Stop work order issued for alleged Genting toll gantry

A stop work order has been issued for the toll gantry that is currently under construction at Gohtong Jaya. As the New Straits Times reports, the order to halt all work on the project was issued by the Bentong Municipal Council (MPB).

According to an MPB source, the stop work order was issued on Wednesday after it was found that the developer did not submit any plans or seek approval from local authorities before it began construction work at the site.

“The developer has to submit a building plan, planning permission and plan consisting details about the piping and road layout, but MPB did not receive anything. No permission was given to build the gantry,” the source told the news publication. The source added that the approval to collect toll charges did not come under the council’s jurisdiction.

Meanwhile, a state government official, who spoke on the condition of anonymity, said the operator had not put forward any proposal to introduce a one-way trip toll charge for Genting Highlands-bound holidaymakers.

“If there is such a plan, it should be brought to the attention of the Pahang government, including the state government’s investment and privatisation department before it is discussed at the state executive council (exco) meeting,” he explained.

Although the proposed toll is being built on private land, the finance ministry and transport ministry had to be consulted on the matter of toll collection. The news report added that Pahang unity, tourism and culture committee chairman Leong Yu Man said that the matter had never been discussed during the state executive council meeting.

Yesterday, Sin Chew Daily reported that motorists travelling to Genting Highlands would soon have to pay toll charges and that Lingkaran Cekap, which is in charge of maintaining the roadworks in Genting, would manage the toll’s operations.

With the latest development, the question is whether the plan for toll collection will go through. Do you think that it will?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ali & Baba business model on Oct 20, 2023 at 7:08 pm

Entrance fee, sharing is caring, cannot selfish ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • Maria on Oct 20, 2023 at 10:52 pm

Terbaik kerajaan negeri PHBN Pahang prihatin rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Recalcitrant Casino on Oct 21, 2023 at 12:57 pm

Hello,No approval yet…tear down the blardy structures.
      Why give them face?
      Rakyat follow undang,get approval,then buat renovations.
      Why give exceptions to multi millionaires ?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 20, 2023 at 7:16 pm

LOLLL typical Chinaman.. “this one my road maa.. why I need to ask gahmen??”.. “I pay the income tax maa.. gahmen must listen to me, we are gahmen boss, we pay their gaji..”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 14
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 20, 2023 at 9:11 pm

Later they will play victim…typical…just like those illegal durian planters on govt land…also in pahang…they think they are taiko meh…some more dare to pose like wakanda…kahkahkah…what a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
    • Peppa on Oct 21, 2023 at 9:33 am

I thought that was chinese trait in general

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
      • Casual reader on Oct 21, 2023 at 2:05 pm

Which why when u let them run gahmen as in 2018 everyone dies. Now they are back again to finish the job and make everyone else not them poorer.

• Aku Melayu on Oct 23, 2023 at 12:28 pm

Don’t be racist to the Chinese pls. You can criticise PH all you want but there is a fine line between that and outright racism against our Chinese friends

• Prepare for impact on Oct 23, 2023 at 4:21 pm

Not racist but it’s reality. Yes not all, but the majority of it like that (kiasu). You may watch Dr. Ridhuan Tee and others for more details about it.

No need for me to do long explanation about it a.k.a redundant.

Even I also don’t condone such behaviour.

A bitter truth always better than a sweet lie.

• Peppa on Oct 23, 2023 at 8:48 pm

What about you label yourself as ‘Aku Melayu’ when you are not? Enough with these victimize minorities mentality bs

• Weird prof on Oct 21, 2023 at 6:35 pm

No, the cost of road maintenance should be borne by taxes paid by Genting Highlands businesses. The higher the cost to maintain the road the higher the business volume and profits of these businesses. Don’t be greedy.

• hfdvj on Oct 20, 2023 at 7:17 pm

uncle ys complain letew

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Kaching on Oct 20, 2023 at 7:19 pm

I’m hearing cash register sound

• Car review youtubers on Oct 20, 2023 at 7:19 pm

Syukurrrrrrrr

• Susukotak on Oct 20, 2023 at 7:54 pm

Dah betul jalan persendirian, apa2 kesalahan yang berlaku di jalan ni tidak boleh guna akta pengangkutan la. Patut ramai kaki racing berani.

• jinggo on Oct 20, 2023 at 9:38 pm

macam mana dia boleh dpt tanah seluas tu? siapa yang bagi dia tanah tu? gila betul la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
    • klooo kloo on Oct 21, 2023 at 2:57 pm

need to learn about the concept of tuan tanah first.. same as all the land that being developed as housing project

• Jonn Dol on Oct 21, 2023 at 6:51 pm

Rampant development on the Genting mountain must stop.

• semenanjung titiwangsa on Oct 21, 2023 at 10:33 pm

anugerah drp wangsa helang

• since no one has confirm this is building a toll house so where is the basis of issuing stop work order?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • jebonman on Oct 21, 2023 at 12:53 pm

maybe they are building pondok2 for young children.
      Poor them…

• Aduyai on Oct 21, 2023 at 1:36 pm

Brader…did u even bother reading the article before deciding to comment….aiyoh….

• Casual reader on Oct 21, 2023 at 2:06 pm

Conlanfirmed dy see the article below.

• the basis is not toll house or not toll house. you build anyhting of a certain size eveb if its your own private land, u need to get approval from local council. just becoz u own the land, u think u can build a stutue of a giant dick on it or not.

• Street racers now have starting position, just like Odawara Pikes Peak from MF Ghost

• Susukotak on Oct 21, 2023 at 11:51 am

Any development on own land need approval from majlis.
    Look for how genting manage to securr land between pahang & selangor.

• FreakingAnnoyed on Oct 21, 2023 at 2:33 pm

Good that government pay attention to this but will government take responsibility to stop people racing up Genting? When people collect toll they want get involved but existing problem they just wash their hand? Should also clarify what is the approval and arrangement with Berjaya to allow them collect money for going up Bukit Tinggi.

• Why need to consult? Is either you need gomen approval or no need. Which one?
    What’s “consultation”?
    If they don’t need consultation when they charge a fee to enter a ride, why they need to consult when charging a fee when enter the road? You could always argue is a theme park entrance fee.

• apa nama on Oct 21, 2023 at 4:19 pm

nanti semua settle selepas bayar…i help u , u help me for all cronies and well connected people……only well connected people can do macam macam…

orang biasa mesti tak boleh la…haha

• PlainBS on Oct 21, 2023 at 8:07 pm

We all should build a toll in front of our house door.

• thanks for confirming on Oct 24, 2023 at 3:10 pm

thanks for confirming that you’re really plain BS

• Esok…24jam, bukan setahun, bukan sebulan..semua hancing. PH Penipu