Targeted diesel fuel subsidy implementation date, mechanism to be announced soon: PM Anwar Ibrahim

The implementation date and mechanism for the targeted fuel subsidy in Malaysia will be announced soon, Bernama has reported.

According to prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, the matter will be explained by finance minister II Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan, because the prime minister has given an overview and follow-up action is to come. “Some people ask why? Not all prime ministers do it. I give the big picture and framework, then there will be follow-up action,” the prime minister was quoted as saying.

From a separate Bernama report last week, minister of domestic trade and cost of living Datuk Armizan Mohd Ali said that all ministries involved are ready, and are only waiting for the government’s announcement of the implementation date before the fuel subsidy rationalisation is carried out.

The other ministries involved include the finance ministry, the transport ministry, the agriculture and food security ministry, the plantation industries and commodities ministry, and the entrepreneur development and cooperatives ministry, Armizan said.

Meanwhile, the ministry of domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN) will implement several measures to ensure no parties take advantage of price gouging on price-controlled goods after the diesel fuel adjustment has been announced.

Last week, the prime minister announced that the government will proceed with the implementation of targeted fuel subsidies, with the Cabinet having agreed to the move. This will begin with diesel subsidy rationalisation in the peninsula, with that for Sabah and Sarawak to be set aside until later.

The prime minister has also said that the government does not intend to introduce a new taxation system, and instead implement a fairer targeted subsidy mechanism that meets the needs of the people.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 27, 2024 at 11:41 am

As above.
    PH Gomen continue to troll millions of Msians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • U turn...u turn...u turn on May 27, 2024 at 2:27 pm

In politics….U turn is very biasa.
      Those elected bersatu dudes u turned,supporting Madani germen.
      Lets wait and see lah…RM 3.50/litre July1…floated price.
      Diesel first…then months later..petrol.
      Lets see how gargantuan are the backlash.
      The economy is still in the doldrums…many thousands r still jobless…those having jobs r jittery they might be retrenched soon.
      Doing away with subsidies is the correct thing…but the timing is just not NOW or a month away.

• Angry Voters on May 27, 2024 at 6:07 pm

There is no such thing as subsidy, according to his mentri formula it is all paid for with higher global oil prices. They must give what they promised!

Pakatan Rakyat Leader = Pakatan Harapan Leader
        Promises of Pakatan Rakyat for RM1.50/L petrol = Promises of Pakatan Harapan

Stop defending and give us cheap fuel that we voted for!

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 28, 2024 at 10:25 am

When PM Najib is back and running the country with a pure BN Gomen with full rakyat support, he will start by lowering the PH cekik darah taxation thru a lower 6% GST to replace 8+10% SST, then direct payments of cash to B40 via BRIM2.0, then inflation will be lower when our RM rises back to RM 2.5 per USD, with a stronger ringgit there will be less reasons for foreign cars to come take our subsidised petrol so there continue to have cheaper petrol for our rakyats, with a stable gomen back on track to high income more investments will flow and this brings more professional jobs for educated rakyats then they no more need to leave the country to work, this helps to bring more prosperity & happiness to all rakyat when everyone has jobs and money in their bank accounts.

We can’t wait for the day to kick out useless PH Gomen & PMX into Klang River which they repolluted after Najib has cleaned it up! Rakyat was truly senang under PM Najib now we regret putting him down.

• Inflation on May 27, 2024 at 11:56 am

Please welcome my arrival with red carpet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Everyone on May 27, 2024 at 6:15 pm

Are you sure you aren’t already here, or should we put out the red carpet for your brother: RECESSION?

• Bankruptcy on May 27, 2024 at 7:35 pm

I’ll come after he arrives. AKPK hotline ringing non-stop now.

• PH Supporter on May 28, 2024 at 12:25 am

PH Gomen is bankrupting the country? Well isn’t that what we voted for?

• Robinhood on May 27, 2024 at 1:33 pm

Sabah Sarawak no rich people and foreigners. Come on, don’t take advantage of your supporters in Peninsula Malaysia!!! You really think you can bully orang Semenanjung!

• Ben Yap on May 27, 2024 at 4:00 pm

if you read in between the lines “the government does not intend to introduce a new taxation system”, this means there might be new taxes being introduced instead of changing current the taxation system. Madani government can introduce new taxes that they deem profitable to take more from the rich.

• 4GR-FSE on May 27, 2024 at 6:00 pm

yea.. lesser privately owned Hailak on the road..

• dumas on May 30, 2024 at 9:33 am

Politic fanboys detected and oh my english…..

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on May 30, 2024 at 11:25 pm

As above.
      PH Gomen continue to troll millions of Msians