Proton X90 recall – grounding connection identified as cause; fire not caused by 48-volt mild hybrid battery

Proton has issued a statement on the findings of its investigation of a case of fire involving a Proton X90 last month, a video of which had been circulating on social media.

Now, the carmaker has identified a grounding connection as the cause of the fire, and reassures owners that the mild hybrid 48-volt battery is not the cause of the incident.

The company says that owners of the Proton X90 will be contacted individually by the brand’s 3S and 4S dealers to bring their vehicles in for inspection and if required, have remedial work carried out by the service centre to eliminate any thermal risk.

Owners may contact their nearest 3S/4S centre, or contact the Proton helpline at 1-800-88-8398 for more information. As a further measure, Proton and its vendors have taken additional countermeasures “to enhance supplier process control” and incoming inspections on the X90 production line.

The following is the statement posted on FB:

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ex Proton Fanboi on Sep 13, 2023 at 4:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 262
    • Lets See on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:29 pm

This is a quick action from a responsible automotive car maker.

Unlike another local brand that haven’t recall all their cars for faking the ASEAN NCAP and getting dubious 5 star ratings.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 330 Thumb down 126
      • Peppa on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:03 pm

Ong pLoton GELI worshippers are such a crybaby

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 128
        • X70 Buyer on Sep 15, 2023 at 1:39 am

Proton cars that proven to survive a 150kmph crash test vs P2 cars that habis renyuk in a 50kmph crash killing all occupants. See who will be the crybaby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • vi.02xx23 on Sep 14, 2023 at 1:01 am

quicker response with fire extinguisher on site.
        owners of other local brand shld step up & take legal action if allegation of falsified safety ratings is proven true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 48
      • MASAMI on Sep 14, 2023 at 9:08 am

Not surprising at all. One of our brilliant worker forget to tighten the screw properly. Adui. Hari hari pikir mau pigi minu teh saja. brain drain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 32
      • @lets see on Sep 14, 2023 at 5:19 pm

looks like u got f*cking nothing else to do but see sh*t. Ya, like u r f*cking contributing to nation building, u sick f*cking joke..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 20
        • MASAMI on Sep 15, 2023 at 9:09 am

How you know I am not contriuting?? How much tax do you even pay? Do you even do business with other countries to bring in more money into Malaysia? Lol. Go minun your teh tarik and be useless la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
          • Lets See on Sep 15, 2023 at 10:23 pm

I confess I like to spend a lot of time here at PT than doing actual work. It must be nice because I notice that you’re doing it too. Teh tarik later?

• makan gaji on Sep 16, 2023 at 11:14 am

Anybody can anonymously comment here at PT to be a productive working tax payer, contributing to the country’s economy & expect to be believed by others. Even the road side beggar can also claim the same thing.

• PlainBS on Sep 19, 2023 at 8:58 am

Except for PH trolls makan gaji shitting their comments and spamming the dislike button here.

• ZamZam on Sep 13, 2023 at 6:57 pm

This is a Proton X90, different to Geely Haoyue Okavango

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • Mabuhai on Sep 16, 2023 at 4:30 pm

That’s right. Otherwise it won’t catch fire.
        Biasa lah. Proton mah.
        I am actually not surprise it happened to Proton car. If brand lain I surprise lah.
        To prevent this and help them rebadge a car properly, is better the car is built in China or Philippine, and get them to change to Proton logo and ship here to sell. Left hand drive never mind lah.. better than recall.

• Peppa on Sep 13, 2023 at 4:45 pm

Be honest. This is worse than Daihatsu’s safety fraud lmao chinese car fans gritting their teeth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 150
    • Lets See on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:31 pm

Use your brain. This affects only a certain batch from 1 car model. P2’s safety fraud covers all of their cars produced to date, that goes in the millions on the road right now. Use brain and think which is worse.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 92
      • Pudinga on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:55 pm

Indo design with exemplary indo safety standard for malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 92
      • Peppa on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:01 pm

X90 fire occur at random times
        Vios safety fraud does not harm you unless you get into car crash

Pick the struggle, ccp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 88
        • X70 Buyer on Sep 15, 2023 at 1:37 am

A fire which is preventable if returned for that recall vs a car that was 5 star rated you could survive but in actuality you are more than likely to die in.

Pick the struggle, ccp

• vi.02xx23 on Sep 14, 2023 at 1:12 am

obviously whoever at proton/geely was responsible for the the ground connection to vehicle body defect, wasn’t using own brain.
        if allegation of p2 safety fraud is proven true, p2 owners shld hv the brains to take legal action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 43
        • Logical Deduction on Sep 15, 2023 at 5:44 pm

If they are dead, how can they take legal action? Go complain to the afterlife judge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 47
          • vi.02xx23 on Sep 15, 2023 at 10:40 pm

Are you brain dead? Where did I write that all P2 owners are dead? That is only your own ASSumption. You better rename yourself Logical Reduction.

• PlainBS on Sep 19, 2023 at 8:59 am

Go read in the news see why so many people died in P2 cars that are supposedly safe. Dumbo

• Proton Fapbois on Sep 13, 2023 at 4:54 pm

So our X90s are now tandoor ovens on wheels? Be careful gais silap2 kita jadi kambing golek. Dah la beli pakai nama bini bayar instalment sampai berhingus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 62
    • Made In China on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:25 pm

Nyum nyum kambing golek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 13, 2023 at 11:53 pm

Real tandoor oven = BYD and other EVs. After major accident the electric doors won’t open. If a battery fire starts, habis. That’s your chingchong satay oven right there.

Either way I will never trust chingchong engineering and QC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 36
      • Kong kong on Sep 15, 2023 at 5:16 am

Of course you can’t trust Chinese ev as you can’t afford to buy let alone maintain an oven. You’re talking fire, door unlatch, there are safety mechanism in place like auto disengagement of current circuit if it gets into.a so called severe accident. Battery fire? Well gas tank fire is as equally dangerous. That is why they’re located inside or under a hard shell. If you’re talking that bad of an accident, most likely the occupants are all dead before the battery can start to rupture or explode. As for this x90, although fire not related to battery, the report simply diverts the incident to qc issue. The failure to comply resulted in a fire risk. Which is damaging to consumer’s trust in buying that new model. Chingchong King Kong engineering like how you put it they are very good at re engineering. Qc is way above what you have here.

• Bob Mal on Sep 13, 2023 at 4:55 pm

So back then when Proton promises big improvement in audit quality score almost on PAR with Volvo is all just a lie now or probably it was good back then but somewhere along the line…..you know la typical Malaysian standard of living.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 46
  • Geelycious on Sep 13, 2023 at 4:57 pm

PRCs love roasted lamb with cumin. Let’s make moving ovens on wheels!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
  • EV Car Mafia on Sep 13, 2023 at 4:59 pm

Well done Proton for taking responsibility for the incident and the remedial actions. It’s good to see that Proton values its customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 12
  • Ben Yap on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:12 pm

pay RM152k for a car that can potential catch fire. might as well just get any Japanese cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 78
    • Why So Serious on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:40 pm

Have your Honda completely replace the exploding Takata airbags hmm?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 16
      • Yew Thean Hoo on Sep 13, 2023 at 6:43 pm

Faulty airbags won’t incinerate a building or carpark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 38
        • Saiful on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:01 pm

But it already killed people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 13
          • grim reaper on Sep 14, 2023 at 7:24 am

Do you want it quick & less pain, or slow & really painful?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
          • X70 Buyer on Sep 15, 2023 at 1:40 am

I prefer not to die and so far Proton’s case haven’t killed anyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • It looks like they rescinded the statement from their FB for whatever reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • “continuous large current passes through”

Where does this ‘large current’ come from? Let me guess, from the hybrid battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 38
    • the mild hybrid supply extra 15hp to the electric motor, equivalent to 11.2KW. If drive to full electric throttle, the grounding current draw from the 48V lithium battery can reach 230 ampere. this still not count the extra current flow if the battery also being used for power up any electronic devices such as air-cond & etc.

• Assemble in MALAYSIA on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:38 pm

Only losers and failure can get into U
    WHAT U expect

NO Recall in CHINA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
  • Mr Mar on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:48 pm

SO, Is it a design issue or manufacturing issue?
    Maybe at Philippines it is not as hot as Malaysia hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • GG..who dare to buy? it’s not small problem and car price not cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
  • Habibi on Sep 13, 2023 at 6:19 pm

At least Proton do investigate the actual cause. Other company sembang kencang, bila suruh investigate, ke laut jawapannya. Ntah apa2 tah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
    • Because they are pushed to the corner and “Tesla also catch fire” did not work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Yew Thean Hoo on Sep 13, 2023 at 6:39 pm

Regardless of cause, I prefer having little to no lithium in my car. Many YouTube videos have shown how fast an EV can burn a building or carpark down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 39
    • X70 Buyer on Sep 15, 2023 at 1:42 am

Better throw ur phone into the sea then as even Samsung Note have catch fire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • TempeKeras on Sep 13, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Tofu bakar mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
  • Steve Ng on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:21 pm

The grounding connection as well as other areas concern should be covered and protected with fire resistant fabric or felt that can withstand around 200-300degree C is available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Veneno on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:54 pm

I’m not a Proton fanboi whatsoever because I’m not into Chinese stuffs but when the company take full responsibility for what’s happening, it’s good for them and the customers. Nothing is perfect, even
    multi million ringgit Ferrari, Lamborghini catch fire a lot. Heck, even Bugatti recalled one Chiron Super Sport because it was fitted with wrong wheels. You people act like the cars should be perfect and cannot accept any action made by Proton to fix the issue. Grow up please and don’t be a crybaby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • well said….

• Sohai on Sep 14, 2023 at 7:47 am

Your statement is sound, and may apply to independent companies that try very hard to innovate and take risks, and we can cut them some slacks for the hiccups.
      But we are talking Proton here… a company that has a long history of mediocre, at the expense of the rakyat. The confidence is already thin. Expectations were already low. Hell, they are not trying to build a Chiron, they are rebadging a car! Can you blame the people for drawing blood? If they design and build a car from the ground up, sure, this is a small mistake that people should forgive and forget. They have used up all the pardon over the years.
      Give you the answers to copy and still fail your exam. How else to help them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
      • Sick & Tired on Sep 15, 2023 at 1:50 am

This is the problem with Msians. They put up way too high standards when they knew Proton make mediocre everyday cars and which is why that Proton CEO once lamented that Msians expects Ferrari quality but only willing to pay peanuts. Meeting this kind of expectations is beyond any kind of sound engineering or management and really bordering on hands of God to work such a miracle. Can we blame Msians for such unreasonable demands? Yes we can!!!

You people bloody don’t support the brand yet demand it to become a success but secretly hope it fails. What’s wrong with you folks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
        • Sohaiori on Sep 15, 2023 at 9:30 am

We don’t expect a Ferrari. Equally we don’t expect a car that could catch fire.
          We supported the brand. I bet most households at some point in time owned a Proton.
          Everyone wants a National car that we could be proud of. But the brand is nearly 40 years old. And we are still in the same spot like we were in 1985, rebadging a car with no known intellectual property. To put into perspective, Tesla was only founded in 2003 with no national level support.
          Is it acceptable? Of course people are sick and tired. Don’t blame the consumers. Blame the managements that came before this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Sick & Tired on Sep 15, 2023 at 6:00 pm

Same spot like we were in 1985? Did you go into a cave back then and slept thru the many decades of Proton coming out their own cars? Sorry but you talk like you have no intellectual property. Proton has ups and downs like many other brands but now they have a reliable partner and they are coming back up. The donor models are geely but they did a lot of engineering work to make it Malaysian and that to me is good enough. To put into your perspective, comparing with Tesla is utter stupidity as do your comment that they not receive national support. That is BS as it is well known they got subsidised to start and bailed out many times since by the USA Government in their short years of existence.

Nobody is putting blame here except you. Is it acceptable? No but so many other brands have their hiccups so why should Proton get the stick. Blame the management? How on earth is the management anything to do with this? So who is the one blaming here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Sohai on Sep 15, 2023 at 4:15 pm

You are trying to sell to the Malaysian market.
          And if this is what the Malaysian consumers think as per what you said (high expectations), then as a company, you can choose to meet that expectations, or dont participate.
          Critising the consumer for expecting too much is your product strategy? ha.
          Is a free market, you can choose to delight the customer, or start packing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
          • Sick & Tired on Sep 15, 2023 at 6:06 pm

If Proton stops selling people will have no more affordable cars then who will regret it and still make complaints? Yes you bunch of folks!

Criticising unrealistic expectations? Yes why not! Is it the child’s failure when they could not meet parents high expectation in getting all straight A’s even after struggling so much? Think about it.

If it is indeed free, you should be open to criticism as much you giving here.

• The Pooh on Sep 13, 2023 at 11:10 pm

Don’t talk kokwe not born yesterday, like that all houses and appliances burn down because of poor grounding is it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Winner Ong on Sep 13, 2023 at 11:20 pm

Happy prosper to fans of Winner and losers can cry buy rubbish car. Now I see so many rubbish pupil geting more and more on the road with small otak. But they not come near me because my car cost more than their rubbish house. If you no drive Conti car you are no class so no body respek you bcos you no valeu. Don’t be so emosi because I motivasion you make big money and sukses like me. Don’t let me see you park near me don’t say I not warning you ok if you kena tiau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
  • Sohai on Sep 14, 2023 at 7:34 am

Copy also don’t know how to copy… Adui.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • So which one is the problem? Geely dunno how to design or Proton dunno how to copy?

• WeeWee on Sep 15, 2023 at 9:36 am

Does it matter if it is your name on the car?

If you are copying, you are suppose to make sure the fellow you copy from is smarter than you… no?
        Yes. Copy also need to use a bit of brain.

• Guess the excuse “Tesla also catch fire” cannot be used here. Can’t do anything but to admit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • macampondan on Sep 14, 2023 at 9:14 am

it’s not from mild hybrid battery but certainly it’s from mild hybrid system

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • explanation/statement pun trying to cover up….if normal car battery, this wont happen even though the wiring is not good. hahahaha….just admit, the overall infra of the car is not up to mark for a mild hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • This is even worse than the whole Daihatsu fraud. At least the Daihatsu one only will affect those in a car crash. But this one, you are literally at risk every single seconds you are in the car.

If grounding pun tak dak check elok elok, then what is the usage of Proton spending on “World Class” testing rigs just a few weeks back. Copy pun tak boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • Laugh on Sep 14, 2023 at 11:39 am

1. It takes so long for Proton to find the cause being resistance heating in the hybrid system causing some sound dampening material to burn? Come on, there should be obvious burnt marks and no need so long to come out with a public announcement.

2. Cause of fire is not the hybrid battery but the connections which is part of the hybrid system. So P1 is saying the fire caused by the resistance heating if unnoticed would not spread continuously to the whole car and only confined to the burning of the sound proofing material?

3. The X90 price is marked up so high that it’s already at a different level of market. The QC should be equally increased but this proves to be not the case here. Who in their right mind would pay so much money for an inferior QC / design car that can catch fire anytime and it takes so long just to come out with the investigation report?

4. So the obvious thing P1 will do is to remove the sound proofing material that is ignited by the resistance heating connection. So pay more for less??? If this is true, the already worst NVH X90 compared to the X70 will be even worst still.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Laugh on Sep 14, 2023 at 11:44 am

Just a joke….

Proton CFE engines when pushed too long and hard had the OCH burst ailment which will end up having the engine destroyed and requiring overhaul which is costly.

Now Groton/Proly hybrid system when pushed too long and hard would result in the car burning up from the rear?

Hope I’m wrong lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • designer on Sep 14, 2023 at 12:16 pm

oh.. it’s not the battery. it’s the grounding. it makes thing even worse, what fault is here? undersize cable? loose connection? shorted connection? design fault… maybe whole batch kena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • dun try to act smart on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:40 pm

malaysia U never produce clever students

Talk alot but dunno what grounding

A typical tahi malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 24
  • No Common Sense on Sep 14, 2023 at 1:31 pm

Wasting RM150k on overrated oven on wheels?? LMAO!!

Better buy Toyota Honda lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
  • Hamdan Daniyal on Sep 15, 2023 at 8:11 am

This is an arcing problem. Arcing is sparks that occur when a large current continuously flows through a loose connection. It becomes hot over time. In this case, the loose connection is related to the grounding of the 48V system tied to the car’s body. Due to the sound deadening material’s proximity to this loose connection, the arcing has caused the material to burn. Then the rest of the issues follow.

How high is the current in the X90? Well, you can determine it based on the power of the EMS. The EMS delivers 13PS, which translates to around 9.6kW. Divide that by 48V, and you get 200A. 200A is a large current.

Currently, it appears that this 200A current flows from the 48V battery’s positive terminal through a dedicated cable, which is fine. But what about the return current to the negative terminal? Current must form a closed loop to function properly. From the incident pictures, it seems that there is no dedicated cable to carry this 200A current back to the battery’s negative terminal. Instead, the negative terminal is connected to the car’s body, where the loose connection occurs.

In my opinion, it is a bad idea to allow a 200A current to flow through a car’s body. This opens up many possibilities for loose connections. For a current as high as 200A, there should be a dedicated return current cable.

The 48V battery should have both a positive cable and a negative cable running directly from the battery terminals to their respective destinations, always kept close to each other. This way, you reduce the chance of encountering loose connections.

This case poses a fire hazard and should not be taken lightly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 47
    • I think your comment is 1 of the best I have encountered here at paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Sohai on Sep 15, 2023 at 11:24 pm

So you are calling them a liar when they say the incident is not to do with the hybrid system, when the circuit that caught fire is actually part of the hybrid system?
      So Proton is both incompetent as well as a liar… interesting.
      One more interesting finding if you can shed some light would be, is this “flaw” existed in the original Geely product? Or is a result of Proton’s “world class R&D” and design?
      I am no electrician, but it seems quite rare for the grounding circuit to directly wire back to the battery. Ground it to the body is what I observe as common, even for sound system that uses high ampere. Also I wonder why there is no fuse protection to prevent the damage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
    • stasta on Sep 17, 2023 at 12:56 am

so many thumbs down on a factual comment which is helpful.
      who is giving these down votes? coming from people with vested interest in proton?

• Welcome to PT comments section. on Sep 17, 2023 at 10:54 am

In addition to those people you mentioned, the PT comments section is also wide open to individuals who are not really automotive enthusiasts, individuals who treat this virtual place as their personal playground. It would be good if there is a comprehensive log in system before being allowed to post a comment here.

• Sick & Tired on Sep 19, 2023 at 9:05 am

That would solve our years long PH paid trolls problem. But will PT do it?

• Joe wayne on Sep 16, 2023 at 1:20 pm

Those days under previous management none dare to admit and rectify problems.. Great chinese for changing Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Laoyar Proton on Sep 16, 2023 at 4:19 pm

My opinion about Proton’s products is that they are substandard and not reliable.
    This incident validates my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Sick & Tired on Sep 19, 2023 at 9:06 am

Opinions are like asses. Everyone has them, and not everything comes out the right way. But that is just you.

• Momos007 on Sep 18, 2023 at 11:54 pm

Remember! Remember! Remember.1st patch car really cannot buy a lot issue . common sense

• Momos007 on Sep 18, 2023 at 11:56 pm

Remember! Remember! Remember first patch car really cannot buy a lot issue . common sense

• Momos007 on Sep 18, 2023 at 11:58 pm

Remember! Remember! Remember 2nd patch car is the best lol