Last weekend, we saw images and a video of the facelifted Proton Saga right opposite the Centre of Excellence headquarters, showing a major overhaul for the budget sedan. Now, rendering wizard Theophilus Chin has sought to remove the camouflage of this much-anticipated MC3 version, giving us some idea of what it might look like.
The prototype certainly hinted at a very extensive makeover – something that’s reflected in the render, showing an all-new front clip. The heavily-resculpted bonnet and the new grille with its horizontal slat was visible in the video, while the new bumper with T-shaped corner air inlets was adapted from the larger Geely-derived S70.
Theo’s choice for the headlights, however, was a bit controversial. The prototype was equipped with placeholder round lamps, meaning that completely new clusters are almost certainly on the cards. Theo went aggressive on the render by giving the trailing edge a forwards rake, not unlike the Saga FL – the first facelift for the Base Line Model (BLM) Saga – from 2010.
The result is a clunky look that is at odds with the organic design of the current Saga. The internals with their LED projectors, meanwhile, were again lifted from the S70; expect the real deal to have reflector units instead – similar to the 2022 Iriz and Persona facelifts – given the car’s budget bent.
No images of the interior have been shown, but the Saga MC3 is set to gain an even more extensive interior makeover – the prototype looked to have a freestanding instrument display instead of the usual hooded binnacle. Beyond the redesign, the car should finally receive driver assistance features such as autonomous emergency braking, given that a windscreen-mounted camera was spotted on the test mule.
Other details remain shrouded in secrecy. For one, we still don’t know whether the MC3 will soldier on with the same 1.3 litre VVT engine as before or utilise a Geely-sourced mill. It is also unclear whether this MC3 is a stop-gap facelift before an all-new model – based on a new AMA (likely standing for A-segment Modular Architecture) platform – debuts, or if this is the purported AMA-based model. The latter would be very disappointing considering it still uses much of the current long-in-the-tooth Saga.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
I think they will use the Geely 1.5L engine, the same with Emgrand sold at China. Please aware that Proton treat this as Minor Change 3, and not facelift. We might see a lot of carryover design.
Disagree with the engine, I assume they will use 3 cylinder 1.2 engine
I dont think 1.5L engine can make the price reliable below 50k.. at least for their competitiors bezza… maybe engine will still be the same..
not gonna lie, this front looks pretty nice
Wtf is that front end this look worse than new axia rear end
looks like indian made car Maruti Dzire. the design is hideous.
Proton Saga IIId ratherly.
Oh my goodness. What happen to the front design? It looks boring, like my old grandad’a suitcase. I feel like I want to hit “Ctrl+Z” when I first saw this, no kidding.
im so early that comment section is still empty
The design is pretty impressive…
Downright UGLY!
Just slap the 1.5T engine into it and it will sell like hotcakes.
Try make it the new king of the road.
Geely 1.5NA timing chain + 4 AT aisin buat persona facelift lah.
The front look hideous la. The lampu looks like 90s Honda Accord and not proportionate to the size and body of the car. Just tampal2 photoshop, no design sense
The front looks nice. However, the lame thing is that, the back and the door looks the same! How lame~ I was expecting it to beat Bezza by increasing the size of the seats! I hope this Saga in 2025 will kick out the Standard MT and Standard AT, leaving only Premium editions! This one better have ADS, or I am going for Bezza otherwise…
Super ugly front render haha
There is no WOW!!! factor. I expect more sophisticated and aero dynamic design. Come on, is already 2025 you can do it better.
horror, this car is sooooooo long in the tooth now and geely is still keeping it slogging away – wtfish is geely doing ?!