2024 Tesla Model Y updates in Malaysia – privacy glass, full double glazing, HW4, no parcel shelf

A couple of weeks ago, we got a hold of the keys (or rather, the card) to the Tesla Model Y Performance, the first time we’ve seen the electric SUV in the final form that Malaysian customers will get. During our time with it, we noticed several details that were not present on either the launch cars or the Standard Range model we briefly drove.

The most noticeable change was the addition of privacy glass, the rear side windows and windscreen being considerably darker than the rest of the windows. This seems to be linked to an unfortunate change for 2024 – the deletion of the rear parcel shelf, which would otherwise hide your belongings from prying eyes.

This is a strange omission, as the parcel shelf was only added to Model Y production last year. Tesla’s rationale is that with the privacy glass, the rear windscreen is dark enough that passers by will not be able to see what’s in the boot without actually peering through the glass.

Double-glazed rear side windows were first seen on the Model 3 Highland

Also related to the glass is the inclusion of full double glazing for the side windows, not just for the front; this was first introduced on the Model 3 “Highland” facelift last year and makes for less wind noise. Last but not least, the Model Y we drove sported the latest “Hardware 4” cameras for the Autopilot semi-autonomous driving feature.

These can be picked out through the slightly larger camera modules on the front fenders and the tailgate, along with the distinctive red-tinted lenses. These provide higher-resolution imagery visible on the surround view monitor as well as a more true-to-life white balance, with less of the yellow tint seen on the 2023 cars. Unfortunately, the hardware change has also apparently resulted in the halving of RAM to 8 GB and storage to 128 GB, presumably to save costs.

We should point out that the car we drove lack the updates introduced in China in October, which added some of the detail interior changes of the Model 3 Highland. These include visible, customisable ambient lighting and fabric instead of wood decor.

The 2024 Model Y gets the latest Hardware 4 cameras but lacks a rear parcel shelf

The updates tide the Model Y over for a fourth consecutive year without any major changes. It was widely anticipated that the SUV will be getting a facelift for 2024 – codenamed Project Juniper – following in the footsteps of the Model 3’s Project Highland revamp, but Tesla has already instructed dealers to communicate to customers that there will be no such refresh this year.

Otherwise, the Model Y Performance is the same as before, capable of getting from zero to 100 km/h in 3.7 seconds, hitting a top speed of 250 km/h and achieving a range of 514 km on the WLTP cycle. Performance-specific upgrades include 21-inch “Überturbine” wheels, a carbon fibre rear spoiler, bigger brakes and lowered suspension. It’s priced at RM289,700 excluding on-the-road registration fees, RM89,000 more than the base Standard Range.

If you ordered the Model Y, you’ll have to wait a bit more to get your hands on your new car. Deliveries are only due to start in April, having been delayed from the Q1 timeline provided at the launch.

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ROTI CANAI on Feb 14, 2024 at 11:24 am

seems like the rear ultrasonic sensors are gone too

• Interesting to see a minor facelift that is actually a downgrade in some areas… but this will still sell very well. Already seeing lots of Model 3s in KV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Tak kisah on Feb 14, 2024 at 3:56 pm

Ada aku kisah? Kepala hotak dia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • anonymous on Feb 14, 2024 at 5:35 pm

there is absolutely no justification for the removal of the parcel shelf no matter what.

• Silverado on Feb 14, 2024 at 11:31 pm

Is the privacy glass JPJ compliant?

• Yes, is legal. Rear windows visibility can even 0% (can’t see at all).
      You can refer link below.
      https://paultan.org/2023/10/06/jpj-reminds-motorists-to-follow-window-tint-rules-or-face-rm2000-fine-public-can-share-info-on-offenders/

• Chow ah beng on Feb 15, 2024 at 9:43 am

Just wait for juniper. Take now syok sendiri then 1 year later become old shit. Worst still 5 years down the road, the resale value will be even shittier as compare to juniper model.

I already forego my 1k booking since already wait since July 2023. Use my down-payment money and huat in stockmarket for another year.

• alldisc on Feb 15, 2024 at 10:36 am

i am wondering what may happen to the 188k and 199k starting price of Tesla once the tax free incentives for EV cars expires by 31st December 2025.

Being CBU from mainland China, the prices could easily shoot up beyond 450K. unless of course, Tesla is Asean CBU.

• Mr Mar on Feb 16, 2024 at 9:17 am

Are the changes applicable to all variant?

• this reviewer macam siol… fair enough you dont like the look of model Y. i can confidently say your mum loves the way you look too. btw, different owner using separate phones activates different driver profiles la. and please.. AC charging @11kw of course charge whole night la. and bro. which other car brand you see is building our charging networks in malaysia for their cars?