Jaecoo J7 – Malaysia to be the first SEA country to launch SUV in first half of 2024; CKD; from RM160k est

Malaysia will be the first country in Southeast Asia to get the Jaecoo J7, which will be launched in the first half of 2024. Jaecoo will be marketed as a completely separate brand from Chery and its introduction here will be accompanied by 20 dealerships ready to go nationwide.

The J7 has already undergone off-road testing at the Malaysia 4WD Training and Experience Centre (M4TREC) last month, with the company boasting the capability of the All Road Drive Intelligent System (ARDIS) with seven selectable terrain modes.

Prior to this, the premium off-roader was previewed to members of the media as well as potential dealer investors, where we also got initial specifications. Under the bonnet of the J7 is a 1.6 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine that outputs 197 PS (194 hp or 145 kW) and 290 Nm of torque, paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.

In terms of dimensions, the J7 measures 4,500 mm long, 1,865 mm wide, 1,680 mm tall and has a wheelbase of 2,672 mm. That makes it about the size of a Toyota Corolla Cross while also smaller than the Mazda CX-5.

Other key stats include a ground clearance of 200 mm, a wading depth of 600 mm, 21 degrees of approach angle and 29 degrees of departure angle. The J7 also has a maximum towing capacity of 1,300 kg, a roof load capacity of 75 kg as well as a boot space of 412 litres.

A finalised kit list isn’t out yet, but the preview vehicles were equipped with a head-up display, a 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster, a 14.8-inch touchscreen infotainment system, climatised front seats, dual-zone climate control (with rear vents), a powered tailgate and a panoramic sunroof. There are also 21 intelligent driving functions (or ADAS), including automatic emergency braking (AEB), lane departure warning, adaptive cruise control and blind spot monitoring, just to name a few.

At the time, we were told the J7 will be priced close to the Chery Tiggo 8, which goes for RM159,800, and it will be locally-assembled (CKD) from the start. The J7 isn’t the only ruggedised SUV coming our way, as there’s also the GWM Tank 300 that arrived in Malaysia earlier this month. Which one are you looking forward to?

GALLERY: Jaecoo J7 preview in Malaysia

GALLERY: Jaecoo J7 at M4TREC

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bob Mal on Feb 23, 2024 at 1:45 pm

The article did not say that the Chery Tiggo 8 Pro is a 2.0 TGDi while the J7 starting will be powered by 1.6TGDi but then honestly I will still choose the J7 if the same price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Najib on Feb 23, 2024 at 3:04 pm

Dimensions (L x W x H):

Jaecoo J7: 4,500 x 1,865 x 1,680

Mazda CX-5: 4,550 x 1,840 x 1,675
    Honda CRV: 4,635 x 1,855 x 1,680
    Subaru Forester: 4,640 x 1,815 x 1,749
    Toyota RAV4: 4,600 x 1,855 x 1,685
    Proton X70: 4,520 x 1,830 x 1,695

Toyota Corolla Cross: 4,460 x 1,825 x 1,620
    Honda HRV: 4,335 x 1,790 x 1,590
    Chery Omoda 5: 4,400 x 1,830 x 1,590
    Proton X50: 4,330 x 1,800 x 1,610

The Jaecoo J7 is clearly closer to the typical C-segment SUVs in terms of dimensions. The Corolla Cross is an outlier as it slots between the Traditonal B-Seg and C-Seg.

Toyota Corolla Cross

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Son of a Muhiy on Feb 23, 2024 at 3:36 pm

I’m amazed how much of research you can do from prison. My question is, are you still in prison?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Najib on Feb 23, 2024 at 4:47 pm

Only a fool would think im actually in prison

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • Prison Guard on Feb 24, 2024 at 10:47 am

That’s it! Look here bosku, we’ve renovated your unit and those gold plated stuffs don’t come cheap. We even gave you access X and Facebook.
          Yet, you did us dirty by reducing your tenancy to half and now you wanna tell the world you’re not in prison? May I remind you, DSAI, Tun and Pak Din’s patience are running thin if you don’t play along well. Best get back to the plot and you still owe us.

• Dah Menang Semua on Feb 26, 2024 at 7:26 pm

Missing the Wheelbase data
            Try better next time. TQ

• Seowkia on Feb 25, 2024 at 12:53 am

Obviously this is not the Boss.

• Clean King on Feb 23, 2024 at 3:26 pm

This is the viral SUV all car enthuaist is really waiting to test drive. 1.6cc turbo with so much power to carry such a big car. Mind blowing. No wonder TATA sub all their new Range Rover to Chery to manufacture. Sure sell like crazy. Roadtax pun murah.

• youngun on Feb 23, 2024 at 5:13 pm

Let the price tag do the talking later.

• Looks like Malaysia has been a dumping ground for china cars- all other car price is increased – china cars is becoming affordable. This seems unfair for the buyers in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
    • Cars are actually affordable. It’s the gomen tax that makes it expensive.

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 24, 2024 at 9:42 am

Dumping ground? hahahaha. The only dumping ground country that I see is dirty looking countries like India and Africa. Malaysian roads is looking better and better everyday with all these nice chinese cars and Tesla on the roads. Gives a very good impression to tourists when our roads are filled with newer cars instead of kancil and rusty wira.
      China cars are cheaper because they have smart government to keep their inflation at zero and keep manufacturing cost low. Most other countries have weak brainless leader which cause them to face recession like Europe, UK, Japan etc. That is why other car brands that do not manufacture in China will cost more and more. Elon pandai to open factory in China. That is why Tesla also cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • jimmy on Feb 24, 2024 at 11:10 pm

Dumpest statement I’ve ever heard so far dude… kudos to your teachers.

• Mike Tee on Feb 26, 2024 at 3:44 pm

Price high, unfair. Price low, unfair? Short short day

• 160K ? A bit pricey for a newcomer. It is a just rich brother of Omada 5 which priced at max 118K. I see 140K is more realistic for J7 top model.