GWM Tank 300 Malaysian launch in mid-July – first 300 buyers to get lifetime engine warranty, 5-yr free service

Great Wall Motor (GWM) Malaysia has announced that the first units of the Tank 300 have now arrived in the country, and that the off-road SUV is all set for a mid-July launch, with deliveries to begin right after that, as scheduled.

As previously indicated, the Tank 300 will arrive here as a CBU fully-imported offering and will be offered in its non-hybrid 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine form. The mill puts out 220 PS (217 hp or 162 kW) and 380 Nm, and drive is delivered via an eight-speed automatic transmission and a dual-speed, electronically-controlled part-time four-wheel drive system.

Technical highlights include an all-terrain control system with nine driving modes, a ramp angle of 23.1° and a maximum gradability of 70%, along with a maximum wading depth of 700 mm. Inside, cabin highlights include a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and 12.3-inch infotainment touchscreen as well as Nappa leather upholstery.

Standard fit items include a nine-speaker Infinity sound system, automatic air-conditioning and double-layer acoustic glass, among others. Final pricing still hasn’t been revealed, but it is anticipated that the SUV will be priced at around RM250,000.

As a gesture of appreciation, GWM is offering the first 300 Tank 300 customers a five-year or 100,000 km free maintenance package as well as an unlimited mileage lifetime engine and transmission warranty, although the latter is only applicable to the original purchaser of the vehicle. The company added that these first 300 customers will also receive mystery rewards.

“We have great confidence in our products’ quality, and we want our owners to feel equally confident, and assured about our commitment to them. Thus, we are offering an unlimited mileage lifetime warranty for the engine and transmission to our first 300 owners,” said GWM Malaysia MD Mike Cui An Qi. “As always, delivering exceptional service and rewards has been one of GWM’s core practices to maximise customer satisfaction and trust in our brand,” he added.

GALLERY: GWM Tank 300, Malaysian preview

GALLERY: GWM Tank 300, first drive, China

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Thanks but I will wait for jetours T2 or BAIC bj80

• Uoung on Jun 29, 2024 at 1:08 am

WOW

• Enough of cina car on Jun 29, 2024 at 10:14 am

Good. Bring in more. No resales value. Use for lifetimes

• opmanmy on Jun 29, 2024 at 11:34 am

Wow…unlimited mileage warranty. Now, that’s something to shout out for. Bagus!

• Dont get cheated on Jun 30, 2024 at 11:04 am

You have to service there to get LIMITED life time warranty.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 29, 2024 at 5:51 pm

will the brand be here for a lifetime? nothing is forever

• Boring design on Jun 29, 2024 at 8:29 pm

Siapa nak beli? Rm 80k boleh lah.

• Lifetime engine warranty, surely services must be done at authorised centres

• Enough of cyber-warrior that knows nothing on Jun 30, 2024 at 11:45 am

Are you a professional off-road player?
    If yes, please share your off-road experience.
    Some professional off-road players
    have something different to say.
    Before you show your 5 cents,
    please do some research.

• Enough of cyber warriors that knows nothing. on Jun 30, 2024 at 11:48 am

Are you a professional off-road player?
    If yes, please share your experience.
    Real professional off-road players have something different to say.
    Please do some research before you show your 5 cents.