GIIAS 2023: Nissan Magnite on show – sub-4m SUV to rival Raize, Rocky, Sonet; 1.0T 3-cylinder; from RM84k

The Nissan Magnite was launched in Indonesia back in December 2020, just two months after its global debut in India. At the time, the Magnite competed against the Kia Sonet, both of which arrived long before the Toyota Raize and Daihatsu Rocky arrived in Indonesia.

Positioned below the Kicks, the Magnite is the brand’s smallest global SUV, measuring in at just 3,994 mm long, 1,758 mm wide, 1,572 mm tall and with a wheelbase of 2,501 mm. In Indonesia, the front-wheel drive SUV is powered by a sole 1.0 litre turbocharged inline-three petrol engine that makes 100 PS at 5,000 rpm and 160 Nm of torque from 2,800 to 3,600 rpm.

Two grade levels are offered, namely the Upper and Premium, each available with a five-speed manual gearbox or CVT. The Upper grade come standard with 16-inch alloy wheels, LED headlamps, LED DRLs, combination LED taillights, ABS, EBD, brake assist, hill start assist, VDC, keyless entry and engine start, 60:40 split-folding rear seats, manual air-conditioning, a 7-inch digital instrument cluster and an 8-inch touchscreen infotainment system with wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

Meanwhile, the Premium improves upon the Upper by adding two-tone alloys of the same size, an around view monitor, a tyre pressure monitoring system, rear air vents and a front armrest. The Premium grade with a CVT is the only one that comes with passive cruise control.

In terms of colours, the Upper grade is offered with three monotone options: Storm White, Blade Silver and Onyx Black. The manual version of the base grade retails for 277 million rupiah (RM83,968), while the CVT is 300 million rupiah (RM90,940).

The Premium grade also comes in the same hues as the Upper, retailing at 288 million rupiah (RM87,429) for the MT, or 308 million rupiah (RM93,501) for the CVT. The top grade can also be optioned with two-tone themes, which pairs an Onyx Black roof with either Flare Garner Red or Pearl White, for an additional two million rupiah (RM606).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• piplup on Aug 18, 2023 at 9:28 pm

both the sonet and magnite looks like a properly new car as opposed to wrv

• Peppa on Aug 18, 2023 at 10:41 pm

Nissan has alot of potential to be on top in Malaysia if ETCM does not exist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr on Aug 19, 2023 at 5:01 pm

It’s not really ETCM’s fault as Nissan doesn’t really care about the SEA region….it’s not even properly supporting Thailand and Indonesia either.

• Peppa on Aug 21, 2023 at 9:29 am

No you are wrong. Thailand and Indonesia are facing similar problem. A.P system to SUPPORT LOCAL BUSINESS

• A lack of advanced driver-assistance system likely rules this model out from a launch in Malaysia, leaving Nissan out of the A-segment crossover segment currently populated with the Perodua Ativa (RM61,500 to RM71,200) and the Honda WR-V (RM 89,900.00 to RM 107,900.00).

• Bieight on Aug 19, 2023 at 2:08 pm

Why never bring in here?

• Zero ICE by 2030 on Aug 19, 2023 at 2:53 pm

Bring it here!

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 19, 2023 at 5:21 pm

4 star asean ncap. meh.

• Winner Ong on Aug 20, 2023 at 4:23 pm

Good prosperity to fans of Winner I like to komen when loser say some thing. Some loser say this is proper car some say Nissan got potensial but I say this is born loser car you pay this kind money for 3 cylinder Milo tin Asia car haha I say you are loser forever. I say you keep your money for fineral service how many time you got see Conti car people die inside I ask. Be like me mix with winners everywhere not pupil like you. Even drive use Conti is better than this rubbish I say if you don’t like your life than stay loser forever and if see me don’t smile or say hello bcos I feel like kick you but I control my self oso don’t parking near my car. Don’t be so emotion if I hurting you only want to make you use your small brain to be more thinking.

• Squid on Aug 21, 2023 at 9:45 am

“Hello Tanjong Rambutan, saya sudah jumpa orang hilang you cari itu hari”…