Sabah, Sarawak getting full diesel subsidies not unfair, as living cost is higher, roads demand diesel vehicles

The targeted diesel subsidy has yet to be implemented in Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan for specific valid reasons, and not due to double standards or unfair treatment, said the minister of domestic trade and cost of living Datuk Armizan Mohd Ali.

Diesel subsidy rationalisation was implemented in Peninsular Malaysia on June 10 this year, and saw the retail price of diesel fuel climb to RM3.35 per litre, compared to the current subsidised price of RM2.15 per litre which had been in place nationwide since February 2021, which still applies to East Malaysia.

The first reason for the delay in its implementation in these states is the difficulty in profiling to ensure that assistance reaches those who are genuinely in need, leading to its pilot implementation in Peninsular Malaysia, reported Bernama.

“In Peninsular Malaysia, we have a clearer target group, and the government can channel subsidies through the Subsidised Diesel Control System (SKDS) under the Budi Madani initiative,” Armizan said.

The second reason was for reasons related to Borneo’s logistics and geography, where its residents rely on diesel-powered vehicles out of necessity rather than choice. The third reason is the long-running disparity between Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia in the price of goods, which has yet to be fully addressed, according to the report.

Armizan noted that the ministry’s price observation officers collected prices for more than 480 items between July and September, and have found that 65% to 68% of the goods surveyed were significantly more expensive in Sabah and Sarawak compared to Peninsular Malaysia.

Armizan reiterated his commitment as a minister and as a Sabahan to ensure that subsidy leakage in these regions are effectively addressed.

“The diesel subsidy allocation for Sabah, Sarawak, and Labuan reaches RM3.6 billion annually, which is a substantial amount. It is our shared responsibility to ensure there are no leakages,” he added.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Sohai on Oct 29, 2024 at 10:28 am

Then can we not subsidise the RON95 in East Malaysia as a pilot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • Isn’t Sarawak a high GDP per capita state in the country? It’s even higher than powerhouse Selangor. They can afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Ben Yap on Oct 29, 2024 at 11:29 am

i can tell you the main reason and only 1 reason… it is to get votes and also alliances.

• Music on Oct 29, 2024 at 11:53 am

Moving forward, sell diesel and petrol at market price. Channel the subsidy direct to each malaysia. If you use more diesel or petrol pay the market rate. That more fair.

• useless leader bring you to hell! This useless person dare not touch Sabah and Sawarak or else this person can not in power!

• Susukotak on Oct 29, 2024 at 12:55 pm

Bagus gunakan alasan sama lagi 6 bulan unyuk semenanjung.

• Laugh on Oct 30, 2024 at 8:40 am

Enough with the excuses….

If this is what you say and also previously say that mostly use Diesel there.

To be fair….
    Remove petrol subsidy there and maintain here lah.

• Leomon on Oct 31, 2024 at 1:42 am

Because most of the oil you guys (peninsular malaysia) get is from the borneo, and you see, 95% of oil royalty goes to semenanjung, wtf? Its Borneo’s oil, but they only get 5%? You semenanjung guys have your own oil & gas field but still goes and steal the borneo’s oil money. And fyi, sabah is the poorest “negara” in malaysia, eventho they have rich resources. How come?

• Bool Drop on Oct 31, 2024 at 8:22 am

U can BS all u want but rakyat know the real truth. Useless leader. Dont even hv gut to tell the truth.

• Kombura on Oct 31, 2024 at 10:41 pm

Kenapa harga getah, harga sawit DI MALAYA lebih tinggi dari sabah dan sarawak..Cuba jelaskan

• Madaniskibididi on Oct 31, 2024 at 11:42 pm

Alasan paling bodoh. Agak-agak le nak menipu pun. Bercakap kat parlimen, seamba dia je bodohkan rakyat.

• Regular citizen on Nov 02, 2024 at 2:12 pm

If Sabah and sarawak exit melaysia. Subsidy problem solved. Just my 2 cents.