Digital road tax, driving licenses here to stay – Loke

Digital road tax and driver licenses in Malaysia are here to stay, and the transport ministry will not be reviewing their implementation despite calls from certain parties to do so, said transport minister Anthony Loke according to New Straits Times.

“Digitalisation will continue. This doesn’t mean the road tax and license cannot be printed, you can print it yourself. If you want to enter Thailand which requires a physical road tax and licence, just print it, it is not difficult,” the transport minister said.

“There will be no more reviews. The digital road tax will be maintained. If people want to drive overseas, for example to Thailand which may require your physical road tax, just print it out. It should not be an issue,” Loke said when asked if the government would review the digital road tax policy after its implementation, according to The Star.

While the digital driving license and road tax documents are being used within Malaysia, motorists who intend to drive in other countries still need a physical copy of the documents.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ben Yap on Oct 24, 2024 at 10:35 am

when police do road block, ask the police to check on their own system. don’t put the burden on motorist to show proof.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Pulis Raja Di Meleisia on Oct 24, 2024 at 1:10 pm

Pulis nvr check rotek & lesen nowadays. They more interested to ask you wind down your window, stick their head in & ask encik dari mana nak pergi mana? Like if I’m right dislike if I’m wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • mr1031 on Oct 24, 2024 at 3:18 pm

why not? who are u to turn down police request?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • ucle077 on Oct 28, 2024 at 5:11 pm

ikr..people act like showing license and roadtax a burden, only take 5 min max lmao..just

• Gomorrah on Oct 24, 2024 at 10:37 am

So there is a G2G understanding for this to be accepted in Thailand/Singapore/Brunei? Or kena denda dulu and then what?

• Pemungut cukai MADANI on Oct 24, 2024 at 1:17 pm

Kalo ikut style LHDN memang kena bayar dulu pastu rayu. Kalo lepas, dorang refund. Kalo tak, burn la duit ngko.

• Myvi Owner on Oct 24, 2024 at 10:56 am

I wanted to rent a car in the UK not long ago but they did not accept digital driving licence. My deposit paid online burnt just like that because not their ‘fault’. Be careful everybody.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Your own fault for assuming your digital lesen is accepted in other countries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • bugger on Oct 24, 2024 at 4:57 pm

ermm, it is definitely not their “fault” so u dont need to “”. going into another country is up to the visitor responsibility to check.

• Kalai on Oct 24, 2024 at 11:28 am

All go digital but normal police will dont have the ability to check the online roadtax. Get scolding from them for not printing and keep a copy in car. If implement a system, ensure enforcement are given the right device to monitor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Your own fault for not downloading MyJayPigJay app on your phone & assuming the pulis has such a system. They can’t even implement bodycams wanna ask them have their own system to check your lesen? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • I work in Singapore, and I need my PHYSICAL driving license to drive. Just to share a personal story, JPJ counter in UTC directed me to JPJ Wangsa Maju to ask for license. When I show my proof of employment, they mentioned that they don’t recognise it as an ‘OFFICIAL DOCUMENT’, they only accept flight tickets, hotel bookings as ‘OFFICIAL DOCUMENTS’. So do I have to book one night of Hotel or fly back to Singapore just to request for physical license?

• Gomorrah on Oct 24, 2024 at 7:58 pm

Exactly. It is none of JPJ’s business what you are doing overseas. Immigration lain cerita. Why the over reach by JPJ and why do they keep persisting with this? JPJ and MOT muscling in on Home Ministry and Foreign Affairs Ministry territory ah?

• @NotBruceWayne on Oct 24, 2024 at 2:37 pm

Mr.Loke. our problem is with the enforcement officers who are not equipped with the right tools. You implement that first ya.

• After the recent myDigital ID shenanigan, I’m unable to login to myJPJ app anymore.

• Peppa on Oct 24, 2024 at 3:20 pm

All talk but when roadblock the police become dumb af

• Kotak Peti Kota Baru on Oct 24, 2024 at 4:32 pm

This guy is a pain

• haters gonna hate on Oct 26, 2024 at 8:20 am

he is one of the few brave enough to push malaysia forward. without visionary like him we would still be stuck in the stone age

• Menteri Ego on Oct 24, 2024 at 8:34 pm

As above

• Sohai on Oct 24, 2024 at 9:37 pm

On paper ya go digital …
    But actually spend money to create a problem that we did not have… solve a problem that wasn’t there.
    Jpj offices serve runners more than rakyat, all this buat tak tau. Just tell me why this bunch of gomen servants need a pay rise? Now everything I have to self service, they do less right? Why still need to wait when go JPJ?

• Kutam Abdullat on Oct 24, 2024 at 9:52 pm

Conclusion from all comments above and below.
    Crooks Criminals hates despises the already implemented digital license and private vehicle digital road-tax hindering their hanky panky activities

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 25, 2024 at 1:20 am

On the contrary, criminals LOVE YB Loke, the most useless MOT ever.

– Thanks to him permitting pitch black tints for all windows and windshields without enforcement, lately the cases of human trafficking, fuel smuggling, drug smuggling and even kidnappings have gone up. Look at every single one of the vehicles in the pictures and videos of these news – they’re all tinted pitch-black all round

– Thanks to the lack of physical licenses, road tax stickers etc these days, vehicle cloning is on the rise. Stolen vehicles being driven around with fake number plates and no other identifer on the windshields are also becoming common. With a physical road tax sticker, any cop can immediately see at a glance if the road tax sticker tallies with the installed number plate.

• Pembodoh dan Jurubodoh on Oct 25, 2024 at 5:47 pm

Geram do leelah
      We gave you many thumbs down

• stasta on Oct 25, 2024 at 6:03 pm

well said. digitalised is the future, like it or not. these people might as well complain why banks use Internet banking instead of remaining physical branches and ATMs ,cash, cheque

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Manusia on Oct 25, 2024 at 5:07 pm

Jalan raya berlubang seluruh malaysia bila nak repair. Ada check tak.

• Marlea on Oct 25, 2024 at 8:15 pm

I don’t have smart phone..then how?

• iplaylol on Oct 28, 2024 at 5:16 pm

just print ur license and roadtax la.. common sense,if cop dont believe go to court, no time to do that dont drive ride grab,uber,taxi,public transport

• How to print from myjpj?

• Kebee one on Oct 29, 2024 at 6:02 am

do an additional “print” option in my JPJ app. Therefore we can print ourselves

• Implement with correct thought in mind . Your police officer or jpj officer make sure they have the right tool to check .. they cannt be asking us to show proof or show the apps … That is not our job . They need to validate this beyond reasonable doubt

• Zailani on Nov 01, 2024 at 6:51 am

Apa nak buat jika telepon rosak

• Menteri terlebih confident, apa masalah kalau kekal kan roadtax yang lama simple je, digital juga bagus problem bila tiba² your phone problem,line problem so refer je kat fizikal roadtax, banyak benda lagi yang boleh difikirkan bab safety road kat Malaysia yang perlu diutamakan banyak kenderaan berat memandu secara tidak selamat, bawa lebih had muatan, upgrade safety issues more important