BYD Dolphin launching in Malaysia soon? BYD Cars Malaysia teases new Ocean series car on social

Who likes to chase the waves 🌊?
Stay tuned for more.

#BuildYourDreams #BYD

Posted by BYD Cars Malaysia on Wednesday, 12 July 2023

BYD Cars Malaysia might be gearing up to launch its second model in Malaysia soon, based on this teaser posted on their BYD Cars Malaysia social media accounts.

UPDATE: The BYD Dolphin has been launched in Malaysia.

The teaser just mentions The New Electric Wave Coming Soon, but based on the use of the word wave and the image of waves on a beach, it’s most likely a model that’s part of the Ocean Series. We’re pretty sure it refers to the BYD Dolphin (instead of another Ocean Series model like the BYD Seal), since it’s the same model getting launched in various right hand drive markets around the world now.

This month itself, the BYD Dolphin saw launches in Thailand and Singapore. This comes after an European market launch last month. In Thailand, the BYD Dolphin can be had with a starting price of 699,999 Thai baht for the Standard Range model. This increases to 859,999 Thai baht for the Extended range.

In Standard Range guise, the BYD Dolphin features a single electric motor producing 94 PS and 180 Nm of torque, driving the front wheels and powered by a 44.9 kWh Blade battery. AC charging is supported up to 7 kW, and up to 60 kW DC fast charging. The Standard Range variant is rated for a 0-100 km/h time of 12.3 seconds, and has a maximum range of 410 km on the NEDC protocol.

The BYD Dolphin Extended Range variant gets a more powerful 204 PS/310 Nm motor that also drives the front wheels, drawing power from a larger, 60.48 kWh Blade battery that can be recharged at up to 7 kW AC, and 80 kW DC. This gets from 0-100 km/h in seven seconds, and does a maximum of 490 km on a full charge (NEDC). Both Standard Range and Extended Range variants offer vehicle-to-load (V2L) power supply functionality.

Measuring 4,290 mm long, 1,770 mm wide, 1,570 mm tall with a wheelbase of 2,700 mm, the Dolphin is shorter but wider than a Honda City Hatchback, though the EV is also 82 mm taller and with a considerably longer wheelbase.

Since the BYD Atto 3 was launched in Malaysia with a Standard Range and Extended Range model, will we see the same with the BYD Dolphin in Malaysia? What could the starting price be? Will we get the BYD Dolphin at a starting price of under RM100k? Currently the Neta V is the only EV in Malaysia priced under RM100k. What are your thoughts? Share them in the comments.

GALLERY: BYD Dolphin EV at the 2023 Bangkok International Motor Show

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Imagine Myvi Yaris Jazz looking like this

Can it wave?

• Why So Serious on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:05 am

I want BYD
      Killer Whale
      Paus
      Sotong Kurita
      Napoleon Wrasse

• Peppa on Jul 13, 2023 at 10:34 am

That front end deserve a vomit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • MASAMI on Jul 13, 2023 at 2:44 pm

I think you have very low and outdated taste Peppa. From all the western and eastern reviews online, everyone seems to love it. Maybe you’re still stucked in the 80s and 90s. lol

• maybe you will vomit on Jul 14, 2023 at 11:46 pm

if you look in the mirror

• Nama Tak Penting on Jul 13, 2023 at 10:45 am

Standard 105k
    Extended 115k

I will jump to EV immediately!

• Nissu on Jul 13, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Can’t wait ❤️

• At minimum 11kW and better if 22 kW AC charging, else it will take forever.

• MASAMI on Jul 14, 2023 at 1:28 pm

It is 11kw mate. But with BYD linearly charged batteries, their 11kw could be like 18-22kw equivatent of batteries from other car brands. Most other non BYD battery will slow down a lot once certain percentage is reaced. With BYD its almost same speed from beginning to end.

• Did they get 5-star ASEAN NCAP too? Just curious since the car is small and has batteries underneath.

• Celup King on Jul 14, 2023 at 9:08 am

Look at P2 car results can you even trust Asean NCAP integrity? I rather trust something like ANCAP from Australia which BYD had also passed
      https://paultan.org/2022/11/22/byd-atto-3-gets-5-star-ancap-safety-rating-in-australia/

• Dick Kok Wai Sing on Jul 13, 2023 at 2:55 pm

This one come with fire extinguisher or not myself oso scared to drive some name is water animal maybe hinting to bring water

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8