Only 10% have registered on PADU – low numbers will affect accuracy needed for handouts, says academic

Have you registered details on the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database? Well, if you haven’t, you’re in the majority, and that’s not really good news in terms of determining accuracy for planned handouts.

According to the statistics department, only 10% of Malaysians have registered on the database, with just 3.08 million of the 30.08 million Malaysians automatically registered by the system having signed up and verified their details as of February 13. With the March 31 deadline for registration being not that far away, it looks to be an uphill climb to get the numbers necessary for policy formulation of targeted subsidies and cash aid.

As has already been indicated, PADU will be used as a key component in how the government retargets subsidies and assistance, with household net disposable income metrics set to be used to provide a fair picture of the socio-economic position of every Malaysian household.

An economist says that the low number of registrations may make it challenging for the government to target aid initiatives better. Universiti Teknologi MARA faculty of business and management senior lecturer Dr Mohamad Idham Md Razak said it was concerning that of the total number of registrations, 1.2 million were from civil servants, the New Straits Times reports.

“Low registration rates may result in inadequate data collection, making it challenging for policymakers to accurately assess programme impacts and make informed decisions for future planning and improvement. Worse, the government initiatives also may fail to achieve their intended outcomes and impact if they do not reach a significant portion of the target population, resulting in wasted effort and taxpayer money,” he told the news publication.

Idham said that should the government not properly address the needs of the lower-income group, it could lead to widening income inequality. “Low participation rates could result in resource misallocation and inefficiencies in programme delivery, ultimately undermining the effectiveness of government initiatives,” he explained.

He said concerns over the security of data had been a deterring factor for many in registering with the database, and called on the government to ramp up efforts to reassure the public of the safety of their data. “In addition, clear communication regarding the usage, storage and protection of personal information on PADU should be provided, ensuring compliance with relevant data protection regulations,” he said.

He also suggested that improvements be made to the registration process. “They can simplify the registration process to make it more user-friendly and accessible, particularly for individuals with limited digital literacy. Providing clear instructions, multilingual support and assistance centres for those requiring help navigating the registration platform would also be beneficial,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Most comments express skepticism about the effectiveness and security of the PADU registration system, with concerns about low registration rates, data privacy, and applicability mainly to the poor or tax-paying citizens. Several commenters see the low turnout as a sign that Malaysians, especially the middle and upper classes, are reluctant to trust government initiatives or see little personal benefit. Many criticize the subsidies removal or targeted subsidy plans, viewing them as unfair to B40 and M40 groups, while some call for returning to previous systems like GST. There is also a pattern of political criticism, with various parties blamed for past failures and corruption. Overall sentiment ranges from distrust and skepticism to frustration with government policies, emphasizing that low registration might reflect voter dissatisfaction or lack of confidence in current leadership.

• Nurul Izzah on Feb 20, 2024 at 11:29 am

Anwar menang, subsidi hapus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:32 pm

This shows only 10% trust Anwar. He is dead PM walking. Time for a new election as the rakyat has lost confidence in this PH Gomen. The time to UBAH is NOW!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 78
      • Sathia on Feb 20, 2024 at 1:47 pm

Ubah to what may I ask?
        BN = PH
        PN is not good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 25
        • President xi on Feb 20, 2024 at 2:15 pm

Consider communism

• History Bender on Feb 21, 2024 at 2:47 pm

Arent we doing it now with DAP part of the gomen?

• Dah Menang Semua on Feb 21, 2024 at 6:33 pm

PH/ BN/ PN
            Who as government also same
            They will remove the subsidies

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Feb 22, 2024 at 9:41 am

We had subsidies for 60 years under BN while PN & PH wants to remove it. It is clear which gomen is taking care of rakyat for 60 years. High time for us to return to a pure BN rule.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Feb 20, 2024 at 4:01 pm

60 years of pure BN rule has brought this much success and only a pure BN Gohmen untainted by PH imbeciles & untrained politicians will able to propel Malaysia forward again. Right now with this Madanon we are at reverse gear with the PN Islamist horde at the gates!

Kick out Zahid & bring back the old guard!

It is time we Make Malaysia Great Again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
          • Last time, you said PN did a good job. Why the u-turn? is it cuz you are a non??

60 years of BN rule includes FM Anwar and PM4 Tun M. So you admit that they are great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • Lembukini on Feb 21, 2024 at 12:37 pm

Browns got scammed big time by PN clowns

• Lets See on Feb 21, 2024 at 12:51 pm

Back then Firaun & Semburit were not agent Yahudi. Now is totally in their pocket.

• Lets See on Feb 21, 2024 at 12:53 pm

Browns & nons got scammed by PH & PN.

• Skmeday on Feb 21, 2024 at 1:00 pm

Meanwhile, PN supporters are upvoting the brainless comments and no knowledge, seems that PN supporters dont read history much

• PlainBS on Feb 21, 2024 at 2:29 pm

Whats the difference between PH trolls upvoting their own comments and downvoting others? PH also tried to rewrite history by whitewashing the sins of Madey, Anwar & their lackies politicians like Muhy & Daim & Azmin Ali et al once they join the Opposition. Now these jokers oppose PH they are suddenly the bad guys again? Who the stupid ones here?

• of course it is on Feb 22, 2024 at 1:24 pm

you

• Pakngah dulu Pas on Feb 20, 2024 at 5:04 pm

Asalkan bukan PN PAS …serik dahh

• seems lots of ppl want abahcow, hadi duta & semburit to be back in power? they performed better during their last stint as govt???

• Richard Teo on Feb 21, 2024 at 9:44 am

Malaysia so many rich people…

(2014) BOSSKU era
          Replace fuel subsidy with targeted hand-outs https://paultan.org/2014/11/18/replace-fuel-subsidy-targeted-cash-transfers/

(2019) Mahathir 2.0 era
          1/RON 95 targeted fuel subsidy plan is ready, Cabinet approval soon – electricity bill to determine eligibility https://paultan.org/2019/09/28/ron-95-targeted-fuel-subsidy-plan-is-ready-cabinet-approval-soon-electricity-bill-to-determine-eligibility/

(2022) PERIKATAN’s era
          2/Govt fuel subsidy bill expected to be RM28b for 2022, blanket subsidy to end in favour of targeted subsidies https://paultan.org/2022/05/21/govt-fuel-subsidy-bill-expected-to-be-rm22b-for-2022-blanket-subsidy-to-end-in-favour-of-targeted-subsidies/

3/BMW cannot receive the same subsidy as Kancil, says Azmin as he calls for targeted fuel subsidy system https://paultan.org/2022/05/24/bmw-cannot-receive-the-same-subsidy-as-kancil-says-azmin-as-he-calls-for-targeted-fuel-subsidy-system/

4/Targeted fuel subsidy pilot test – B40/M40 to receive e-wallet credit, but everyone to pay higher fuel prices https://paultan.org/2022/07/29/targeted-fuel-subsidy-pilot-test-b40-m40-to-receive-e-wallet-credit-but-everyone-to-pay-higher-fuel-prices/

(2023) Anwar’s era
          5/Formulating a targeted subsidy mechanism ‘complex’, but gov’t working on it as fast as possible https://paultan.org/2023/06/19/formulating-a-targeted-subsidy-mechanism-complex-but-govt-working-on-it-as-fast-as-possible-anwar/

6/Government conducting public survey on targeted subsidies – RON 95 implementation in 2H 2024 https://paultan.org/2023/12/04/government-conducting-public-survey-on-targeted-subsidies/

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 21, 2024 at 12:32 pm

You forget that Bossku era not only have handout with BR1M but also got fuel subsidy petrol @ RM 2.05/Liter. USD at RM 2.50. So under him dua-dua pon dapat.

Under PH Madey2.0, BR1M dah kurang. SST masuk balik, harga keta naik.

Under PN, dorang bagi petrol under RM 1.50/Liter. Syukur.

Under PH Anwar, not only handout become smaller, RM is also shrinking, inflation going up, more taxes inkambing, now fuel subsidy mau potong. USD becoming RM 4.70. This is fast becoming the worst gomen in Mesia history.

So it is no wonder that rakyat wants to bring back Bossku. We were glorious & had economic prosperity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
          • skemday on Feb 21, 2024 at 1:04 pm

But why PN had failed in the long term. Even Ismail Sabri as Ex-PM actually doing much better than PN Moo and the gang, who stole RM600 billion from our rakyat money, also never develop our country better, no people interest but only interest PN politicians themselves

• smkeday on Feb 21, 2024 at 1:05 pm

But agree that Bossku can do much better and even also better than PN Moo and the PN gang

Reply to Rakyat Malaysia

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Feb 21, 2024 at 4:22 pm

Why settle for which shit is less smellier when 60 years we have no shit? Once PM Najib is freed we can go back to 60 years of no shitting around.

• Keluhuran Perlembagaan on Feb 21, 2024 at 7:40 am

You should stop acting like a small kid. Malaysia has got a constitution & it says that next GE will be held after the present federal administration has completed its 5 year term. So, you should wait until after year 2026.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • Jeremy on Feb 21, 2024 at 12:37 pm

What PH bullshit. UK had 3 PM changes within the same electoral period. That is also okay in their constitution, no Brit question that, and our Constitution is based on the UK one as much as our laws are derived from them. Next time read more and dun acting small kid.

Since PH is incapable they must change or be changed now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
          • skmeday on Feb 21, 2024 at 1:02 pm

But we dont need another backdoor government and r u also trying to cause lots of problems again. Many said all dont want to have backdoor government. Moreover, there is anti hopping law means here. Grow up

• Keluhuran Perlembagaan on Feb 21, 2024 at 1:59 pm

Actually u r da 1 acting like a small kid. Those recent changes in individuals holding the British PM post, were due to the shift in support within the ruling British Conservative Party, which still has the majority in the British Parliament’s House of Commons. Thus, despite the change in PM, there were no changes in which party or coalition that runs the British government. And, of course, if the British people wants a change in their government, they can vote in their next general election which is expected to happen soon, just like what we are supposed to do here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • skmeday on Feb 21, 2024 at 2:14 pm

Keluruhan Perlembagaan

And so are you too where you also dont read enough history much? You are the one who act as 7 year old/15 year old but not matured enough especially the way you are commenting here. I know history much and better knowledge. And the way you are commenting, you are actually twisting your stories probably somehow off topic or talk A or B or probably changing from front door government or back door government, anyways, I don’t know what are you trying to say. But in here, backdoor government is illegal as many people including myself already experience during pandemic. Enough is enough. No wants interested with politics, except you. We want peace unlike backdoor government or PN that causes major problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • You mean PN is more incapable than those previous government and now and doing all funny things during March 2020 – August 2021?

• skemdau on Feb 21, 2024 at 2:21 pm

Keluruhan Perlembagaan

Wait, Apologies bro. I actually replying to you as wrong person. You are actually right and got better knowledge and well-known history unlike Jeremy here who supports corrupt PN

• skemday on Feb 21, 2024 at 2:23 pm

Keluruhan Perlembagaan

Yes you are right. This shows that you have red history unlike some of PN supporters here who keep simply blah blah but lack of knowledge

• Jeremy on Feb 21, 2024 at 5:31 pm

More PH BSing. Their Govt got the chance to reform when Agong then asked them to choose a new PM but their MP has lost confidence and jumped ship which caused PH Govt to fall. There is no backdoor, they had their chance and they screwed up by dropping the ball. In the UK, there is precedence as Jim Callaghan’s Labour Government fell from office prematurely when they lost the vote of confidence. Labour did not hew & cry they got robbed or Thatcher’s Govt was backdoor. Instead it heralded a new age of UK prosperity & advancement under Thatcherism. There is nothing illegal about a peaceful Govt change unless via invasion or coup de etat neither which happened in 2020.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
          • Keluhuran Perlembagaan on Feb 22, 2024 at 2:00 pm

To: Jeremy
            While it’s true that Jim Callaghan’s Labour govt did lose a vote of confidence in the British Parliament in March 1979, his govt was not taken over by Margaret Thatcher & her Conservative Party just like that. That loss in the vote of confidence brought about a British general election in May 1979, which was won by the Conservative Party.
            In contrast, the Sheraton Move in Feb 2020 started when almost all Bersatu MPs & a few PKR MP’s withdrew from the ruling PH coalition at that time, causing PH to lose its majority in the Dewan Rakyat. The MPs who left PH, then join hands with the MPs from BN, PAS & GPS to form a new federal govt without having to hold another GE.

• The Truth on Feb 20, 2024 at 4:31 pm

Anwar menang, subsidi hapus, rakyat jelata sengsara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Feb 20, 2024 at 6:26 pm

Just give handouts to M40 n B40 .
      T20..doesnt need handouts..what for register?
      I tekan tekan,take photo,get anak to bantu..finish..BLARDY SMS….GAGAL,buat lagi satu kali or cari bantuan centre.
      We didnt vote for this F …up thing.
      Comeon..PMX ..surely we PH voters deserve better treatment.

• Ex PH Supporter on Feb 21, 2024 at 2:23 pm

You PH voters deserve to bend over and get shafted which is what happening now. So pls enjoy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Kea Was on Feb 20, 2024 at 11:46 am

First of all the statistic is also not right since in 2022 working adults only made out of 15.39 million. However this system is doom to fail firstly:

B40 – wont register, not bothered, tak tahu and probably dont support this government and if they dare not to give handouts some are likely gonna get screwed.
    M40 – depends if they are worried or supportive of government may try to register but majority others will hold out just to delay government implementation and if they do not get handouts also they will scream that they have rights & privileges.
    T20 – no way they gonna register since it does not benefit them in anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 6
  • bersyukur? on Feb 20, 2024 at 11:49 am

doubt in the safety of our data.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • walaun on Feb 20, 2024 at 2:10 pm

data apa yang kau ada?? hahahaha
      ada 100juta dalam bank ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
      • Ini saja on Feb 20, 2024 at 2:28 pm

Nama, no. IC, umur, jantina, status perkahwinan, bilangan anak, kaum, agama, no. talipon & alamat

• Lets See on Feb 21, 2024 at 12:42 pm

Basically all the data required to qualify someone to vote or as phantom voter. Still want to trust your data to this Gomen?

• If its so PADU and sophisticated(claiming data from all resources bla bla bla), just give subsidies as you yang maha besar thinks fit ( we cant argue anyway) besides voting you out next election ️

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • PAdu is just a shorten name for P – Pakatan Harapan, A – Amanah, D – DAP and U – Umno leerr…..

• Celup King on Feb 20, 2024 at 3:22 pm

Just vote them out. Simple. Such useless and incapably Gomen should not be controlling us. Even BR1M under Pak Najib was so far much better run program which allowed senior & less tech savvy folks to register with help of others. Lets just bring back Pak Najib to run the Gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • Rosie M on Feb 21, 2024 at 11:15 am

Oh thank u so much for supporting him.. Actually I’m the one who gave him the good ideas :)

• Why So Serious on Feb 21, 2024 at 12:45 pm

Deng Xiaoping once said; it does not matter if it is a black cat or white cat or fat cat as long as it does good for the rakyat it is a ora good cat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • Rosie M on Feb 21, 2024 at 1:36 pm

Can I advise u something? My darling is no pussy cat!

• Why did he mention different cats? on Feb 21, 2024 at 2:13 pm

He used different cats as an example because he wanted to justify his communist party’s action of switching to capitalist free market reforms despite ideological conflict.

• Celup King on Feb 21, 2024 at 2:34 pm

Too bad Pak Najib did not roared back when PH came slandering. He was too much a dignified gentleman for the dirty business of mudslinging politics by PH & PN.

• @Why did he mention different cats?
            Basically it doesnt matter if communism is good or capitalism is bad, or vice versa but whatever is good for the rakyat it should be implemented. The same goes which side has been taking care of the rakyat?

• Rosie M on Feb 22, 2024 at 1:21 pm

Luckily my darling followed my advice & acted like a gentleman. If not, they wouldn’t have considered halving his sentence.

• Celup King on Feb 23, 2024 at 12:00 pm

But if he did not remain a gentleman and played the dirty political game finishing his political opponents like they did to him, he would still be our PM today, Madey & LGE & Muhy would join Anwar to rot in jail, RM would still be strong in the region, inflation would be under control, GST would help to keep the subsidies going, and race relations would have been better under the concept of 1Malaysia. We could have all these but we threw it away.

• Rosie M on Feb 23, 2024 at 11:43 pm

Being a gentleman does not mean that my darling was too soft for politics. Behind the scenes, he was hard hitting enough when he needs to be. Too bad I was even blamed because I always advise him something for his own good.

• black or white cat is also a good cat as long as the party owns & controls it on Feb 24, 2024 at 10:30 am

hey joe..
            Of course DXP was thinking in the interest of his fellow citizens because at the end of the 1960’s after 20 years in power, he & some of his fellow party seniors had realised that PRC was getting left behind by most of the other Asian nations in terms of economic development and they knew that significant changes have to be made. But they had to wait as they didn’t want to become victims of MZD’s on-going ‘cultural revolution’ at that time. It was only after MZD’s death, they began to gradually implement economic reforms. Naturally, DXP must have been concerned that PRC citizens may start to question the relevance of his party as these reforms progress, and thus his well known ‘black or white cat is a good cat as long it catches mice’ analogy. But we may also never know whether he had also in his mind that ‘black or white cat is also a good cat as long as the party owns & controls it’.

• Why ah? on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:06 pm

I wondering why they cant take the info from dept of statistics & lhdn?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • newme on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:09 pm

Handouts vs real risk of losing life savings to scammers due to stolen/sold personal data.

You choose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Taxpayer on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:14 pm

We just wanna see menteri formula fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • isiPADU on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:25 pm

when you make the data available for your usage, doesn’t it violate any laws that are already in place, e.g. PDPA?

• Suburuk on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:29 pm

People like the adrenaline rush…when the announcement goes like “Starting tomorrow, those who are not registered, will have to FILL IN RON 97 petrol and unsubsidised diesel @rm3.50 per litre”… ha ha…

• Dear Rafizi, when you keep on lying, people will never believe you again in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Feb 20, 2024 at 4:03 pm

Dear PH, when you keep on lying, people will never believer you again. EVER!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Proton oh Proton on Feb 20, 2024 at 12:52 pm

ini alamat bersedia utk tukar kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
  • Chong on Feb 20, 2024 at 1:26 pm

the low registration numbers can also be an indicator of voter support for the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • Tapak warisan UNESCO on Feb 20, 2024 at 1:39 pm

Parlimen got confidence test
      Rakyat got popularity test

• newme on Feb 20, 2024 at 5:35 pm

You scold your children does not equal to you want your children to fail.

• Lets See on Feb 21, 2024 at 12:50 pm

But when you reject your children you ady given up on them and no longer care whether they live or die.
        90% of rakyat has given up on PH ady.

• YB Pasola on Feb 20, 2024 at 1:43 pm

Good news for government , this means many Malaysian are well paid worker

• Malaysians should learn from citizens of neighbouring countries on Feb 21, 2024 at 7:49 am

Except for Brunei, fossil fuel prices in neighbouring ASEAN nations are more expensive than in Malaysia. Malaysians should learn from the low & medium income citizens of these countries on how they cope with their higher fuel prices, instead always being expected to be spoon fed with subsidized fuel prices.

• YB Pasola on Feb 20, 2024 at 1:48 pm

Good news for government , this mean 90% Malaysia are well paid worker

• Iykyk on Feb 20, 2024 at 2:08 pm

Vigilant Malaysians know it’s not just about the safety of the data itself but also the risk of losing the fundamental rights as citizens. We’ve seen this drama 3 years ago.

• pengguna ploton kecewa on Feb 20, 2024 at 4:25 pm

MySejahtera saga.

• Avenger on Feb 22, 2024 at 10:05 am

The scammy & scummy Selangorku app that without your consent or explicit approval had applied your details to opt into Selangor insurance scam program.

• Nodok on Feb 20, 2024 at 2:42 pm

To make things easier only give aid who have an LHDN file . This is to encourage people to declare tax and second heavy penalties if found under declare income .

• Logical Deduction on Feb 21, 2024 at 5:37 pm

Most people in B40, the ones in need, does not have file in LHDN as they had never qualify to pay taxes so giving aid only to those whom have tax records is a major disservice to those who truly need help.

• Ben Yap on Feb 20, 2024 at 2:48 pm

PADU is not only for handouts. it will also be use to see how much Government can tax those doing well. Those doing well will definitely not register because they will not get any benefit and risk getting taxed further.

• JAMAL on Feb 20, 2024 at 3:03 pm

Only wanna see what sotong sumbat gonna do next. He said
    PADU is a game changer. Game changer my azz

• ollie on Feb 20, 2024 at 3:08 pm

the only reason i registered was to protect my own password and details. anyone can register for anyone. im sure there are a lot of fake accounts already registered, Pizi doesnt brain enough to impose most basic security controls.

• Couldn’t care less about PADU… MADU… and all the DU’s from the current government. You want to take away the subsidy, by all means take it… I’ll just work harder to compensate. One thing for sure the current govt time in office is numbered…

• neutral on Feb 20, 2024 at 4:44 pm

It’s doomed from the very beginning. A lot of the people are waiting to see it fails. There’s no way to get the intended data unless the government revert to the “Incentive Approach” to suit the mentality of the majority of Malaysians. Another “handout”, a Rm50 or Rm100 cash voucher will be credited for anyone who completed the upload of his or her personal data to the PADU. Ha ha ha!

• Mentality of the majority of Malaysians on Feb 24, 2024 at 12:08 am

“This work is either too difficult, dirty or dangerous for me to do.. Let the foreign workers do it..”

• Bossku, in jail! on Feb 20, 2024 at 7:02 pm

The problem here is no problem! There are certain people who just don’t want to admit that Bossku, the one still in jail, was right about some things! Having GST was the fairest tax on everyone. It was raising revenue for the garmen, even though much of it might have gone to service 1MDB debt that Bossku and his gang had knowingly denied knowing! Anyway, if we still have GST, we won’t need to talk about cutting this subsidy for T20 or M40 or whatever! There is no way the country can continue to grow the public sector workforce and pay them high salaries and pension for life! It’s f***ing joke! How many rich countries actually do that? Unless Malaysia has suddenly become rich, the country needs to cut spending what it doesn’t have. But then again, how is the garmen going to win the next GE if the head does not pander to its base supporters and all the political parties? It’s ridiculous to have assistant ministers to ministers! Then again, the garmen also awarded Harimau Malaysia RM5,000,000 for losing in the Asian Cup to loser countries and could only draw with South Korea (this is an achievement to the garmen!) Way to encourage future generations to aim for mediocrity!

• cupin on Feb 20, 2024 at 7:44 pm

boycot PADU, subsidies for all citizens

• DisappointedRakyat on Feb 20, 2024 at 8:23 pm

Economy is so bad, and now the government is introducing PADU to rampas the subsidies you entitled. Rubbing salt on your wound. This target subsidy plan is far worse than Najib’s GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Sceptical T20 on Feb 20, 2024 at 10:10 pm

I am not registering for these very reasons.
    (1) No benefit to T20
    (2) The ISM and cyber security of the system cannot be trusted. Hackers will have your data and sell you private confidential data to bad actors.
    (3) The Padu system was not developed by experts from industries. The interface looks cheap and not user friendly. Suprisingly, there is no linkage with other government agencies like LHDN to collect up-to-date data.
    (4) The country is heading to a wrong direction. The Madani and his economy minister gave excuses, than workable solutions and strategic visions. Our ringgit is falling as investors seek dollar for confidence than ringgig.
    (5) Our growth will be mediocre for many years to come without real reforms:
    a: GST must be reinstated.
    b. SMEs must be given tax breaks to reinvest and create growths.
    c. FDI and investors must be given confidence and followed with concrete plans, sound policies, rule of law that protect their investment, not with U turn atter change of premier.

• Bossku, still in jail on Feb 22, 2024 at 6:06 am

If one garmen is predominantly dominated by 1 mediocre R, because the private sector refuse to hire them, then, this PADU thing is exactly what you get! In the meantime, that little red dot down south of Negara Johor, with its own army, will continue to attract Malaysian Talents! So, go Harimau Malaysia, continue to be mediocre so that RM can continue to depreciate and cause higher inflation so that some people will vote out the incompetent and replace with slightly less incompetent garmen! Quite frankly, PAS could do a better job! Even if most people might have to change their names one day like in Indo!

• I’ll never download this digital ID. We’ve learned enough during the scamdemic.

• Robinhood on Feb 21, 2024 at 1:13 pm

This system is not linked to the banking system. No way the income will be accurate!!! There are millions who under declare or doesn’t declare income at all. How about the shadow and black economy???? The minister fikir pakai lutut ke or is he too lazy to think holistically????? Worst part is there is no info on the criteria at all to who qualify for the subsidies. Why should we give them the data and then allow them to use for whatever reasons (from political to economy) without accountability and security assurance.

• Evidently, PMX doesn’t have the numbers.

• High Income Country My As on Feb 22, 2024 at 11:51 pm

Our government said they target to make Malaysia a high-income country by 2030.
    On the other hand, they introduced this target subsidy system, seems to me is to make the middle-income group suffer more. Now middle-income group would need to work forever to climb to the high-income group. Continue to drive your Honda Civic, no Type R.