2023 BMW X1 sDrive20i xLine launched in Malaysia – CKD; 2.0T with 204 PS, 300 Nm; priced from RM239k

The third-generation (U11) BMW X1 is now available with an internal combustion engine with the launch of the sDrive20i xLine, which retails for RM238,900 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a standard two-year warranty. Go with the five-year extended warranty and service package and the price goes up to RM259,800

Unlike the fully electric iX1 xDrive30 M Sport that was introduced back in May this year, the petrol-powered variant of the latest X1 is offered as a locally-assembled (CKD) model from Kulim, Kedah – the second-generation F48 was also a CKD model.

For the money, you get a 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine that serves up 204 PS (201 hp or 150 kW) and 300 Nm of torque. Compared to the previous F48 of the same variant level, figures have gone up by 12 PS (12 hp or 9 kW) and 20 Nm.

Drive continues to be sent to the front wheels via a seven-speed Steptronic dual-clutch, with the whole setup capable of a 0-100 km/h time of 7.6 seconds and a top speed of 236 km/h. The claimed fuel economy of the sDrive20i is 7.2 l/100 km.

Larger than its predecessor, the U11 X1’s dimensions are as follows:

• Length: 4,500 mm (+53 mm)
  • Width: 1,845 mm (+24 mm)
  • Height: 1,642 mm (+44 mm)
  • Wheelbase: 2,692 mm (+22 mm)
  • Boot space: 476 litres, expandable to 1,527 litres with rear seats down

The CKD X1 gets the xLine styling package which features bumpers that have a more rugged look compared to the sporty look of the M Sport on the iX1. Highlights include a kidney grille with a Pearl Chrome frame and high-gloss black slats, an underride protection panel and satin aluminium exterior trim.

Standard equipment for this X1 includes adaptive LED headlamps with high beam assist, 19-inch V-spoke style 867 bicolour light-alloy wheels, a 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster, a 10.7-inch touchscreen infotainment system, an ambient lighting system, powered front seats with driver’s side memory function, dual-zone climate control, aluminium mesh effect trim, paddle shifters and My Modes.

The infotainment system is powered by BMW Operating System 8 and offers support for wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, along with ConnectedDrive services. You’ll also get a wireless charging pad and Comfort Access with Digital Key Plus, which allows you to unlock your car with compatible phones that have an ultra-wideband (UWB) chip.

As for driver assistance systems, both the Driving and Parking Assistant packages are included, which include lane departure and lane change warning, collision and pedestrian warning, rear cross traffic alert, rear collision warning, speed limit info, Active Park Distance Control, Reversing Assistant, Lateral Parking Aid and a rear-view camera.

2023 BMW X1 sDrive20i xLine spec sheet; click to enlarge

No adaptive cruise control (ACC) here, as you’ll only get passive cruise control with braking function. To get ACC, the CKD X1 would need to be specified with Driving Assistant Plus, which is offered with the iX1, along with additional features.

Five colours are available for the CKD X1, namely Black Sapphire, Alpine White, Cape York Green, Phytonic Blue and Space Silver, all paired with black perforated Sensatec synthetic leather upholstery and an anthracite headliner.

For a random point of observation, the X1 sDrive20i xLine at RM259,800 is RM26,000 less than the iX1 xDrive30 M Sport at RM285,800 (with the extended warranty and service package factored in), although the latter is an EV with more power, all-wheel drive and better safety features. Would you pay the premium to go all-electric?

GALLERY: U11 BMW X1 xDrive23i

GALLERY: 2023 U11 BMW X1 Malaysian launch official photos

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ThaiWL on Oct 09, 2023 at 12:46 pm

Front wheel drive and dual clutch..saw from some youtube reviewer in another country the dual clutch somehow for this model was not very positive compared to ZF 8 speed sports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 61
    • But did you test drive new X1 petrol in Malaysia. Anyways, all depends on luck. But reliability for BMW is better than before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 10, 2023 at 9:04 pm

Tesla >> everything else
        The Future already here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
        • Tesla is good car but not as good as BMW, you know why. Someone mentioned around this comment section

• Isaac on Oct 09, 2023 at 2:09 pm

But much more durable than Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • Mango on Oct 14, 2023 at 4:11 pm

Later, mercedes salesmen will come here and talk trash again but no facts as usual but always sounds like crying baby. Not only this brand, other brands also filled with negative comments but no facts by mercedes salesmen

• Mr slim on Oct 09, 2023 at 2:30 pm

Complaining so much because you are too jealous but yet you have not even owned one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Sick&Tired on Oct 09, 2023 at 7:36 pm

If I am not mistaken there is no ZF 8 speed with the front wheel drive models. Previously was using Aisin gearbox. After that change to DCT.

• You are right. The dual clutch is clunky compared to the ZF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Lolipop on Oct 09, 2023 at 12:46 pm

Model Y Standard range RM200K still a no-brainer.. mark up price since BMW sales will definitely affected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 59
    • Mr slim on Oct 09, 2023 at 2:25 pm

Compare between Model Y and this car is wrong. This Model Y should compare with same category. Model Y also not high and tall enough to see outside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Lolipop on Oct 10, 2023 at 2:22 pm

seems like you never sit on Model Y and try to hoo ha here.. go test drive yourself dun be keyboard warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • seems like u dont own 1….time to work hard and buy before u type something u not afford, we call it Keyboard x afford

• Lawson on Oct 10, 2023 at 6:41 pm

I think Model Y could punch above its category. A game changer since it is only around RM200k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Louisa on Oct 10, 2023 at 7:48 pm

lol, later becoming more problems and maintenance can be problems if buying Tesla

• TESLA is NOT LUXURY on Oct 09, 2023 at 4:03 pm

seeing all these worship TESLA comment really LMAO… TESLA is a CHEAP STUFF in US… only you guys in MALAYSIA think its a LUXURY brand and thinking 199k is a good price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • furu odc on Oct 17, 2023 at 10:40 am

nope… for Tesla Msia, that is the ACTUAL price. Because they are exempted from taxes. It is what it is. It is not luxury. It is just a 199k car.
        Meanwhile, for BMW, this is not the actual price due to the taxes imposed on ICE car by the gomen. Without the taxes, this could only be RM180k car.

• AppleTree on Oct 09, 2023 at 11:40 pm

ya no brainer. That’s the same the petrol car owner out there said about you.

• Lick ur own lolipop on Oct 10, 2023 at 9:19 am

Ya la Ya la, Tesla best la, go buy tesla and diam

• Sohai come lick my lolipop on Oct 13, 2023 at 4:58 pm

haha desperate BMW sales.. can change to Tesla sales man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
        • Mango on Oct 14, 2023 at 4:10 pm

BMW salesmen are not talking trash at least, unlike those Mercedes salesmen who always talk trash to not only Mercedes but also other brands including Tesla, BMW. Anyways, Mercedes salesmen are the ones who are very desperate after seeing every new cars from other brands are getting brands as mercedes salesmen as usual talking trash but no facts but always sounds like crying baby as worried on losing mercedes sales to others

• Dusuki tan abdullah on Oct 09, 2023 at 1:43 pm

Baik beli Smart brabus. Lagik laju n mughah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 56
    • Mr slim on Oct 09, 2023 at 2:22 pm

But not enough top speed and not durable as this brand to fight with this car

• Baik beli Myvi je, jangan comment kalao xde RM250k dalam bank account ni, malukan sendiri je

• Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Pears on Oct 09, 2023 at 2:01 pm

Nice powerful SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Isaac on Oct 09, 2023 at 2:07 pm

Better than GLA pre facelift and GLA new facelift

• Cantiknya

• KatakHijau on Oct 09, 2023 at 3:12 pm

Fugly big gigi made for East Asians, do they have Red?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Why so different in spec to Ix1. Still no Assistant Plus and ACC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • trapezium on Oct 09, 2023 at 4:40 pm

Affordable price

• Time to book

• seancorr on Oct 09, 2023 at 6:08 pm

This will do for a small premium SUV. It’s more spacious and offers more kit than the GLA200.

• Kevin Henry on Oct 09, 2023 at 6:13 pm

I laugh when people talk about Tesla Y. LOL Wait till you see the workmanship LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Paula Shy on Oct 09, 2023 at 6:50 pm

Any advantage getting this X1 compares to Mini Countrymen?

• IXMAX on Oct 09, 2023 at 7:24 pm

Cool car

• Hizami on Oct 09, 2023 at 7:42 pm

not even a 360 camera. quite disappointing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • azhar on Oct 09, 2023 at 7:47 pm

2 years std warranty…hahahahahaha..stupid bmw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • ROTI CANAI on Oct 09, 2023 at 9:27 pm

got tesla dont want this kereta yahudi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Wow

• Take my money

• This thing looks awesome

• Ketuanan Iban on Oct 10, 2023 at 2:39 pm

Cape Cork Green will be popular with the Talbans here. Match their house and underwear color and cape.

• hazri on Oct 10, 2023 at 7:10 pm

saw this in penang masa awal tahun ni, in picture doesn’t look good, but in real saw it face to face looks good. looks better than X3 tbh.

• Reading this article I almost fell asleep. Seriously, can it be more boring. ICE, 204 hp, acceleration 7.6s. I would say this is the average of average cars, by today’s standard. And BMW selling for 250k or more. Not even adaptive cruise, seriously? I don’t know what BMW is thinking, maybe want to milk those stupid enough to buy the BMW badge kaw kaw before Chinese brands or Tesla took over? I would not pay even 200k for this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16