Proton Saga – two million units of the national car sold

The Proton Saga has surpassed the two million-unit mark in units sold, the carmaker has announced. The nameplate spans four generations beginning in 1985, which was succeeded by the second-generation model in 2008, followed by its facelift in 2010.

The Saga SV arrived in 2013 as a value-added base variant, before the third-generation car was launched in 2016. This subsequently received its first facelift in 2019, when it swapped its CVT gearbox for a four-speed Hyundai-sourced unit.

Another update for the Saga followed, in the form of the MC2 ‘minor change’ facelift that arrived in 2022. This carried on with no mechanical changes, continuing to use the 1.3 litre naturally aspirated inline-four petrol engine with 95 PS and 120 Nm, with the Standard MT variant becoming the sole manual transmission variant across Proton’s line-up.

One mechanical change to the Saga came in mid-2023, when the sedan switched from the Hyundai automatic transmission to a Aisin-sourced unit, continuing to be a four-speed gearbox.

Looking back to earlier versions of the Saga, there continues to be much affection for the original, exemplified not least by this 1990 1.5S model as restored by Dream Street Restoration.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Its a great option for the majority who can afford this only with a long term loan.

• Sick&Tired on May 24, 2024 at 11:45 am

I wouldn’t use the word, beloved! We were forced to buy the saga! Lets be honest, how many of us would have bought the saga if there was no high tax on imported cars? I drove one when I was in college, mine had rust spots everywhere despite me maintaining it properly! And the ironic part is after all of our sacrifices (we all had to sacrifice buying better cars or paying high duty and not only high duty, but if you took a bank loan, you were also paying interest for the tax!), Proton ended up being bought by a Chinese company!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • opmanmy on May 25, 2024 at 10:44 am

Jaguh kampung. Haha…beloved…what a word to describe it!

• Oh my gaud...dont ever,ever ever get a proton on May 25, 2024 at 6:33 pm

The current Saga with 4 speed auto gear(from Hyundai)is the worst of the lot.
      2 gear box failures within a month ,is a norm now.
      Dont ever waste your time and money on it.
      My friend was so pissed off…the gear could only go as far as 3rd gear…in warranty P1 workshop..twice within a month..the workshop dudes..as usual..like the Roslan dude..tons of excuses.
      He traded the damned Saga to a used car dealer,while still at the blardy P1 workshop.He later,went to a P2 dealer to get a Bezza.The bezza is not perfect,but has less issues.

• pernsu on May 24, 2024 at 11:49 am

They forget to include scalpers friendly HotWheels’ Saga.

• A corporate failure living on with citizens money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Oilyfans KOL on May 24, 2024 at 12:25 pm

Kudos to owners and drivers of Mitsubishi Lancer Fiore variants and Proton Savvy Sedan variants

• Diam-ler on May 24, 2024 at 2:11 pm

What’s so national car about it?

it killed the Malaysian automotive industry, we lost to Thailand as ASEAN automotive hub export

cut the whole forest to save some old trees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • John Gagal on May 24, 2024 at 2:31 pm

The reason why Malaysians cannot buy BYD Seagull electric car RM50K price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • when BYD want to set up the Plant and give Rakyat hi-tech Job?

American also tax chinese car 100%

• opmanmy on May 25, 2024 at 10:44 am

Couldn’t agree more. Well said.

• Frankc on May 24, 2024 at 3:01 pm

The “Saga continues”….

• Ben Yap on May 24, 2024 at 3:28 pm

Proton Saga sold 2 million over 39 years which is about 51k units per year. That’s ridiculously low. Xiaomi a new comer in EV can sell close to 90k units from April to May.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Pro Ovaltine on May 25, 2024 at 11:45 am

This tin kosong car legacy zuking money from rakyat. Last time selling 40k one time.

• Boone on May 25, 2024 at 1:01 pm

I guess when you raise the tariff for imported cars, there really isn’t much of a competition anymore is there?

• Bolehland on May 27, 2024 at 2:12 am

From C-Segment to A-Segment…

• ahbeng on May 27, 2024 at 10:20 am

The reason why we cant afford proper built Jap/Conti cars at RM80k. Thanks to proton/perodua, we are paying rm60k for milo tin car.

And because of Proton, Thai should thanks Tun M for making thailand the automotive asean hub.

• FireAce on May 27, 2024 at 3:56 pm

Slot in between all the news about new car, new model, new tech, new prototype in the motor show report series, comes the “Proton Saga – 2 Million car sold” piece…

Other than the Ah Beng’s 3R Rally Car & this SAGA story, Proton really got nothing to tell ehh…