Having trialled glow-in-the-dark road markings, the government says it is unlikely to proceed with further implementation of them. According to deputy works minister Ahmad Maslan, the high cost involved is the major factor in the decision to reconsider the project, FMT reports.
“The cost is too high, so we are probably not going to continue with the glow-in-the-dark lanes,” he said in the Dewan Rakyat. He added that the pilot project for this, which had been carried out in selected areas, failed to meet the expectations of experts from the ministry. “We ran tests, but it did not satisfy the experts from the ministry,” he said.
The first glow-in-the-dark road markings were installed in November last year, when the Hulu Langat public works department (JKR Hulu Langat) carried out the installation of glow-in-the-dark road markings on a 245 metre-stretch between Jalan Sungai Lalang and Jalan Sungai Tekali, serving as an alternative to the use of road studs or “cats’ eyes.”
In February this year, the Selangor state government said it was planning to expand the use of glow-in-the-dark road markings to 15 other locations, covering some 15 km of roads in districts such as Sepang, Kuala Langat and Petaling.
Other states also began their own trials. In January, Johor menteri besar Onn Hafiz Ghazi said a total of 31 roads in the state were identified for pilot projects using such technology as part of the state government’s efforts to improve the safety of motorists. A 300 metre-long stretch on Jalan Paloh J16 in Batu Pahat was one of these locations.
The high costs of its implementation was pointed out previously by works minister Alexander Nanta Linggi, who said the photo-luminescent paint used costs RM749 per square metre, compared to the RM40 per square metre for conventional road marking paint, making it nearly 20 times more expensive than standard paint.
the cost could be per km, right? why per sqm? why not just do it at those dangerous area to save cost?
Get some quotes from China ,than you will know the àctual cost…!!!!!
citizen nvr gets good service or stuffs from current govt.. define costly pls.. or is it too much “under table” project?
Open tender… will resolve your issue
May I suggest beside junction with street lamp, why don’t give motorist a proper road lines? White color is good enough. We don’t need fancy street lamp post nor glow lines. Very sad to see fancy lamp post which not function and road without proper road line… Hope our authority can look into it…
Often these areas are surrounded by jungle and such where animals live, bright light from street lamp disturb their habitats. And light pollution
minta semua kakitangan (kerajaan, GLC) makan kurang sikit, apa pun cukup!
As expected answer from small un use brain
No local manufacturer collaborates with local varsity to invent a cheaper localised bio-luminescent paint suitable for sunny monsoon weather?
See the cost not right then don’t even bother to start…the pilot project has no purpose now. As usual someone has made a fortune d
You do off with all the unnecessary allowances for the MPs, then money is not a problem. Open tender will cut cost…no cronies. Rajyat MUST come first.
Ask Anwar don’t go south America find chicas so much. Maybe time to rob mahathir daim and najib.
Kiri kanan atas bawah rasuah. Invest in shoddy project and waste money. Then said good thing always expensive
The road from federal highway turning in towards to subang airport hardly have lines !? its dangerous at night !!
When you started the project didn’t you already know the cost ? Or is it the paint supplier not agreeable to ehem ..
glow in the dark marking is bad. it had poor visibility.
During the day,we can hardly make out the lines, the contrast is bad. during the night, to see it glow at night, you got to drive without the headlights.
what’s wrong with the plain old cat eye road reflectors?
Its 2024 and you get lame ass answers like this, fed by the corrupt, echoed by the greed and swallowed by the dumb. Local engineering companies and unis x boleh collaborate ka? Itu kementerian sains and taiknologi kasi tutupla, perabeh duit taxpayer saja.
Wait? what? They didn’t know the cost before doing the test?
Kaw kaw kawtim maa..
This is how PH runs this country *facepalm*
Duh!
wow, yet another failed project…so this is where our money is being wasted on now…what’s next?
Why the need for cool-looking roads when the conventional cat eyes and street lights work much better?
Even the current white road marking NOT so reflective as those days. Pls check the paint specs.
What Eva good will be too expensive and will take decade to implement for rakyat..
Forever lar. Why not have it implemented at old trunk roads to for trial..
Cannot make enough commision? God save our beautiful and blessed country
PM Najib will save this country but because they knew that they will never free him. he has became our Aung San Suu Kyi.
our NS-expressway dont even have cats-eyes (reflective road studs) at many stretches that are without streetlamps. I say please ensure the dark stretches on our NS-Expressway safe with effective-proven, cheap cats-eyes first!
exactly this. 200km long stretch from johor to melaka , 99% without street lights. already year 2024
Is all because we have to dependent on imported technologies. Our government and ministers here know how to enjoy and never care to develop human-resources. We are still dreaming with races, religion and bamboo-planes. Enough of our useless talks and excuses.
Use a energia solar e bateiras. De gel para a . Noite
Eu amo energia solar