Tesla Model Y Juniper facelift in Malaysia – on display until March 2, April deliveries, from RM195,450

Just over a month after Tesla unveiled the facelifted Model Y (codenamed Project Juniper), the world’s best-selling car has made its way to Malaysian shores. The refreshed electric SUV has made its appearance at Pavilion Damansara Heights (where it will be displayed until March 2) about two months before local deliveries are due to start.

As previously reported, the car is available in two variants, with nett prices as follows:

• Tesla Model Y Rear-Wheel Drive – RM195,450
  • Tesla Model Y Long Range All-Wheel Drive – RM242,450

The new Model Y is thus RM4,450 model-for-model compared to the previous car, which received an RM8,000 price cut last April. These figures are for the base car and do not include options such as different paints or a white interior. Those options include:

• Pearl White Multi-Coat paint – RM5,000
  • Glacier Blue paint – RM7,500
  • Quicksilver paint – RM11,000
  • Ultra Red paint – RM11,000
  • 20-inch Helix 2.0 wheels – RM10,000
  • White interior – RM5,000
  • Enhanced Autopilot – RM16,000
  • Full Self Driving – RM32,000

Initial cars will be Launch Series units with a special tailgate badge, puddle light logo, Launch Series side sill skid plates and “vegan leather” dash trim with the standard black interior. Buyers of the LR also receive an Acceleration Boost function that lowers the zero to 100 km/h acceleration time. Tesla did not specify exactly how many Launch Series units will be made available, but it did say that orders for the special edition will be open for the first month.

In typical Tesla fashion, no output or battery capacity figures have been released, but it does claim that the RWD model gets from zero to 100 km/h in 5.9 seconds and achieves a WLTP-rated range of up to 466 km. As for the LR AWD, that completes the century sprint in 4.3 seconds (with Acceleration Boost) and can travel up to 551 km on a single charge. Both have an electronically-limited top speed of 203 km/h.

The biggest change to the Model Y is of course to the design, which adopts Tesla’s latest design language already seen on the Cybertruck and Cybercab. At the front, you’ll find a full-width light bar that pushes the slimmer headlights lower down; the Tesla “T” badge has also been dropped. Eagle-eyed viewers will notice a new front camera tucked away in the air intake, providing drivers a better forward view when parking, although a proper 360-degree camera view is still not available.

At the rear you’ll find an even more significant revamp with the introduction of another full-width light bar. This forms what Tesla calls the world’s first indirect taillight, illuminating the silver strip and “Tesla” script. Meanwhile, the diffuser has been re-profiled to reduce drag and now incorporates the number plate recess, which has been moved down from the tailgate. Speaking of which, the tailgate is now made in two pieces, presumably to tighten the shut lines and reduce costs; this has also necessitated a new rear windscreen.

Elsewhere, the Model Y comes with a pair of new wheel options, including the base 19-inch Crossflow rollers with black aero covers and optional silver 20-inch Helix 2.0 units. Lastly, the door mirrors have been mildly redesigned with a crease on the top edge. The colour palette has also been expanded with a new Glacier Blue option, while Stealth Grey replaces Pearl White Multi-Coat as the standard hue.

Inside, the Model Y carries over the improvements from the facelifted Model 3, including a larger 15.4-inch infotainment touchscreen, customisable ambient lighting, ventilated seats and an eight-inch rear touchscreen on the back of the centre console.

One difference is that the SUV ditches the controversial steering wheel indicator controls for a conventional stalk (no one-touch triple-flash function), although the buttons for the lights, flashers and wipers remain on the tiller. You also still get gear selector controls in the screen, rather than a discrete column stalk.

On top of that are further improvements such as all-around double-glazed acoustic glass (front windows only for the 2024 model) for an even quieter drive and a UV-reflecting silver coating for the panoramic glass roof. The rear seats also gain a powered recline function, which means that those pews can now both be folded and unfolded electrically using buttons in the boot.

The rear parcel shelf also makes its welcome return in certain markets, but because Malaysia gets privacy glass, it is omitted here (although the rails for it remain moulded into the plastic panels).

Under the skin, the Model Y has been tweaked for a quieter ride thanks to the new wheel and tyre packages and revised body castings that consolidate 70 parts into a single panel. The new rear diffuser also helps to balance lift between the front and rear axles, improving high-speed stability.

GALLERY: 2025 Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD facelift in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Elong Ma on Feb 18, 2025 at 5:11 pm

Habis la BYD sudah goyang lutut…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
    • Dah Menang Semua on Feb 19, 2025 at 8:33 am

Tesla is the gold standard
      among EVs and the best RV too
      Chinese brands more aggressive
      Facelift and periodic discounts
      U should wait for that /2nd hand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Richard Teo on Feb 19, 2025 at 6:38 pm

Just like iPhone vs Android. “Single” brand Apple vs all the rest of Koreans, Chinese. U can have all the gimmicks and copycats, however, Apple remain as the branded until this day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Mas Elon on Feb 27, 2025 at 8:04 am

Tesla numba wannn

Others = Android

• Look at the photo that show dashboard, screen and steering. If you ask me facing this everyday to work, I will be crazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • ROTI CANAI on Feb 18, 2025 at 8:04 pm

Cantik but will wait for price drop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • lapsap roti on Feb 22, 2025 at 10:53 pm

I’ll sell u my used virgin model Y after 10 years, kindly queue up.

• Whahell on Feb 18, 2025 at 11:20 pm

The interior make me feel like a poor man car feeling sick. No wonder my friend happiness fade so quick after getting tesla his dream car for a year. He is looking to buy a BMW 3 series now but a 330i proce is too high off his chart. He always says if he not own a Tesla he will be driving 330i now at way lower price last time. What a joke his car second hand price was down 40 percent nearing 2 year he is so pissed off. He cant drive with a full heart always anxiety when going hometown from KL to Penang. He always advice ppl not to go for EV now, which is opposite when his Tesla just arrived. Saying EV is future we ICE are dinosaur. Now? Eat his own words haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
    • Dah Menang Semua on Feb 19, 2025 at 8:32 am

story in Summary = Range anxiety

• ROTI CANAI on Feb 19, 2025 at 9:43 am

Bmw salesman don tokkok la. The bmw interior feels worse than perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
      • Autodriver on Feb 19, 2025 at 10:42 am

A person who looking for BMW how on earth they will go and buy the Tesla. And also why your friend pissed of with 40% down which still about RM150k (long range).

BMW 330i RM289k
        Model y LR RM246k
        Different RM43k

Used car value sell to used car dealer
        BMW 330i 210k
        Model Y 150k
        The different is RM60k

Of course everyone know EV used car value is much lower than ICE, but in this case the Model Y is not far from the 330i. And “your friend” who “pissed off” is funny because he should have know EV used value is very bad.

Btw when you make up story you should make it better. BMW 3 series sales is bad we all know. You should try push the BMW SUV to your customer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • meladam on Mar 10, 2025 at 12:29 pm

where can I get RM150k used model Y? I would like to view the unit first

• Lapsap Roti on Feb 27, 2025 at 11:41 am

Those drove BMW doesn’t care your lapsap myvi and seal.

• Mike Tee on Feb 19, 2025 at 10:21 am

Fact checking your claim of “He cant drive with a full heart always anxiety when going hometown from KL to Penang”

That’s a 360km drive. Lowest range M3 (RWD) has 513km WLTP. Say 80% (worst case, at constant high speed), that’s 413km. If there’s traffic jam, the range actually goes up (Go Google it). What’s the worry?

My advice as an EV owner? Buy EV. But you won’t go around forums calling yourself “Whahell” and telling people to buy EVs

• WooGoo on Feb 19, 2025 at 10:52 am

Cakap org yg tak mampu EV.
      We hear this type of stories everyday from ICE ppl cannot afford even cheap EVs, let alone Tesla. Ignorant ppl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • There are so many cars more expensive than Tesla on the road, what make you think that they are not afford?

• Amriji on Feb 18, 2025 at 11:24 pm

No thanks Elon-Trump. I am boycotting U for supporting the genocide and forceful relocation of Palestinians from Gaza. #baikjanganbelitesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
    • Ah beng on Feb 20, 2025 at 5:39 am

Bodoh la lu. Better pakai unta. Wait, the device you typing also from western. Better use smoke signal next time ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Why are you even on the internet lol. It is also from western technology

• paanjang16 on Feb 19, 2025 at 8:27 am

In the end Tesla and Elon killed Tesla. Elon should have given part of the 56 billion bonus to Tesla for R&D. 10 billion for M3, another 10 for Model Y and another 10 for Cybertruck. Then BYD et al can bungkus already.

It does not help that Elon decided to enter politics making it totally uncool to buy a Tesla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Dah Menang Semua on Feb 19, 2025 at 8:31 am

Tesla is the gold standard
    among EVs and the best RV too
    Chinese brands more aggressive
    Facelift and periodic discounts
    U should wait for that /2nd hand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Tin Kosong on Feb 19, 2025 at 9:54 am

Refer my name..

• WATERMELON on Feb 19, 2025 at 11:01 am

there’s an elon in watermelon, yet…

no thanks, israel ball sucker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • ang moh on Feb 19, 2025 at 11:01 am

looks very boring, soul-less.

• Chow ah beng on Feb 20, 2025 at 5:43 am

Yes. Soul-less coz it just work without drama. Not like conti car. Sikit sikit merajuk, leak here and there. Ada soul coz every weekend spend time at workshop. Your best friend is a tow truck and speed dial#1. I rather be soul less than you bro.

• Sohai on Feb 19, 2025 at 11:30 am

the reality of driving this brand, is that you are perceived to be supporting Elon Musk. This doesn’t happen just here but around the world. Is like you are driving a car that has his image on it. If you are ok with that….

• EV Go on Feb 19, 2025 at 2:27 pm

Camera is the best, multi cameras, everything is clearly recorded, don’t try to sabotage. … Lagi, no need to send for service….already save lot in the long run. Tesla exclusive charging station nation wide. Not need to Q. Lower RM charging station. Just drive only lah.

• Yi Long Mask on Feb 19, 2025 at 7:35 pm

Yer..xpeng copy cat

• Malaysians need to wake up and see the real Tesla, they’re overpriced, completely lacking features like their competitors, and lastly you have a Nazi figurehead at the company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Tookjang on Mar 07, 2025 at 9:07 pm

Sedih tengok design baru ni.