Take pictures of modified vehicles on the road and viral it, we will track them down – Kedah police chief

Motorists in Kedah are being urged to take pictures of modified vehicles on the road, and make them viral online. This is a way to combat illegal racing and the activities of ‘samseng jalanan’ and Mat Rempits, says Kedah police chief Datuk Fisol Salleh. His officers will then do the rest.

“I want Kedah people, please take pictures if you see vehicles – whether it’s cars or motorcycles, even bicycles. If a motorcycle is modified and doesn’t follow specifications, tayar sotong (super skinny tyres for less drag), brakes removed, upgraded carburettors to merempit, take pictures and viral it,” Fisol said, reported by Bernama.

“If these vehicles are on the road, take pictures. The police will track them down to their homes,” he added. While he said ‘ambil gambar’, the state police chief likely meant videos as well.

Fisol said that the enforcement order has been issued to all district police headquarters in Kedah, especially to the traffic and related departments. He added that the cooperation of all parties, especially the community, is very important to ensure that Mat Rempit activities can be tackled, avoiding unwanted incidents with other road users.

It might sound extreme, but the cop has a good point. Most, if not all bikes used for illegal racing have tell-tale signs – no one uses the undersized tayar sotong on a workhorse or daily ride.

Last month, two young riders aged 16 and 21 died in an illegal race in Klang, and a horde of Mat Rempits were seen riding against the flow of traffic on the LDP recently to avoid a roadblock. Perhaps it’s time for PDRM to strategically deploy buses at roadblocks to ensure that the backdoor is closed, just like how they do it in Johor.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ben Yap on Sep 26, 2024 at 3:25 pm

their bikes should be confiscated and auction off. the proceeds use for helping B40 or upgrade our roads.

• anatoly on Sep 26, 2024 at 3:37 pm

who’d wanna buy these garbage?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 26, 2024 at 5:31 pm

Why not track down the MPs that are going to propose to bring back GST after they have campaign in bringing down BN using GST? Please send them to prison for lying to rakyat!

• suka guna singal on Sep 26, 2024 at 3:33 pm

mana nombor whatapp? nak hantar 100 keping gambar ni!!

• Kenny Tan on Sep 26, 2024 at 3:54 pm

I think PDRM, Local council that confiscated any vehicles/motorcycles should sent to their own yards to restore back to original and gifted to those needy people and lower income people that don’t have the means of transport. The govt should chips in some allocation for parts needed to restore the confiscated vehicles.

• Yeah right. After that, they will ask you to be witness and kena masuk court during trial. Anyone done that before should know it.

• Raja Kamarul on Sep 26, 2024 at 5:24 pm

What a silly idea. If we can see them in broad daylight, you can see them too.

You also know their favourite hangouts, race circuits, and friends. Some of them are in your own staff’s neighbourhoods.

Enforcement in Malaysia is a joke! How many illegally-sized number plates are there for cars, luxury or otherwise, and for motorbikes (with their plate numbers inside the rear wheel housing) are traversing our streets? At any given traffic light, you can nab these people immediately.

On plate numbers, make the compliant size a part of EVERY Puspakom inspection, including for ownership transfer and registration interchange. If you make these simple changes, you will have a compliant society faster than you can say “bribe”.

• call me by your name on Sep 26, 2024 at 5:29 pm

…or you could do more enforcement

• Susah mahu paham on Sep 26, 2024 at 6:22 pm

Wahai Abang Polis
    Tak payah pergi jauh2 & susah payah.
    Pergi YouTube .. konten creator itu sendiri fly Superman turun naik highway macam pelesit ..

Tak kan tu pun nak ajar .. macam tak betul je
    Ni pelaku rakam diri sendiri, lagi upload kat YT. Tunggu apa lagi .. aiyo

• Terima kasih tuan.
    Ada siapa2 buka satu group atas FB utk viralkan video photo semua ni tak?

• Victor Lee on Sep 26, 2024 at 7:49 pm

How bout motorcar using motorcycle number plate size?

• Batman on Sep 26, 2024 at 9:14 pm

Track the sellers 1st….

• Laugh on Sep 27, 2024 at 8:42 am

Why Kedah only?
    Others no need?

If really wanna do something about this, just go round KL.
    Everyday everytime everywhere can surely see at least 1 or two modified vehicles including illegal tinting, small/fancy number plates, especially modified motorcycles and bicycles at the PPRs riding around after hours.

• yusrykru on Sep 27, 2024 at 12:48 pm

apa hal nak buat kerja susah sgt, just go the the source straight la, all these accessories, workshops yg jual n pasang the parts, cut the head trus, the body will fall

ini semua wayang