranty?

• Legacy Car Makers Struggle To Switch on Jul 08, 2023 at 11:44 am

Compare to BYD Atto 3, this is dinosaur. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • hazri on Jul 10, 2023 at 9:07 pm

why compare with different segment? should compare with hr-v.

• hazri edit on Jul 10, 2023 at 9:48 pm

oh my bad. it c segment. same with crv. ya, crv look old. like volvo.

• possible base spec priced from rm165k and above

• Ground europe passenger on Jul 10, 2023 at 8:56 am

Used to famous as legendary reliable car but after cvt model became tend to fail inside 100k km vulnerable car.

• Design wise now the Japs can’t compete with the Chinese. Quality wise I am not sure lah. But still I prefer T over H.