Peugeot 408 in Malaysia – over 300 bookings; 60% for top GT variant, 22% for Premium, 18% for Allure

Peugeot Malaysia has announced that the recently-launched Peugeot 408 has accrued more than 300 bookings since the order books opened this year, with the vast majority opting for the top trim level.

The proportions for bookings split between variants were 60% for the GT, 22% for the Premium and 18% for the base Allure, according to Peugeot Malaysia, which it says is “testament to the market demand and popularity of the car”. Launched last month, the 2024 Peugeot 408 started from RM146,055 for the Allure, ranging up to RM166,055 and RM196,055 for the Premium and GT variants, respectively.

“Today marks the starting point in the Peugeot 408 story as we begin delivering customer orders. The feedback and response have been positive, and we look forward to maintaining and keeping up with the momentum of the 408. We are also pleased to celebrate our first 10 owners and we welcome them and future 408 owners to the Peugeot family,” said Stellantis Malaysia managing director Jamie Francis Morais.

From launch, all three variants of the 2024 Peugeot 408 are powered by the firm’s 1.6 litre PureTech turbocharged inline-four cylinder petrol engine that outputs 218 PS at 5,750 rpm and 300 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm; outputs which are sent to the front wheels through an eight-speed automatic transmission.

2024 Peugeot 408 GT in Malaysia

The GT variant is identified externally by its Monolithe black alloy wheel design, automatic matrix LED headlamps and 3D ‘claw effect’ LED tail lamps, along with its front grille finished in body colour.

Interior equipment for the 408 begins with vinyl trim for the base Allure, while the Premium gets leather upholstery, and the GT cabin gets Nappa leather, which also gets driver’s seat memory and massage functions (all three variants get electric adjustment for the driver’s seat).

Further highlights of the GT variant include 3D quartz i-Cockpit instrumentation with configurable i-Toggle controls, 10-speaker Focal audio, and a cabin air cleaning system.

All Peugeot vehicles in Malaysia, including the 2024 Peugeot 408 range are covered by a seven-year/200,000 km warranty.

2024 Peugeot 408 GT in Malaysia

2024 Peugeot 408 Premium in Malaysia

2024 Peugeot 408 Allure in Malaysia

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Try to test drive and try to if you can see the dashboard

• M. Ahmad on May 28, 2024 at 10:25 pm

I tested during Malaysia Autoshow, with Karamjit doing one lap and I drove another. The dash is actually easy to see

• Saw the car last week, and noticed the bonnet lever is at the passenger side…LOL…do L to right conversion do properly lah..potong stim betol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • I think the fuse also in the storage compartment over the left side

• Fortunately, the fuse is not longer at left side. The glove box is fully usable. I have checked during my test drive last 2 weeks.

• ROTI CANAI on May 28, 2024 at 9:06 pm

out of the 300 how many are stellantis orders

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Hnggghhh lots will masuk workshop soon. J/K. Hope they change that image soon.

• Seng Tow Truck Sdn Bhd on May 29, 2024 at 2:07 am

Got breakdown of orders per state or not.? I plan to deploy my drivers. Easy pickings.

• Sohai on May 29, 2024 at 7:41 am

It will be like the s70. Launched, lots of bookings, but can’t see one on the road.

• “wow, paying RM200K for a Peugeot. very brave buyers. 20 inch tyres, another wow for a 1.6T car /Peugeot

in past, 20 inch tyres reserved for high end sports car and BMW 7 series where owner don’t mind spending big money to change tyres

• Clean King on May 29, 2024 at 11:39 am

Ini kereta if not worry about resale value then ok. Very very hard to sell 2nd hand. No value punya

• Ollie on May 29, 2024 at 7:11 pm

Wow more than 300 bookings for this French car.
    Wow more than 300 people with no financial literacy.

• waiting game on May 30, 2024 at 2:45 pm

if were to buy, ill wait 5 years for used unit, 30% retail price, TQ to the first owner who purchase new car, greatly appreciate your contribution.

• Ollie on May 31, 2024 at 9:26 pm

hahahaha and pay 35,000 RM for a out of warranty engine and transmission repair hahahah