MG MG4 seen in Malaysia – EV hatch coming soon?

The increasingly mainstream electric vehicle category in Malaysia could be about to gain a new entrant in the MG4 Electric, following its Thai-market debut late last year before its showing at the 2023 Bangkok International Motor Show. Here, it’s been sighted by paultan.org reader Fadlul Fikri.

Sold in China as the MG4 Mulan, the MG4 Electric is a hatchback that is approximately C-segment-sized, measuring 4,287 mm long, 1,836 mm wide and 1,504 mm tall with a wheelbase of 2,705 mm. For an EV reference, the Volkswagen ID.3 is 4,261 mm long and 1,809 mm wide, with a 2,756 mm wheelbase.

The test unit sighted on Malaysian roads appears to be of a lower trim specification, given its alloy wheels in a single-tone finish, as compared to the dual-tone machined finish units as seen on the Bangkok show car. Its headlamps and tail lamps however appear to be of the same design as the overseas unit.

The MG4 Electric for Thailand packs a rear-mounted 170 PS/250 Nm electric motor, fed from a 51 kWh battery with liquid cooling. This takes AC charging at up to 4.4 kW and DC fast charging at up to 88 kW, the latter enabling a 10-80% state of charge top up in 35 minutes. With overnight charging via a wallbox, a full charge takes around 8.5 hours. This yields 425 km of range on the NEDC cycle, which should equal slightly under 400 km on the stricter WLTP protocol.

For the MG4 Mulan in China, that model additionally gets the option of a 64 kWh battery, which also gets a higher DC charge rate of up to 135 kW, along with the choice of a more powerful 204 PS motor.

In Thailand, the MG4 Electric is offered in two variants; the D, at 869,000 baht (RM111,376), and the X 969,000 baht (RM124,193). Equipment for the X in Thailand includes LED lighting front and rear, wireless charger, 3D surround view camera, a full ADAS suite and MG’s i-SMART app connect system for checking on the status of the vehicle.

Over in the UK, there is also the MG4 EV XPower, a high-performance version of the MG4 that packs a 435 PS/600 Nm dual-motor powertrain that enables a 0-100 km/h sprint in 3.8 seconds. This gets an uprated chassis and 345 mm disc brakes all around, and went on sale in the UK from 36,495 pounds sterling (RM215,030) in August.

GALLERY: MG 4 Electric X at the 2023 Bangkok International Motor Show

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Too many EVs lah kawan……………

• i tot kl new taxi

• Mulan? It will be weird for men to own it…and the Cherry, definitely not my cup of tea…haaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Anonymous on Nov 25, 2023 at 8:53 am

Why not? A lot of ships have female names and majority of seamen are men. Many car enthusiasts affectionaltely call their cars a “she”, and many of those who name their cars use female names. Aston Martin named their supercar the Valkyrie, a mythological (Norse) group of females who guide the dead to Valhalla.

• What are u trying to prove? U are so open minded and very knowledgeable? Haaaa…. If u can accept l, then fine…everyone has their own preferences n rights to comment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Anonymous on Nov 25, 2023 at 7:28 pm

Your misogyny is very strong and it shows. You’re not even talking about the car.
          Iconic cars have females names and it’s not even the least but weird for men to own it.
          Nissan Silvia, Lotus Elise, Ford Crown Victoria, Ford Caprice, Daihatsu Mira.
          Mercedes-Benz is a female name.

• Sometimes you need to use your brain before making comments. Or else it will sound stupid.

• Plz come out from the cave! on Nov 26, 2023 at 1:12 pm

198, just incase u still inside the cave, MG was owned by brits & sold to chinese. Same as Jaguar, Land Rover is under TATA(Indian), Lotus, Volvo, Smart-chinese. So u think chery brand (50% JV in China venture for Jaguar Landrover) no good think again y mat saleh company need to sold to asian. Sometimes it is so funny to see our ppl look down on chinese company , but the fact is we cant even produce our own car from startup. Instead of hatred, try to learn from them instead. Even the tik tok , handphone u use everyday is from them.

• Plz come out from the cave! on Nov 26, 2023 at 3:30 pm

Correction.We used to able to produce our own car like Iriz, Persona, but now mostly comestic changes..like front grille! Sigh…

• 198 is a fragile pussay lmao on Nov 28, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Bro is so sensitive that he can’t accept female names on cars because it’s not “manly” enough. Fragile masculinity at its finest.

• 198 maybe can’t efforts to buy.. its ok dude

• Saya mau MG, China brand of cars. I love it. Bring more competition!!!

• Matchy on Nov 25, 2023 at 8:38 am

Who bring it in?

• Middle Age Diver on Nov 25, 2023 at 8:21 pm

Looking forward for MG4 to compete with BYD Dolphin. Hopefully the price is competitive when it comes to Msia. No interest in petrol cars anymore.

• Taxidriver on Nov 27, 2023 at 9:00 am

New taxi design is nice

• ThePolygon on Nov 28, 2023 at 9:00 am

The back look like kena hit by rempit.