It has been ventured that more details on the RON 95 petrol subsidy rationalisation will be revealed in the upcoming tabling of Budget 2025 this Friday, but the news surrounding that may be different than anticipated, with the latest pointers being that the implementation may be delayed because of improvements to the country’s economy.
This was indicated by economy minister Rafizi Ramli, who said Malaysia’s better-than-expected economic growth and the strengthening of the ringgit has provided the government improved flexibility to achieve its fiscal consolidation targets, essentially paving the way for the implementation of RON 95 subsidy rationalisation to be put aside for the time being.
Asked by reporters on whether the plan to pull back the blanket RON 95 subsidy will be announced in Budget 2025, Rafizi said it was best to wait for the budget announcement and “subsequently the months after that, because certain things have changed,” The Edge reports.
Rafizi said that with higher economic growth, the country had slightly more room to navigate to meet its fiscal glide target. ““The strengthening of the ringgit also means less pressure on subsidy bills. My view is that so long as this government has more options to navigate, then we will be able to balance these competing priorities better, while at the same time, we will move closer to the fiscal consolidation target,” he said
“The ultimate objective is to make our public finance a lot more sustainable. And I think we have a few policy options that the government can adopt,” he added.
While there has yet been no indication as to when the subsidy rationalisation for RON 95 will be introduced, most research houses have projected that the implementation may take place in the second half of 2024. Back in July, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim had indicated that there was no policy paper on it as yet, and that no plans were in the pipeline as the matter had not been discussed yet at that point.
Do you still believe whatever pizi is saying?
So he is now blaming our RM for not carrying out his plan to further kill the rakyat? Whodayathunkit.
Good Good very Good
No need EV or Hybrid
Can save money already
That dude has been making fun of poor covid stricken rakyat during the diesel price floatation exercise.Like a chameleon,he needs to change colour,if not he knows he wont stand a chance at GE 16.
Time to vote out all the trojan horses,chameleons GE16.
‘x payah naik bendera putih, bendera birU x pe’
who said that, read my name above
refer my name…
ahhh, another formula by formula man
Complex formula meant to be Flexi
Refer my name
Anwar menang rakyat senang
Dengar boleh, percaya jangan
Basically the whole Madani Gomen yet Nengiri voters belip them orz
Hapus sajalah subsidi terus, buat apa delayed2. Bukan esok pilihanraya pun
I sapot u
Where is the today win tomorrow price down?
Always a reason to justify the delay of PADU…
by the time is needed, the data already stale.
Strong ringgit? Joke of the decade… clowns!