Proton S70 sedan – why no cheaper 1.5L naturally aspirated engine, or more powerful 1.5 TGDi options?

As the Proton S70 approaches its official launch date, the new sedan has been revealed to use a turbocharged engine that is the 1.5 litre, port-injected three-cylinder petrol unit that is offered in the non-FLagship variants of the Proton X50 B-segment SUV.

Given its engine specifications that would give it an advantage over its rivals that would compete with the S70 on price, it begs the question: why not specify the more powerful, 177 PS/255 Nm direct-injection 1.5 TGDi engine as used in the X50 Flagship and X70, instead?

Based on Proton’s calculations, the carmaker has found that the 1.5 litre port-injected turbocharged engine “is suitable for the S70,” said Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah.

“When we developed this car, we have targets to meet, in terms of fuel consumption, performance, and handling. Going through these targets, we have realised that the [port-injected] 1.5T is sufficient in meeting our targets for this vehicle. That’s why we [have chosen] the 1.5T, and any other options [would be] a plus for us in the future,” Roslan said.

This could mean that while Proton deems the 1.5T engine sufficient for the S70, a door could be open for the S70 to receive a different engine specification in the future.

Conversely at the more affordable end of the S70 price spectrum, paultan.org asked if there had been any consideration for a cheaper engine – could Proton have used the naturally aspirated 1.5 litre unit like the one used in the Geely Emgrand, which could bring its starting price to RM60k, especially since Proton has even higher sales volume targets of late?

“Today, if we [use] a 1.5 NA (naturally aspirated) engine, there is a concern in terms of its suitability for the C-segment, in terms of the vehicle’s weight. In Malaysia, our roads have many inclines [uphills]. We believe that the 1.5T engine, along with the seven-speed dual-clutch automatic transmission will provide a better driving experience,” Roslan responded.

“In terms of [local] production, there is the 1.5T and the 1.5[TGDI]. To use the 1.5 NA engine, that is to say, without turbocharging, the specification of the engine [prepared for turbocharging]. If we don’t [offer the turbocharged engine], the aftermarket will offer turbos. Instead of giving away the [turbo segment] business, it is better we sapu (tackle the market) first,” he added.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• So better ‘sapu’ everything than.

• Sadhu on Nov 23, 2023 at 12:51 am

heard the Standard variant is reserved for future launching especially for e-hailing/ taxi fleet

• Climate Not Changing on Nov 24, 2023 at 8:04 pm

Same 1.5T engine in ALL models. Like sweet old ALL Campro times.

• wahedenator on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:04 pm

I think S70 will not successful as X50.

X50 is very successfull due to selling B-segment SUV 20k cheaper than others (HRV, Corolla Cross).
    X50 also comparable in term of sizing & function being offered.

For S70, Proton trying to compare with C-segment sedan (Civic, Altis, Mazda3) but unfortunately, S70 did not designed to be C-segment in the first place. It is B-segment.
    What Proton is trying to do is basically to sell S70, with similar price range with its B-segment competitor (Vios & City).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • hazri on Nov 22, 2023 at 9:41 pm

ya, in term of design, x50 looks better than hrv and corolla cross, and cheaper. look + cheap = attraction. whatever people say about x50, laju la, baik beli la, just admit it, you buy because it cheap. while s70 not so handsome + not cheap, as same price with city & vios. ya, city & vios not so handsome too, but when have choice, people will choose the branded one. but if can make price less 10k-15k, maybe it gonna attract people tend to buy.

• Autodriver on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:21 pm

1.5NA to move the 1.3 tonne vehicle I believe most people wouldn’t bother to buy the S70 as underpowered. No TGDI as of now is good strategy. If one day Proton comes out with “R3” version and add on TGDI with higher price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • meowman on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:29 pm

Port injection ok lah …. no need to decarbonize every 3 years

I dont want my feeds to be filled with owners complaining ‘Servis Proton mahal’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • newme on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:34 pm

“why no cheaper 1.5L naturally aspirated engine,”
    Because they want to claim it’s a C-segment.

“or more powerful 1.5 TGDi options??
    Because they want to make it cheaper than real C-segment cars.

• Bob Mal on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:37 pm

“When we developed this car, we have targets to meet, in terms of fuel consumption, performance, and handling. (Well didn’t the TGDi beats the TPFi in every single way?)

Also didn’t realised the 3cyl T-PFi engine is already being assembled in Malaysia as there has been no mention but then how is the x70 burnt case any feedback this has been more than 1.5 months and people will be imaginating lots of stories. (but that is another case since that engine is not used for the S70)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Nonsense on Nov 23, 2023 at 12:52 pm

LMAO your brain so simple like coconut. Just bcos it doesn’t include direct injector you think it’s a different engine.

• Lala zai on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:47 pm

You mentioned sapu aftermarket business. Why don’t progee offer ah beng/R3/sticker/lowered/hella flush versions of the S70 too? Certain buyer demographics will pimp the hell out of their cars anyway

• Aiya. No harm to offer the TGDI what. If you talk performance, then Civic 1.5 turbo is more powerful than the S70 MPI. By using the TGDI, then can be very lucrative. If X50 can offer 2 type of engine, then S70 should have follow suit. It may meet your expectations Proton, but Malaysians are always power hungry.

• newme on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:51 pm

“If we don’t [offer the turbocharged engine], the aftermarket will offer turbos. Instead of giving away the [turbo segment] business, it is better we sapu (tackle the market) first,” he added.”

This is the cringiest statement. How many % of people add turbo to their everyday car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Gomorrah on Nov 24, 2023 at 3:10 pm

Exactly. Versus the majority who want a simple engine to take care of with lower running costs. Seriously mau tiru strategy tiru dari Toyota la. They offer N/A engines for their volume sellers – higher reliability scores for them. They also know there is a turbocharging business out there but pass on the voided warranty and maintenance to those people who do it. And they definitely know how to do a turbocharged engine when they have an application for it.

• Pudinga on Nov 25, 2023 at 3:22 pm

Simply put the tgdi engine will break your wallet when comes to fuel consumption,my x70 1.5tgdi could not make it from KL to k.trg on a full tank. U have to add another rm 50 or else stranded by the roadside

• abe jo on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:56 pm

people,, turbo ,people ask for no turbo, if no turbo ,, why no turbo.
    . how about estate variant.id be mre hype i guess

• abe jo on Nov 22, 2023 at 4:59 pm

if NA definitely underpower pulak

• Ben Yap on Nov 22, 2023 at 5:09 pm

it is mainly because of the economies of scale. the current proton line up do not have the 1.5 NA. so it is more efficient in production and also cost to offer the 1.5T. the TGDI version will raise the price tag and make it less competitive to target the B segment and C segment market. so by offering the 1.5T, proton can compete in terms of price for the B segment and compete in the C segment in terms of specs and performance.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 22, 2023 at 5:23 pm

Maybe also because the MPI engine is audibly better? Stand beside an X50 MPI and X50 TGDI. The TGDI car will sound like it has a diesel engine under the hood. This is normal for most direct-injected vehicles especially with the hood open, you can hear more clicks and clatter vs a port-injected engine. But for the TGDI X50s, the clatter is very audible outside the car.

• Lilytan on Nov 22, 2023 at 5:35 pm

The lamest excuse yet. Just say u wanna move upmarket. Upsell your china-based products. If u bring in the 1.5 NA, they have to phase out campro n redevelop local PIES models, which they dont wanna do with the upmarketing strategy. PIES will remain as is, a token for charity and sentimental value for Malaysian.

• perodua user on Nov 22, 2023 at 5:40 pm

Tldr: We offer this engine because we we can sell at this price point. NA have to be sell cheaper, will kacau selling points for other model (Persona, X50). TGDI have to sell more expensive, people will buy Corolla, Civic instead.

• Wiraturbo on Nov 22, 2023 at 6:07 pm

85k up? Who wants to buy it over Vios City Almera… LOL
    They never learn from Inspira Accordana failures.

Lima puluh 1.5NA CVT, 60 max 1.5T la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Just say la we tiru Perodua utilising less variation of engines to scale quantity better in order to save cost. Not so hard to say that out.

• Rakyat Malaysia will make up something negative like “proton greedy” etc in the comment in 1… 2…

• Lotus Emira have AACP from the get-go. And I still remember Hafriz himself said in his Emira review that the IHU was taken lot stock & barrel from Our own Proton X50. Why can lotus have AACP using the same hardware, same source while our beloved ACO are scrambling for new excuses everytime the question about AACP arises?. Please be more productive as this is fast becoming a deal breaker for new customers

• 1.5T is the correct power plant as this car(Emgrand) already about 50kg heavier than the City(most powerful B segment 1.5NA). Still around 100kg lighter than Civic despite similar size.

• Levin on Nov 22, 2023 at 8:59 pm

Most important question is why use the 1.5MPi engine which uses timing belt? This is the same engine offered for X50 range except for Flagship X50 which gets 1.5TDGi engine with timing chain.
    The thing about timing belt is it requires replacement every 90-100k km and it’s like going back to Campro days.

Good luck future S70 buyers, you have been warned.

• Nonsense on Nov 23, 2023 at 1:10 pm

TGDI or not, they’re all timing belt. No timing chain. How often do you see a car stranded because of timing belt failure? Quite rare. Only cheap people who don’t do maintenance will pay the exorbitant price, that include timing chain car owner.

• Sohai on Nov 22, 2023 at 10:21 pm

This Deputy CEO kelaka lah … hahaha
    Better we sapu first? Competing against after market mod pula… hahaha
    I tell you what Mr Deputy CEO, bcos the 1.5T is not a tried and tested platform for this model, you are digging your own grave in terms of reliability of the car.

• Abe jo on Nov 22, 2023 at 10:35 pm

front nice mature design ..ok. but rear bit mundane. Rear need slight quirk design so that to be interesting.

• kenapa tidak hasilkan Sedan enjin 1.5 N.A with DCT gearbox dengan timing chain? Masih lagi guna timing belt, dah tahun ke berapa ni Proton.

• Katheryne Wong on Nov 23, 2023 at 6:30 pm

Ini semua untuk save cost la. Dalam bisnes adalah minimumkan kos dan maksimumkan untung.

• Why no CVT version ahh..pls make cvt version..i love CVT

• Edwin on Nov 25, 2023 at 2:32 pm

Perodua must make a car that is better in perfomance, styling and cost much cheaper than Honda and Toyota .

• Pudinga on Nov 25, 2023 at 3:18 pm

Simply put the tgdi engine will break your wallet when comes to fuel consumption,my x70 1.5tgdi could not make it from KL to k.trg on a full tank. U have to add another rm 50 or else stranded by the roadside