2023 Honda Civic Type R FL5 in Malaysia full gallery – 2.0T, 319 PS, 420 Nm, 6MT, Sensing; priced fr RM400k

The sixth-generation (FL5) Honda Civic Type R was officially launched in Malaysia in late September this year at a price of RM399,900 on-the-road without insurance. Here, we’re bringing you a full gallery of Honda’s latest and most exciting hot hatch for your viewing pleasure.

Like the fifth-generation (FK8) Civic Type R before it, the new FL5 is powered by a KC20C1 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine mated to a six-speed manual transmission. The mill serves up 319 PS (315 hp or 235 kW) at 6,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque from 2,600 to 4,000 rpm, enabling a top speed of 272 km/h and a 0-100 km/h time of 5.5 seconds.

The FL5’s outputs are higher than what the FK8 offered, largely thanks to changes to the KC20C1 which include a redesigned turbo, a revised flow path of the intake charge, an increase in air intake flow rate as well as a more efficient exhaust system.

Cooling is also improved by 48% with the enlarged grille opening, while the drivetrain gets a lighter flywheel, a more precise automatic rev-matching system and an optimised shift gate pattern with a high-rigidity lever. Other aspects of the powertrain are a helical-type limited-slip differential and an active exhaust valve, the latter further augmented by an improved Active Sound Control.

For the suspension, the front MacPherson struts and rear multi-link gain increased rigidity and have been retuned for better straight-line stability and steering feel. Electronically controlled dampers make a return here, now with an additional Individual drive mode to accompany Comfort, Sport and R+.

The Civic Type R comes with 19-inch alloy wheels wrapped with wider 265/30 profile Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres. The braking system also benefits from better cooling and a retuned booster for better feel and controllability.

Standard equipment for the Malaysian-spec FL5 include automatic LED headlamps, LED daytime running lights, keyless entry and start (with key card), a 10.2-inch digital instrument cluster, dual-zone climate control, an Alcantara-wrapped steering wheel, combination suede and fabric upholstery, sport seats, a wireless charging pad, ambient lighting, a 9-inch Advanced Display Audio head unit (with wireless Apple CarPlay and wired Android Auto), eight speakers, Honda Connect and LogR telemetry logging system.

On the safety side of things, there are eight airbags and the usual array of passive systems (VSA, AHA, ABS, EBD), while driver assistance comes in the form of auto brake hold, hill start assist, front and rear reverse sensors as well as a rear-view camera. Honda Sensing is included as standard, consisting of front collision warning, collision mitigation (AEB), lane departure warning, lane keep assist, road departure mitigation, adaptive cruise control, auto high beam and lead car departure alert.

Unlike other markets, the Honda Malaysia only offers the Civic Type R in a Championship White finish. Going through the official channel to own one nets you a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty with free labour service up to five times within 100,000 km or five years.

For 2023, the first batch of cars allocated for Malaysia is limited to just 19 units, all of which are most certainly accounted for following the conclusion of a ballot draw on October 2020. As we were told during the launch several months ago, more units will be coming in 2024. Can’t afford one? Well, there’s always Gran Turismo 7.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Malacca Boy on Dec 27, 2023 at 11:22 am

Mereciks hawau

• Panjang on Dec 27, 2023 at 12:19 pm

More power yet cheaper, Baikbeli Subaru impreza

• 400k?..lol

• I thought u had brought good news that price is going to come down….sigh…dissapointed…

• People like you….really never learn, why not u go think how to earn more money instead of asking every goods to drop price ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • Hahahaha…correct…that’s why i am buying bitcoin.
        Do you have some?

• Bob Mal on Dec 27, 2023 at 1:41 pm

Even the Toyota Corolla GR is cheaper than this when the retail price is slightly higher in the USA when compared to this Type-powaRRR Malaysia.

• timbuktu on Dec 27, 2023 at 2:23 pm

this is a joke. only fanboys blinded by what’s better out there will buy this joke.

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 27, 2023 at 2:29 pm

so lanewatch ada ke

• anonymous on Dec 27, 2023 at 2:33 pm

is the pricing supposed to be a joke?

• plakat on Dec 27, 2023 at 3:27 pm

M3, 4 far more better. GT3 RS even better. for city, golf R.

• I thought only 200 units available for M’sia and need to ballot? Oh, play trick je, takda orang beli kot…haaa

• Fanboy 101 on Dec 27, 2023 at 5:33 pm

Kia stinger butt really?

• RandomDude on Dec 27, 2023 at 7:05 pm

Just owned this with my M340i lol no competition at all

• Tan Ah Biao on Dec 28, 2023 at 9:33 am

Serious question, who is this for? This 400k car is better than which car?

• Sohai on Dec 28, 2023 at 12:34 pm

The serious answer is that it is for people that enjoy driving manual performance oriented car (not just big power and torquer like the GTs). There is really not much choice. In this segment only there are GR Corolla and Yaris. Both are at the same price bracket and sold out too. Civic Type R adds abit more practicallity compare to the toyotas.

I think there is no question that this car is very driver focus and fun. Whether is worth rm400k? Depends what you value more.

• 4Wheeler on Jan 01, 2024 at 12:15 pm

Maybe its for those collectors, heard that this will be the last ICE Type R. The next Civic Type R will be an EV.

• FL3 civic then add on bodykit is cheaper, or this fl5 type r is cheaper?

• alibaba on Dec 28, 2023 at 3:29 pm

woaW!! a slower spec than thai spec

• Dong gor on Dec 28, 2023 at 5:20 pm

Can this beat a Tesla that is half the price?
    Who are you trying to milk…

• Cipai on Dec 28, 2023 at 6:20 pm

On a race track? Yes.
      From KL to penang? Yes.

And Tesla at its current price is because of duty.
      Tesla may have the power, but it lacks handling, breaking, top speed to be call a sports car. And it you drive the car hard, the range will be significantly shorter.