2024 Mercedes-AMG C43 launched in Malaysia – 408 PS/500 Nm, 2.0L four-cylinder turbo; CKD, RM443,888

Previewed in April, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has officially launched the W206 Mercedes-AMG C 43 4Matic in the country, the performance sedan being introduced today alongside the V177 Mercedes-AMG A35 4Matic facelift and H247 GLA 35 facelift.

Priced at RM443,888 on-the-road, without insurance, the new C 43 is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, which takes over from the 3.0 litre V6 seen in the W205 iteration of the model type. The M139l delivers 408 PS and 500 Nm, which is 41 PS more and 20 Nm less than the old V6’s output.

Like the M260 mill seen on the two AMG 35s, the engine is paired with a second-generation 48-volt mild hybrid system with a belt-driven starter generator, which offers 14 PS (13 hp or 10 kW) of extra push under hard acceleration. The unit also facilitates smooth operation of the engine’s start-stop system and gliding mode functions.

Working in conjuction with an AMG Speedshift MCT 9G nine-speed automatic gearbox and an AMG Performance 4Matic all-wheel drive system, the four-pot gets the car to 100 km/h from standstill in 4.6 seconds, which is a tenth faster than the W205 C43, on the way to a 250 km/h top speed.

Standard equipment includes Digital Light headlamps, Dynamic Body Control suspension with adaptive damping, a rear axle steering (with a maximum angle of 2.5 degrees), five-twin-spoke 19-inch AMG light-alloy wheels and an AMG sports braking system with 370 mm front brake discs with silver-painted four-piston fixed calipers and 320 mm rear discs with single-piston floating calipers.

Exterior design elements include an AMG-specific radiator grille with vertical struts in chrome, an AMG front apron with flics, sporty air intakes, a rear silver-coloured diffuser apron and quad exhaust finishers.

2024 W206 Mercedes-AMG C 43 4Matic spec sheet. Click to enlarge.

Inside, you’ll find a healthy dollop of AMG-specific cues, including AMG sports seats upholstered with Artico synthetic leather and Microcut microfibre and an AMG Performance steering wheel in Nappa leather. Also on, red seat belts, carbon fibre dash trim, AMG-branded floor mats and AMG illuminated door sill trims, among other things.

Standard fit items also include a panoramic sunroof, a Burmester 3D surround sound system, AMG Track Pace, a head-up display, a wireless mobile charger as well as a Driving Assistance Package Plus with Distronic active distance assist. Parktronic active parking assist and active lane keeping assist. The C 43 also comes with a Parking Package with 360-degree camera, as well as Guard 360° Vehicle protection.

GALLERY: W206 Mercedes-AMG C43 4Matic in Malaysia

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Buy Macan EV jer.

• meladam on Jun 21, 2024 at 5:01 pm

launched at the roadside only? what they want to tell consumers? easily breakdown LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Hindsight is often 20/20 on Jun 21, 2024 at 6:20 pm

What’re the profiles of people who would be interested in buying this? And those two AMG 35s.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 21, 2024 at 10:16 pm

tesla model 3 and byd seal eats this poser for breakfast

• Why C43 2.0L when you can get a cheaper M340i 3.0L…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • BEV adoption on Jun 22, 2024 at 7:22 pm

0-100 in 4.6sec is not bad, but for rm443,888… it’s bad.

• Fujiwara Takumi on Jun 23, 2024 at 1:42 am

Lmao, using a 4 banger engine means this car is dead on arrival. Nobody will be choosing this over the M340i that sports the revered B58 i6,which is also much much cheaper. Pre-reg m340i M Sport Pro’s go for 350k, that’s a huge difference. Not to mention the M340i is undefeated in it’s class. Sharper, sleeker and faster. Did I mention the excellent B58 engine?
    MB shot themselves in the foot ditching the V6 for a 4 banger. At least the W205 C43 offered a somewhat compelling alternative with its characterful engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Ollie on Jun 24, 2024 at 9:28 am

Sure if you’re addicted to BMW shiny fragile unreliable components, sure. The modern era doesn’t need 6 cyls, but it’s fine go for the shiny cement colored bmw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 29
      • Fujiwara Takumi on Jun 26, 2024 at 10:34 am

The B58 is legend due to it’s high tuning potential and Japanese like-reliability.

You do realise that the B58 is so reliable that even Toyota used it in their Supra, right?
        Not to mention the fact that Toyota also sourced the B48 4 pot engine from BMW for the base option in the Supra.
        Both engines are known to be the best in terms of reliability, refinement and power in its class. Again, to reiterate, the new gen BMW engines are so reliable that Toyota sourced not ONE, but TWO engines for use in the new Supra. Both engines are class leading.

The irony of you calling a BMW shiny, fragile and unreliable when comparing it to a modern MB is not lost on me, how do you think this C43’s overstressed 4 pot engine and its mild-hybrid components will fare in the coming years? If you’ve owned a recent model year Benz you’d realise this. You’re unaware because you can’t afford these cars.

Also as the final nail in the coffin, there is simply no replacement for displacement. Again, you have no understanding of this as you’ve never driven a bigger engine than your 1L 3 pot.

Stay in your lane and look at Axias and complain about how expensive they are, you pleb.

• Bee Eng Da Biu on Jun 23, 2024 at 9:41 am

That’s a 50k premium over the M340i, for 2 less cylinders. No sane person would forego the B58 for this.

• Ollie on Jun 24, 2024 at 9:25 am

I would buy this used after 3 years for 200k but the 4matic is problematic. I can’t touch a used 4matic, if only it was available without 4wd.