Honda WR-V in Malaysia – 7,300 bookings as of early Sept, 3,300 units delivered, RS most popular variant

Honda Malaysia (HMSB) has announced that nearly 7,300 bookings have been received for the 2023 Honda WR-V as of September 6, just under two months after the small SUV made its local debut. Deliveries now stand at close to 3,300 units, 1,100 units up from the 2,200 units that had been delivered by August.

The WR-V is offered in four variants, namely the S, E, V and RS, all of which are powered by a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated DOHC i-VTEC engine offering 121 PS and 145 Nm, with the mill mated to a CVT. Pricing ranges from RM89,900 to RM107,900 on-the-road without insurance.

The company revealed that as of September, the bulk of registrations have been made up of the RS variant, with 62% of the deliveries being of the top-spec version. The next most popular variant is the V, with 19% of deliveries being for it. Registrations of the E presently make up 13% of the delivery volume, with the base S accounting for the remaining 6%.

HMSB also gave a breakdown of the popularity of the five exterior colours, namely Ignite Red Metallic, Platinum White Pearl, Stellar Diamond Pearl, Meteoroid Grey Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl, based on the booking trend among customers.

It’s decidedly close between Meteoroid Grey Metallic (25%) and Ignite Red Metallic (24%), but Stellar Diamond Pearl is a surprising third, with 22% of bookings being for the new colour, edging it ahead of Platinum White Pearl (19%), with Crystal Black Pearl (10%) rounding off things.

According to the company, the waiting period for the WR-V currently stands at around two months, though this is dependent on variant and colour choices, with that for Stellar Diamond Pearl being a bit longer.

GALLERY: 2023 Honda WR-V 1.5 RS

GALLERY: 2023 Honda WR-V 1.5 V

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Beli mahal-mahal, rear cargo cover board pun takde. You want to take a dump at R&R have take all your laptop and belongings to the toilet too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Poorly specced shitbox. This is evidence that most Malaysians buy according to brand and not using their brains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Yeahsure on Sep 18, 2023 at 12:43 pm

We are not exactly known to be wise consumers.. See our consumer debt ratio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Sales Vol Speaks on Sep 18, 2023 at 4:17 pm

Common phenomenon
        More popular the brand
        More popular the buyers
        Except is budget category

• Mr Tulan Liow on Sep 18, 2023 at 4:31 pm

Haha… these Honda diehard hardcore fanboys just gave Rafizi n Co the greenlight to “blacklist” them as “No Fuel Subsidy ” when they pump petrol ,come 2024….which is 100 days away.
      Enjoy pumping at Rm 3.70/litre…Ada gaya,mutu,keunggullan.

• anonymous on Sep 18, 2023 at 12:10 pm

this is why honda gets away with doing what they’re doing here in malaysia because they will launch a sub par car for the malaysian market and malaysians will eat it up regardless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Mr Tulan Liow on Sep 18, 2023 at 4:37 pm

Half sister protong…also same..under DRB…they launch “preve” and market it as “the game changer”..today it is a museum piece.
      Ask why those preve owners sell it away within a few years.
      Extremely high fuel consumption,lousy Campur engine plus a host of other mechanical issues.

• Johng Doe on Sep 18, 2023 at 1:04 pm

This is scam of things, just to manipulate the booking and sales figure. This need to be done to ensure the price won’t be affected much by the booming EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Sales Vol Speaks on Sep 18, 2023 at 4:23 pm

3,317 is the latest number
      registered on govt website

• Where can I check the no. of registered vehicles? Curious to see how many Chery Omodas have been delivered already. That is a promising car.

• Paul Tan on Sep 19, 2023 at 11:05 am

https://data.gov.my/dashboard/car-popularity

51 units of the Omoda 5 as of 31 aug 2023

• hazri on Sep 18, 2023 at 3:06 pm

so honda succeed? get sale more than brv?

• Kah Nee Neck on Sep 18, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Only in Malaysia people buy car without a test drive or is it

• Van Basten Tee Sing Tung on Sep 18, 2023 at 5:19 pm

Nice oso can buy one I think. Can sell second hand good money loose little bit ok lah.

• Gary B on Sep 18, 2023 at 5:23 pm

Wow! Omada better spec tak nak?
    Nasi lemak banjir lauk tak sedap ka?
    Rela angkat nasi kosong je, Malaysians boleh… maju!

• Mat Rumput on Sep 18, 2023 at 5:44 pm

In my city, only Chery SC is on the other end of town, in some new area where hardly any people live, 45 minutes away on a good day with no traffic (which basically doesn’t exist because the highway going there always got traffic). Honda got two SC within 10 minute drive from my house. I don’t even consider any CKD Honda because of the lousy sound insulation (Accord when raining your roof noise no difference from Myvi), but Chery isn’t a viable alternative for most people outside KV until they have better SC network.

• Siapa komplen mahal dia B40 on Sep 18, 2023 at 9:11 pm

62% picked the most expensive highest spec. Proof that Malaysia is high income status

• High Debt Consumers! on Sep 19, 2023 at 8:50 am

Not high income, is high debt!! most take 9yrs loan..later pay toll also need to cucuk to avoid paying..hahhaa

• Ur moms car on Sep 19, 2023 at 10:51 am

People buying this crap to show off that they own a H brand

• hazri on Sep 19, 2023 at 3:55 pm

nothing to show off by buying the cheapest entry level honda car. buy honda but wanna show of at least buy crv or odyssey la. but, i see many buy perodua ativa want to show off also, because they dont buy cheap axia and bezza.

• shrugs1 on Sep 21, 2023 at 3:03 pm

so many angry people when you yourself do not buy the car. it’s an option for the public to buy, hate it and you think other brand is better then buy them and be happy with your car that you think is the best value, best design, best interior, best exterior, best warranty, best mileage, best soundproofing, best engine. no one is stopping you to enjoy your car just as much as no one is stopping others to buy this car. hilarious

• Rakyat tak bodoh on Sep 24, 2023 at 11:44 am

If insurance cover is not included then the price is not OTR, so please stop abusing the word “OTR”. Can you drive your car without insurance cover in Malaysia and consider legal?

Some idiots love the abuse to make their car price looks acceptable.

As a reputable site in Malaysia please help to stop making Malaysia a laughing stock.