smart #1 available for booking in Malaysia via app – RM1k fee; two variants; up to 428 PS, 440 km EV range

The smart #1 is apparently available for booking in Malaysia via the Hello smart app (Google Play Store, Apple App Store, Huawei AppGallery) by Proton New Energy Technology (Pro-Net), which is the official distributor of smart vehicles in the country.

Checking in with Pro-Net, we were told that those who were invited to exclusive previews of the #1 had first dibs to place bookings via the app. Officially, the company says it hasn’t formerly announced the start of order taking for the #1, but we had no issue downloading the app, registering and selecting options and reaching the checkout page.

A fee of RM1,000 (payable using a debit or credit card) is required to secure a booking, and customers have two variants to choose from, namely the Premium and Brabus. There’s no official pricing for now because the #1 will be only be launched in the fourth quarter of this year.

In terms of specifications, the Premium features a rear-mounted electric motor providing 272 PS (268 hp or 200 kW) and 343 Nm of torque. This is powered by a lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (NMC) battery with an energy capacity of 66 kWh, which is good for a range of 440 km following the WLTP standard. This setup is good for a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 6.7 seconds and a top speed of 180 km/h.

For more power, the Brabus version adds another electric motor at the front for an all-wheel drive setup and a total system output of 428 PS (422 hp or 315 kW) and 543 Nm. Also equipped with a 66-kWh NCM battery, the #1 Brabus completes the 0-100 km/h run in 3.9 seconds and shares the same top speed with the Premium, but its range is down to 400 km

For charging, the #1 comes with an onboard 22 kW AC charger (Type 2) that gets the battery from a 10-80% state of charge (SoC) in three hours. Alternatively, there’s DC fast charging (CCS2) at a max of 150 kW that shortens the 10-80% SoC to 30 minutes.

Based on our time with the #1 Premium as part of an official media preview, the entry-level variant will come standard with CyberSparks LED+ Matrix headlamps, an illuminated front grille, 19-inch ‘Rotor’ alloy wheels with 235/45 profile tyres, a panoramic roof and a powered tailgate with hands-free access.

Inside the T-shaped cockpit, you’ll find a two-tone colour scheme where the dashboard is white, while the powered and ventilated front seats are trimmed in Dark Matter leather. There’s also a 9.2-inch digital instrument cluster, a 10-inch head-up display and a 12.8-inch infotainment touchscreen that supports wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

Other features include a 64-colour ambient lighting system, a wireless phone charger, a 13-speaker Beats sound system, keyless entry and start, dual-zone climate control with a N95 filter and rear vents as well as a full suite of advanced driver assistance systems (adaptive cruise control, autonomous emergency braking, lane keep assist, lane departure warning, lane change assist, front and rear cross traffic alert, highway and traffic jam assist, parking assist).

As for the Brabus, official details aren’t out yet, but we can expect a similar kit list to the Premium, albeit with some differences. Referring to the app, we spot 19-inch ‘Dynamo’ alloys, gunmetal-like dashboard trim, microfibre seats and red seatbelts.

smart #1 Brabus (top) and Premium (bottom) colours

Other exclusive items mentioned during the #1 Brabus’ debut last August include red brake calipers, a branded Alcantara/leather-wrapped steering wheel and red stitching. The exterior of the Brabus is distinguished from a regular #1 by its vented bonnet, Brabus badging and rear spoiler.

Seven colours are available for the Brabus, most of which are two-tone options. Cars with a Radiant Red roof are accompanied by a main body colour in either Matte Black, Atom Grey-Matte or Cyber Silver. Meanwhile, an Eclipse Black roof is paired with either Laser Red, Cyber Silver or Digital White. The seventh option is a monotone Atom Grey-Matte.

No two-tone options for the #1 Premium, which only gets Laser Red, Digital White, Quantum Blue, Lumen Yellow, Cyber Silver, Future Green and Atom Grey-Matte. Once again, the smart #1 is scheduled to be launched in Malaysia sometime in Q4, which is when we’ll finally get official pricing. Will you be placing a booking through the Hello smart app? What do you think of the specs so far? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

GALLERY: smart #1 booking page in Hello smart app

GALLERY: 2023 smart #1 Premium in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• anonymous on Aug 30, 2023 at 11:55 am

car companies here are a bit too comfortable with the open-for-booking-without-indicating-price and it’s so annoying. needs to be illegal i think. enough with an roi but collecting money without official pricing really needs to stop. from ALL brands i’m so serious.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 1
    • ThePolygon on Aug 30, 2023 at 1:22 pm

I wonder if based on the open-for-booking response, they will price the car higher or lower… hmm…

• Gee-Merz's fav son (ori: SWATCH GEY) on Aug 30, 2023 at 2:49 pm

Can confirm price range is similar to Mini Electric. Around 200k.

• Tesla model 3 price already appear on website tesla msia….RM189k…..while model Y rm199k. Guess Tesla will be a better buy here in Msia. The rest of EV in Msia can go fly kites

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • DeyI00kDown on Sep 02, 2023 at 7:33 pm

Companies, not just car ones, think SEA is a bunch of munkis that will accept anything. There is no respect.

• Chow ah beng on Aug 30, 2023 at 12:02 pm

Boring. Next. Trying so hard to entice sui yee buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
  • Maybe see the booking value to decide the market price , if demand high the price will be high , this call business.

• Mr Fakta on Aug 30, 2023 at 12:44 pm

Just out with the price already. I understand there’s price setting negotiations with AP holders, resellers, governments, pocket ministers and all but that’s just too damn long. Malaysia car should just be sold like phone, an SST that’s all. No protek this, bela that. That’s why we are so lagging behind other countries now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • ERIKO on Aug 30, 2023 at 1:01 pm

Mercedes and all their european counterparts are really malu to publish their prices nowadays. Their recession and inflated manufacturing cost is killing them once and for all. Western products today = Pay Way More but Get Way Less.
    Chin and SEA products= Pay Less but Get Way More

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Estimated price RM230K low spec , high spec Brabus RM280K to RM290K.

• Bob_B78 on Aug 30, 2023 at 1:27 pm

Pity Smart #3 not coming to Malaysia. Way nicer looking than #1

• Sadly Malaysia history will be remembered as being a dumping ground for all older unsold tech just like previous Japanese but now the Chinese and sadly the majority have no say since we live by Cronies and protection comes first then the normal people can just suck it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
      • MASAMI on Aug 30, 2023 at 3:57 pm

Dump dummp dump, dump your head la. All model in Malaysia are still existing model sold globally. Just that we have way less choices than other countries. Not dumping ground at all. On the contrary, people are not bothered to dump anything here because majority of Malaysians are poor and population too small. No one cares about our market. Your dump theory for moths makes no sense and makes you look stupid actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • Actually your statement itself makes no sense just like you have mention Malaysian are poor and population too small and no one cares about our market this is when companies will dump old stock here since we don’t care anyway to be their dumping ground for old tech selling at high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • boy, what is old unsold tech?

because people like you that refused to work harder, so we are now exporting energy to others, and exporting brains to Singapore.

‘old unsold tech’. you are stuck with your proton 3 cylinder right?

• please dont do any booking guys. we need them to price it lower hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
  • ManTumpat on Aug 30, 2023 at 7:13 pm

Tofu car killa

• One of citizen on Sep 01, 2023 at 10:44 am

Agrees with one of the comment mentioning car manufacturer now is a bit comfortable with open booking without actual price. Where is KPNKK or what so ever name that function so call “menjaga hak pengguna”. Small groceries seller got summons when not states the price for their products.

• Model 3 now 189K with facelift …how about smart #1 price ?

• Sky beee on Sep 04, 2023 at 11:05 pm

It Boleh sure EV car expensive 300k to 400k .that can untung more ma … 180% tax !China car also expensive but malaysia ⛽ petrol cheaper .car very very very expensive in the world. Singapore expensive but people rich that money more Bigs that you .