MG5 launched in Malaysia – C-seg sedan at City/Vios price, 1.5L NA CVT, 1 variant, Thai CBU, from RM87k

Previewed in August, the MG5 is now officially launched in Malaysia. SAIC Motor Malaysia has given the striking-looking C-segment sedan a pretty interesting positioning – at RM93,900 on-the-road before insurance for the sole CBU Thailand variant (RM86,900 with the intro offer, more below), this is a Civic-sized car for the price of a City. You can’t have it all though, so the powertrain also follows the City/Vios class norm.

We’ll first look at the MG5’s size. At 4,675 mm long and 1,842 mm wide, the MG5 is comparable in size to the Honda Civic FE (MG is 3 mm shorter, 40 mm wider), and its 2,680 mm wheelbase is well within the class ballpark (Toyota Corolla 2,700 mm, Civic 2,735 mm). The boot size is 401 litres.

So, unlike the Proton S70 – which is officially branded by its maker as a C-segment sedan although the dimensions are closer to a B – the MG5 has a ‘fastback coupe-style’ C-segment body. Actually, the ‘Civic size, City price’ line and all C references are ours – SAIC is marketing the MG5 as a B-segment rival to the City/Vios, one that’s largest in its class.

That’s a correct move IMO, as under the MG5’s hood is a powertrain that’s in line with B-segment norms – a 1.5-litre naturally aspirated four-cylinder unit paired to a CVT. The ‘DVVT’ engine makes 114 PS and 150 Nm of torque at 4,500 rpm. For context, the City has 121 PS/145 Nm and the Vios gets 106 PS/138 Nm. The MG’s CVT has eight virtual speeds with a manual mode. Disc brakes all round (ventilated in front) and a rear torsion beam, by the way.

As for standard equipment, the MG5 comes with LED automatic headlamps and daytime running lights, LED taillights, 17-inch two-tone ‘Tomahawk’ alloys (215/50 tyres), black leather upholstery with red accents (red is also found on the doors, steering, shift boot), single-zone automatic air con with PM2.5 air filter and rear vents, six speakers, cruise control and an electronic parking brake with auto hold. There are also kit that are unique to the B-segment, such as a powered sunroof and a six-way powered driver’s seat.

As for screens, there’s a 7.0-inch digital instrument cluster and a 10.25-inch central touchscreen with Apple CarPlay, Android Auto and feed from a 360-degree camera. Below the screen – which is angled towards the driver – is a row of hard buttons for the AC and volume, which is a good thing.

On the safety front, there are six airbags and an MG Pilot suite that includes blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, lane change assist and rear collision warning. No AEB though, which is a glaring omission and possibly the only blot on the MG5’s otherwise very nice equipment copybook.

The MG5 will be available in five colours, which are Dynamic Red, Arctic White, Black Pearl, Camden Grey and the hero Nuclear Yellow you see here (other colours in the launch gallery below). SAIC Motor Malaysia is offering a five-year, unlimited-mileage vehicle warranty for its first ICE model here. The powertrain gets a separate seven-year, unlimited-mileage coverage.

Once again, the RRP for the MG5 is RM93,900 on-the-road excluding insurance, but there’s an introductory RM7,000 rebate, which brings the price down to RM86,900 for early birds. By the way, after factoring in the intro rebate, your downpayment can be as low as RM3,000, Quite an eye-catching price don’t you think?

For your reference, the Honda City is priced from RM84,900 to RM99,900 for the petrol variants (hybrid is RM111,900) while the Toyota Vios price range is from RM89,600 to RM95,500. The Proton S70 – the only 1.5L turbo DCT sedan here – retails from RM73,800 to RM94,800. What do you think of the MG5’s looks and package?

GALLERY: MG5 Malaysia launch

GALLERY: MG5 in Malaysia, Nuclear Yellow

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments focus mainly on safety concerns, with many criticizing the MG5 for its zero-star ANCAP safety rating, which raises red flags for buyers. Some defend the safety features, emphasizing that the Malaysian version meets local safety regulations with six airbags and MG Pilot assist technology. Comparisons with the Vios are prevalent, often claiming MG5 is more powerful and safer, though many note safety doubts about Vios as well. Enthusiasts praise the car's design, size, and value for money at its price point, while others express skepticism over the safety shortcomings and lack of advanced driver assistance features like AEB. Overall, the discussion blends admiration for the vehicle’s aesthetics and pricing with serious safety reservations.

• Habislah Toyota Vios

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 11
  • Switch on Oct 03, 2024 at 6:21 pm

Beauty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • Cool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • K-Car on Oct 03, 2024 at 6:26 pm

More choices for B segment sedan market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • How come they can provide the other safety stuff but not AEB, which is arguably the most important one? Glaring omission indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
    • Torres on Oct 03, 2024 at 6:51 pm

But at least this car have more safety overall anyways

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
      • What’s the Ncap rating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Sheldon on Oct 04, 2024 at 9:45 am

But all that for zero star ANCAP rating. Are you going to buy one since you sound like a staunch supporter in the comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 55
        • MG5 time on Oct 04, 2024 at 11:00 am

Try vios and see, definitely more regret than buying mg5. Not only just have to go workshop quite often, even also worried that Vios where vios also not proven safety rating

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
          • newme on Oct 07, 2024 at 12:08 pm

How bad a Vios can be compared to a zero star Ancap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • Hunta on Oct 07, 2024 at 2:36 pm

@newme have you check from many website that vios uses daihatsu parts, did you know how unsafe was like what happened to p2 owners complaining that p2 also part of daihatsu? Did you think worst safety than MG?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • @newme
            That is Australia specification for MG5 and what we are selling in Malaysia is CBU THAI and it meets the safety requirement by MY GOVT which includes 6 airbags, full set of electronic driving assistance plus our advance driving assistance system MG Pilot to ensure our customer safety for day to day driving.

However be rest assured that our international colleague in Australia do makes MG5 meet the safety requirement sets by Australia Govt

Anyways, MG5 imported from Thailand that sells in Malaysia will be more safer to drive and buy here than MG5 Australia version. No worries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • newme on Oct 10, 2024 at 9:24 am

Then show us the ASEAN NCAP rating?

• Alamak haters.... on Oct 07, 2024 at 10:27 am

Did you see Toyota jv Daihatsu have poor quality materials including DNGA platform, as you know about safety and durability test, did you think Vios is better than MG5, when Vios have lots of safety concern than MG5?

• Those complaining about safety for MG5, actually, That is Australia specification for MG5 and what we are selling in Malaysia is CBU THAI and it meets the safety requirement by MY GOVT which includes 6 airbags, full set of electronic driving assistance plus our advance driving assistance system MG Pilot to ensure our customer safety for day to day driving.

However be rest assured that our international colleague in Australia do makes MG5 meet the safety requirement sets by Australia Govt

Anyways, MG5 imported from Thailand that sells in Malaysia will be more safer to drive and buy here than MG5 Australia version. No worries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • Chong Or Pei on Oct 11, 2024 at 7:00 pm

So you’re saying, Australia has the poorer version of this MG? A more mature and safety-sensitive market? And we should accept it. The Jumbuck at least has 1 star but a 2023 car having 0 in that market? Crazy.

MG Malaysia has never denied or stated officially what the ANCAP is for the model sold in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
          • @Chong Or Pei

You read Thai spec and Aus spec for MG5 and see which is more safer, since you cant believe the people truth, but you just comment anyways

• OneAMG on Oct 04, 2024 at 11:02 am

You think it’s important, until you use it and you get rear ended because AEB kicked in when a motorbike cuts into your path. I have seen many such accidents in my group chat and frankly, all of us have disabled it. Yes, it’s nice to see such remarks from people who don’t have it, wish they do, but have no idea that it easily causes accidents.

Fact, 2 accidents in the last 2 weeks in my group, caused by AEB activation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • all i want to know is the result after police investigation. do they have dash cam to prove the motorcyclist’s wrongdoing? are they successful in claiming the insurance of the motorcyclist?

• Eclipse on Oct 03, 2024 at 6:36 pm

Mini Merc A Class lookalike but looks nice overall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • I’m curious to hear about how it drives. I think the only brand that dared to chuck a 1.5L NA engine into a C-segment car was Mazda with the base-spec Mazda3 (but I think that trim’s been discontinued).

I’m also wondering if this would’ve been a better-packaged product if they sacrificed some stuff like the powered sunroof in exchange for the turbocharged 1.5L used in other markets instead, but it would probably be impossible to keep costs down that way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • 4GR-FSE on Oct 03, 2024 at 6:58 pm

The trend now is emphasizing more on fancy stuff that are visually appealing than engines.. Especially younger buyers and female buyers..
      That’s how 218i and A200 sell their cars at 200k with mediocre engines.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
  • Torres on Oct 03, 2024 at 6:53 pm

Like this car. Even this car is NA engine but more power than Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
    • SCion on Oct 04, 2024 at 9:07 am

due to size and weight, surely slower than vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • MG5 time on Oct 04, 2024 at 11:00 am

Check the horsepower and transmission gearbox and see whether vios can achieve better than MG5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • anonymous on Oct 03, 2024 at 7:28 pm

might have missed it but i feel like you guys should include the fact that this car scored a ZERO star ANCAP rating which is honestly the biggest of the red flags possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 11
  • ROTI CANAI on Oct 03, 2024 at 7:35 pm

1 star ncap

• Handsome

• Ramee on Oct 03, 2024 at 8:39 pm

suitable for small family sedan

• Ramesh on Oct 03, 2024 at 8:43 pm

aiya, should have 1 more AEB and L2 Adaptive Cruise Control Spec

it only comes with the Passive Cruise Control Proton Wira Era?

• Penguin on Oct 03, 2024 at 10:25 pm

should be wrong to pinpoint a car’s segment based on CC. IN SG and JP, most of the c-segments are available in 1.5 or 1.6. the mazda3 is available in 1.5, while the civic in 1.6. and not to forget the 1.6 elantra.

• What is gov doing, should make AEB mandatory already. 2025 soon, come on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
  • It’s big, what’s the weight? Anything more than 1200kg with 1.5NA would feel sluggish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
  • Kasif on Oct 04, 2024 at 1:38 am

This car has a rating of zero-star on ANCAP, think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 39
    • Alamak haters.... on Oct 07, 2024 at 10:28 am

But more safer than Vios as you don’t really know whether vios is reliable or not since using DNGA platform as more buyers have safety concern after Vios as one of DNGA cars have caught safety test and durability test

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Very attractive pricing…many Japanese car will be finish soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Worth looking

• Regretted buying dnga vios, should have wait to get this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • ThePolygon on Oct 04, 2024 at 7:08 am

This is a nice car. Hope to see lots on the road.

• Shaqmunak on Oct 04, 2024 at 8:27 am

Even with nice exterior and interior, this car was rated 0 star in AnCAP ,i mean really Zero star?? Not even 1-2star. Better buy other brand like city and vios even they got 2 star

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
    • MG5 time on Oct 04, 2024 at 11:01 am

Try vios and see, definitely more regret than buying mg5. Not only just have to go workshop quite often, even also worried that Vios where vios also not proven safety rating

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
    • LMFAO on Nov 13, 2024 at 5:38 pm

Lmao look at these fools, down voting legit comments about safety and they can only can compare this car to Vios to defend this shitbox. Hope you’re getting paid enough dumbos.

• LMFAO on Nov 13, 2024 at 5:38 pm

Lmao look at these fools, down voting legit comments about safety and they can only can compare this car to Vios to defend this crapbox. Hope you’re getting paid enough dumbos.

• Ben Yap on Oct 04, 2024 at 9:11 am

the power output is a bit of a let down. being the newest car among its rivals, it should have the best performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Sheldon on Oct 04, 2024 at 9:44 am

Let’s not forget the ZERO star ANCAP rating this thing got shall we. S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 41
    • Alamak haters.... on Oct 07, 2024 at 10:29 am

But more safer than Vios as you don’t really know whether vios is reliable or not since using DNGA platform as more buyers have safety concern after Vios as one of DNGA cars have caught safety test and durability test….Remember

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Squid on Oct 04, 2024 at 10:06 am

Isn’t this the car that made history with Zero stars ANCAP safety rating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 33
  • MG5 time on Oct 04, 2024 at 11:01 am

Better, safer and faster than vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
  • Phaser on Oct 04, 2024 at 11:54 am

So where are the detractors who routinely bash national brands for any shortcomings but have not said a single thing about the MG5 scoring ZERO stars in ANCAP testing? All the connectivity in the world will not help if you get in an accident that results in your legs getting crushed and you wear the steering wheel as a bandana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • That is Australia specification for MG5 and what we are selling in Malaysia is CBU THAI and it meets the safety requirement by MY GOVT which includes 6 airbags, full set of electronic driving assistance plus our advance driving assistance system MG Pilot to ensure our customer safety for day to day driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • anak mertua mu on Oct 04, 2024 at 2:55 pm

compare to s70 u got less power no turbo, but got extra 1 cylinder and timing chain. Save the hassle to change engine mounting earlier or timing belt after 80k km.

Vios no lah, same myvi drivetrain sell rm90k+.

City E or V spec still buyable with discounts.

I choose city, fuel saving and easy maintenance priorities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Alamak haters... on Oct 07, 2024 at 10:30 am

Yup! Vios is also one of the most unreliable car in its b segment class after already got caught safety test and durability test

• steven on Oct 05, 2024 at 6:26 am

https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-e&q=ncap+for+MG5#fpstate=ive&vld=cid:d48ae2de,vid:wOwCqFDd0xM,st:0

• That is Australia specification for MG5 and what we are selling in Malaysia is CBU THAI and it meets the safety requirement by MY GOVT which includes 6 airbags, full set of electronic driving assistance plus our advance driving assistance system MG Pilot to ensure our customer safety for day to day driving.

• This MG5 won’t be selling by many units in Malaysia, unless the engine is upgraded to a more “reasonable” turbo charged one. Also, the lack of adas is not helping at all. Good luck to MG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • Alamak haters..... on Oct 07, 2024 at 10:25 am

Those complaining about this car, have you really know that Toyota was caught by cheating scandal for several times based on safety test and durability test? Did you think worst than MG5, ask yourself and remember this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • LeSiMon on Oct 07, 2024 at 10:54 am

Ai-ya! Should launch earlier ma… already bought two S70. This is the perfect choice for us. Beauty, elegance, prestigious, love it. No star, no problem. Before Ncap exist all cars had no star. Make sure you drive carefully, not reliaing on air bag, sports tyre or super star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Hunta on Oct 07, 2024 at 2:37 pm

Nice car!!

• AEB4pussies on Oct 07, 2024 at 4:36 pm

refer my name

• Outalingam Crap on Oct 09, 2024 at 11:17 pm

BOOOOOOOOOOOO to MG5 and YAAAAAAYYYYY to City V as well as Proton S70 Flagship and/or Flagship X instead

• ZeroStar on Nov 20, 2024 at 7:21 am

Zero star safety rating…bye bye

• potato on Jun 05, 2025 at 2:26 pm

i bet yall swap he badge with a mercedes people would legit think it’s an A class sedan or CLA ♥️♥️♥️ hope the RV tanks but quality remains after 1 or 2 years and buy them used.