According to a report by Drive, 2,544 fines were issued to drivers caught using their mobiles phones in the first week the South Australia police (SAPOL) began enforcing its mobile phone detection camera (MPDC) system.
From September 19 to 25 this year, the system detected 2,604 potential offences, with two registered vehicle owners handed six mobile phone camera fines each, while one other driver received five. These repeat offenders are expected to lose their licence following the multiple incidents.
Prior to enforcement, the system was in a trial stage that saw authorities send out 68,252 warning letters to offending motorists. The rate of mobile phone camera fines has dropped from 0.37% in the last week of the three-month trial to 0.24% in its first official week, the report states.
Even so, the authorities are still concerned that some drivers are choosing to ignore the warning signs and continue using their phones while driving. “It defies all reason some drivers are still putting their lives and others at risk by using their phones when behind the wheel,” SAPOL traffic services branch officer in charge, superintendent Darren Fielke, said.
“Use [of mobile phones] includes having the phone in your lap, under or on your body or touching or being touched by any part of your body except in certain circumstances. In only one week, 2,544 motorists were detected, and no one can say we didn’t warn them. The fact certain drivers were caught multiple times across several of the camera locations is unbelievable,” he added.
The penalty for those caught using their mobiles phones in South Australia includes a fine of AUD556 (RM1.6k), a AUD102 (RM294) Victims of Crime levy as well as three demerit points on their licence.
In Malaysia, using a mobile phone while driving was previously a non-compoundable offence, meaning offenders are required to make a compulsory court appearance to settle their fines. This has since been reversed to a compoundable offence and court appearances are no longer compulsory should you pay the fine right away.
The punishment for using a mobile phone while driving without the aid of a holder or hands-free kit (no putting it on your lap) in Malaysia isn’t as severe as it is in Australia, and there isn’t a widespread implementation of a MPDC system. Should this change?
And that is why our accident rates are one of the highest in the world.
can’t use phone while driving or stopped at traffic, sensible .
putting iPads on all new cars and hiding essential functions within the iPad , trendy and tolerated, sensible ?
Car Manufacturers forced you all to use voice activated commands not finger poking here poking there or smudging finger prints onto car large multimedia display
If here, semua kena sekali, dari CEO to polis all the way to Grab riders.
we cant cure cancer but we can create shit like this.
excellent system, we sorely need this gadget here asap because there are simply toooooo many stoopid, irresponsible, uneducated drivers on our road …